We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Araxa Hotel(Palma de Mallorca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa(Palma de Mallorca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque(Palma de Mallorca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Armadams(Palma de Mallorca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sercotel Zurbaran(Palma de Mallorca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Palma Bellver Managed By Melia(Palma de Mallorca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
AC Hotel Ciutat de Palma(Palma de Mallorca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Mirador(Palma de Mallorca)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Costa Azul(Palma de Mallorca)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
947 results
Traveler rating
684
186
51
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
186
51
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking palmaes vigrand deluxe roomst regisspg platinumbeautiful castletapas restauranttennis courtsdowntown palmaclassic roomminute drivepool staffthe general managerindoor poolrooms are spaciouslate checkamazing hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
396 - 401 of 947 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Part of the luxury collection of Starwood, same as Turnberry in Scotland, this hotel is a beautiful, gated, old manor about 10-15 minutes by cab outside of city centre of Palma. If you want quiet, with views and an older crowd, this is for you. If you'd like convenience, stay in town. Cab rides are about 10Euro each way. There is a public bus for 1.5 Euro per person which leaves every hour on the half hour from the front of the hotel outside the gates but would not recommend that as it gets crowded with school children in the morning and afternoons. So either rent a car or plan on cabbing it.

Golf and spa seem to be the pastimes and specialities for this hotel. Didn't try the spa and it rained the whole time we were here so golf was out.

Rooms were comfortable, nicely appointed with balconies. Upon checkin, they will offer to upgrade you to a bigger room for 60Euro more per night but we chose not to do that. Breakfast was included in our rate and its a lovely hot and cold buffet with plenty of options.

There is a front desk clerk named Ramon who was exceptionally helpful...5 star helpful and went out of his way to serve your every need. You could tell he sincerely loved his job...the rest of the staff were fine. All in all, lovely hotel but we may try an in town hotel next time we come to Mallorca.

Room Tip: The gardens aren't much to look at so would have preferred a view toward the city.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gate6122016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to write your impressions.
Please visit us soon again on your next trip to Mallorca.

Kind regards

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is a former castle that has old world charm, and paintings on the walls in the lobby that look like they came from the Prado museum. Their breakfast buffet has a wide variety of items placed in two rooms. You can get eggs made for you ready to order, and crispy bacon for the North Americans. A free shuttle in front of the hotel can take you to the golf course. If you walk a short distance to the gate of the hotel, and on the right side is a city bus that costs 1.50 Euros that operates 25 minutes after the hour. The staff at the hotel are very friendly, and help you with all your needs requested. The lobby is located on the 6th floor, and the restaurant is on the 5th floor. Guests receive a discount coupon to get a massage at the combination hair and massage salon. A free newspaper is available to be delivered to your door daily.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globetrotter10079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Globetrotter from Seatle,

thank you for your feedback and very good to read that you enjoyed your stay at "The Balcony of Mallorca".
Please visit us again and wishing you a great journey arround the globe.

Kind regards

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a business meeting, and there is nothing to complain about at this hotel. The location is very nice on a hill with excellent views and the staff is very helpful with anything. The bar and restaurant are also very good to relax and enjoy the evening, and when the weather is good you can walk onto a nice terrace from the meeting rooms to continue discussions outside.
Overall an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tschober2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Guests from Insbruck,

thank you very much for your time and your stay at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.
Great to read that you enjoyed our meeting spaces and the terace,

Hope to welcome you soon again.

Sunny regards

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is located about 15 minutes from downtown Palma on a beautiful hill surrounded by beautiful villas and golf courses.
The view from the terrace is breathtaking, personnel is really high-level, many of them have been working in that hotel for more than 20 years.
We had un upgrade as Spg Gold to a grand deluxe room and the room was perfect and spacious, nice retro decor, very confortable bed with big feather pillows, lots of soft towels and amenities in the bathroom, complimentary water, tea set with box of different teas, even a rose in a glass ball with white stones and ice cubes every night with turndown.(but no chocolate or sweets)
The health club is basic and the indoor pool had cold water (too cold for us) and jacuzzi had extreme hot water.Anyway the seating area near the the indoor pool is pleasant and very silent.
We did't try the restaurant, just breakfast in the room which was excellent and the waiter was polite and friendly.Also the clerks at seated check out and the concierge were perfect.
We didn't try the Spa as they had no availabity for the time requested.
Very beautiful outdoor pools and gold courses.
A mention for the Starwood perfume sprayed in the lobby ...fantastic!

Room Tip: rooms in the main building with the view of Palma and the cathedral. The grand deluxe rooms are perfect.Ask for a room with balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria giulia n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Buon Giorno,

thank you very much for input and feedback. I am sure the whole Team will enjoy reading this and we send our warm greetings to Italy.

Kind regrads from Mallorca

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in december.

Welcome and checkin was already great. While bringing my luggage to the room, the concierge was explaining where the meeting rooms where for my business meetings, showing me the restaurant (and yes, also the bar). The room was large with a comfortable bed and great bathroom. The view on the bay from my room was just amazing.

Service in the hotel is just great. Whether it's in the bar or at the front desk, people are friendly, serving you with a smile and ready to help you put whenever they can.

The staff helped us out in making reservations for a restaurant on Saturday night (btw, Simply Fosh definitely is worth a try) and was so kind as to make the necessary arrangements for me to go and play a round of golf at Son Vida.

I look forward to my next visit. Pretty sure it won't take long for me to come back to this great place !

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
4  Thank Broekie2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Clients from Amberes, Belgium,

thank you very much for your nice feedback and may we wish you.........

......FELIZ NAVIDAD & PROSPERO AÑO NUEVO.....

Hope to welcome you soon again at the " Balcony of Mallorca" ......the Castillo Hotel Son Vida.

Kind regards

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews