We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa
Ranked #29 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location in the Old Town”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We wanted to stay in Palma Old Town and this hotel was in a fabulous location and is in the Spanish style with the courtyard.

It was less than 10 minutes walk to the majority of restaurants (some restaurants just 4 to 5 minutes away), approx 10 minutes to the main shops, is in the centre of the old town itself, 1 minute from the Catherdral and 15 minutes to the train and bus stations.

The good points about this hotel were that 1) the staff were amazingly pleasant and helpful and couldn't fault them at all 2) the whole hotel was spotlessly clean 3) the free wifi actually worked well 4) the use of the mini bar and small bar area was based on trust - you helped yourself and then filled in a very easy form to say what you'd had 5) rooms were good sizes and had a jacuzzi bath that also worked! and 6) there was a comfortable sofa to sit on 7) the air conditioning worked well.

The not so good points were 1) the beds were so very hard - we had a lovely room (Schubert) that overlooked the cathedral and had a four poster bed and big bathroom but we had to move rooms because after the first night my shoulder and hips were so unbelievably painful that it was either move or sleep on the sofa!. Our second room (Purcel) had a slightly less painful mattress but was at the front of the hotel and so was more noisy. The bed was a king size bed and there was a sofa, plenty of wardrobe space and an ok bathroom - the shower was over the jacuzzi bath, and the jacuzzi worked!

Speaking to the staff about the beds they know about thick mattress protectors that provide more support and a comfortable night sleep so I assume other people have mentioned this before. They just need to buy some!

There are 4 bicycles that you can use free of charge but they were not good at all. My bike was stuck in 5th gear so was a challenge and my husbands had a wobbly wheel if you tried to cycle hard and put it under any pressure! Apparently the new bicycles are due to arrive in a few weeks time.

The pool is in the basement and small but apparently has a swim jet so you can swim against it. We didn't use the pool. You have to pay for the sauna.

The rooftop terrace was quite nice and we did use this a few times. The sunbeds are comfortable and free. The double sunbeds in the canopies were 70 euros for the day which we thought was expensive even though you each get a 10 minute massage, a bottle of wine and some fruit!

Overall we had a nice stay. There are plenty of great reasons to stay at this hotel but for me the very hard bed was a big issue.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of hotel (eg Purcel) are a bit noisy in the morning eg horses clip clopping by, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Manager at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services and correct our flaws. Also, on behalf of hotel's staff, we would like to thank you for all the positive references.

We will take note of your kind observations. Regarding our free bicycles, we are so sorry for the trouble you had. As you just said, we are waiting for some new ones to replace them.
About our mattresses, they are high-end semi hard. This is the kind of mattress most people feels comfortable with. However, we know each person is different, so if someone finds it too hard we will do our best to change it and provide a nice sleep.

We are glad you had a nice time with us and we hope to see you really soon!

Best regards
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    47
    25
    16
    10
See reviews for
53
237
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. The building itself and the position are wonderful, very quiet and central. The staff is probably the best staff we have encountered in all our travels. From the moment we arrived until our departure they could not do enough for us. The breakfasts were great!
The room on the other hand was most disappointing. It was absolutely tiny with small square windows above eye-level (facing the courtyard) making the room extremely dark and dingy, even with all the lights on. The bed linen is of a very poor quality with a sheet and a very scratchy blanket rather than a fluffy comfortable duvet..... terribly outdated. A minor...but no tissues in the bathroom, and no water pressure in the shower. We will be returning to Palma as we found it to be fantastic but will unfortunately not be returning to this hotel as we felt it was not worth the price we paid.

Room Tip: We are not sure what the quality of the other rooms are like but all we could get at the time of boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Manager at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear guest,

First at all, we would like to thank you for spending a little of your time writing about the Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa. The opinion and feedback of our clients is really important for us and the best way to be able to improve every day.

At the hotel we do have 4 different room categories, from our Double rooms that are our smallest rooms to our biggest Deluxe Suites. We are aware that our Double rooms are not really big, but we have tried to give to all of them their special details and charm.

We are really sorry to know now that you did not like your room, because if you had told us while you were at the hotel, we would have been pleased to offer you another room, all they are different and other double room could have been nicer for you.
Our main goal is that you feel really comfortable while you are at the hotel.

Also we do appreciate your comments about our bedding system. In the hotels in Spain we have a different sheets' organization than in many other countries from northern Europe. In any case, thanks or your suggestions, we are going to study if a different structure would be more comfortable and appreciated for our international guests.

Regarding the lack of tissues in the bathroom, I want sincerely to apologize about this inconvenience. Despite our team solved this problem as soon as you informed them, this should not happen as we do try to care about even the smallest details. It was a human mistake that does not happen usually. We have modified our check lists in order to assure it never occurs again.

We would love if you could give us a second chance. We hope next time you visit Palma you decide to come back to our hotel and we will make sure you enjoy the room as much as you enjoyed our staff.

Thank you again for your time and suggestions.

Best regards,
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

A girlfriend and I have just returned from the most incredible five nights in Palma, made even more special by this stunning hotel. On arrival we were given a detailed tour by Marie Jose who is just so lovely and she told us that she wanted the hotel to be our home whilst we were staying. It really does feel like a home- albeit a very grand and exquisite one. We were shown to monet's kitchen- complimentary afternoon tea is served here every day and then the quaint honesty bar which feels more like an amazing homely sitting room. There is beautiful art everywhere and our bedroom and bathroom were completely charming. We were concerned that perhaps we were going to feel too young or that the hotel might be stuffy and full of older couples but actually it was just lovely and the staff really do make this place what it is. Any minor issues we had were immediately solved and sweet letters left in our room to explain what had happened. The roof terrace is out of this world and never crowded. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again- in fact I will DEFINITELY be back-the sooner the better. Only one potential improvement would be the breakfast tariff. Although they were explained in the menu, it was unfortunate that if you happened to want toast and a boiled egg you were charged 24 euros because it was deemed as a full, hot breakfast. Maybe we should have just eaten everything in sight and been done with it!! However, this did not in any way detract from our stay. A big thank you to all the lovely staff and see you soon!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank polecat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Manager at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services. Also, on behalf of the hotel staff, we would like to thank you for all the positive references.

We will take note of your kind observations about breakfast. Everyday we offer 3 different styles: Express, Continental and Buffet. Each one has a different setting and price so they can all meet our guests’ diverse needs. We apologize in case we weren't able to bring this information to you while you stayed with us.

We are extremely glad you had a nice time with us and we hope to see you really soon!

Best regards,
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in mid May, had a wonderful time. The building is stunning, and the art adds to the ambience of the place. We had afternoon tea every day in the courtyard (served by Eva, who was wonderful), as were all the receptionists- Jaime, Patricia, and Maria Rosa.

I've read some of the negative reviews-particularly the noise issues, and can understand what they mean. We were lucky in that the adjacent rooms were taken by quiet people, but door slamming noise was an issue. If we had noisy people next to us, I think it could have been a different experience. But, the building is what it is.

I also think the management could tone down a bit on selling all the extras, such as beauty therapy etc. You pay a lot to stay here anyway.

Would I stay again? Definitely.
Would I recommend it? Certainly.
It's a beautiful place with dedicated and friendly staff.
Hope this helps you make up your mind.
Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Woodvale98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services and correct our flaws. We will take note of your kind observations.

We are glad you had a nice time with us!

We hope to see you really soon!

Best regards
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma De Mallorca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you want to securely hide from the bustle of the big city then there is only one decision - Hotel Ca Sa Galesa. The romantic atmosphere of the ancient house perfectly matches modern facilities of the hotel. But the most important thing is the goodwill and hospitatity of the stuff which makes the stay in the hotel especially pleasant. All members of the stuff were helpful and patiently answered all the questions.
Unlike many other hotels we haven't notice the influence of the economy crisis on the breakfasts at the Ca Sa Galesa.
This is a small family hotel, the stay here is not cheap, but the quality is worth the money.
Next time when we come to Palma de Mallorka we shall not look for a hotel - we have already found The Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guests

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services. Also, on behalf of the hotel staff, we would like to thank you for all the positive references.

We are extremely glad you had a nice time with us and we hope to see you really soon!

Best regards,
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norlina, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Tea time in the yellow kitchen with a free art lesson from the mayor domo!
While relaxing on the roof terrace: having the Cathedral to the right you feel blessed while injoying the breathtaking view over the sea.
Once you get the jaccuzzi going be careful not to much too bath gel in!
Breakfast! What a treat!
They really make you feel like a star!
We certainly will be back!
Andrea & Bill Campbell

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guests

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services. Also, on behalf of the hotel staff, we would like to thank you for all the positive references.

We are extremely glad you had a nice time with us and we hope to see you really soon!

Best regards,
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruislip, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I loved the pictures of this hotel and booked to come away for a romantic break. The biggest problem for me was selling itself as a five star, then I expect perfection. This stay was lacking in many areas. The hotel building itself is ten out of ten but when we went onto the roof terrace the ugly concrete buildings on one side just ruined the views for me. It is in a good position close to the Cathedral and old part of the city and we spent an afternoon just walking around this area. Our suite looked fine when we opened the door but living in it was not five star. The bed creaked and when we put the air conditioning on we got a bad smell, it reminded me of an old dishwasher. Unfortunately the other niggles were our neighbours, they slammed doors and spoke so loudly I wondered if one of them was deaf. Along with other minor incidents the luxury experience I had hoped for did not materialise. I am not the kind of person to make a fuss and complain, but I do put my money where my mouth is and will not return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChantelleV850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palaciocasagalesa, Gerente at Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest

We really appreciate your comments; they encourage us to keep improving our services and correct our flaws. We strongly believe it is our duty to meet our customers’ expectations and it’s obvious we have not succeeded this time.

Regarding our roof terrace, we have refurbished it to be as pleasant as possible, but there is nothing we can do about the surrounding buildings. In any case, you can't deny it offers really good views of Palma's bay and Cathedral.

Besides our facilities, what really makes us special and unique is our personalized quality service. We apologize in case we weren't able to bring it to you while you stayed with us. We also ask your forgiveness on behalf of the guests who disturbed your rest.

In any case, we hope you globally had a nice time with us!

Best regards
Sonia Marzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
504 reviews
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#6 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
531 reviews
Hotel Cort
#19 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Convent de la Missio
#17 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
237 reviews
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
417 reviews
La Llotja-Born
Puro Hotel
Puro Hotel
#32 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa

Property: Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa
Address: Calle Miramar 8, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#28 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palacio Ca Sa Galesa is an iconic 5-stars boutique-hotel in the heart of Palma de Mallorca. It is located in an elegant XVI century palace which perfectly combines island's architecture with French, Italian and English style.This charming hotel has 12 rooms, all of them unique and different. The wonderful interiors of Palacio Ca Sa Galesa are smartly decorated with valuable works of art by great artists such as Miro, Calder or Bennasar. The hotel is equipped with comfortable lounges and meeting rooms, a library, a bar, a restaurant, a breakfast room, a quiet courtyard for relaxing and a spacious terrace for sunbathing. Hotel's excellent location allows guests enjoying some excellent views of Palma's bay and Cathedral.Palacio Ca Sa Galesa offers a wide variety of quality services including Wi-Fi Internet access, 24 hour room service, express check-in/out, air conditioning, heating, parking facilities, free bike rental and a new wellness area with gym, thermal bath circuit, heated indoor pool, sauna, Roman bath, Jacuzzi and health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Ca Sa Galesa Hotel
Hotel Palacio Ca Sa Galesa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing