We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Palma Suites(Palma de Mallorca)
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel UR Portofino(Palma de Mallorca)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
HM Jaime III(Palma de Mallorca)
$134
$126
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Melia Palma Marina(Palma de Mallorca)
$147
$143
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque(Palma de Mallorca)
$183
$135
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Palma Bellver Managed By Melia(Palma de Mallorca)
$159
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Melia Victoria(Palma de Mallorca)
$231
$207
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Boutique Hotel Can Cera(Palma de Mallorca)
$346
$261
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Posada Terra Santa(Palma de Mallorca)
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$385
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (952)
Filter reviews
952 results
Traveler rating
687
187
52
17
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
687
187
52
17
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverlooking palmaes vigrand deluxe roomst regisspg platinumbeautiful castletapas restauranttennis courtsdowntown palmaclassic roomminute drivepool staffthe general managerindoor poolrooms are spaciouslate checkamazing hotel
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 952 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Very pleased by this hotel. Nice and very well maintained with clean, spacious rooms.
Beautiful terrace located in a quiet area.
Friendly personnel.
I liked the evening buffet at the main restaurant. Breakfast was excellent also.
Probably one of the best adresses in/around Palma.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWGoodbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2011

Dear Clients from Ginebra,

Thank you very much for ypur comments, I will comunicate this to my team.

Have a great Day and hope to welcome you back soon.

Saludos cordiales

GM
castillo Hotel Son Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Well, we will repeat this month.
Last month, Janary, we had been there for a night so they have a nice offer of 199 Euros, breakfast included.
So, even having a house (countryside) on the island, we take the arrival day for to stay there, go 4 shopping my spouse, go out by night, having breakfast next day and go down to our village.
Maybe it's a suggestion for other people having a property at Majorca, but must not rush for shopping or dining to the city.
City, well, the only minus is that the hotel is outside, but we still are willing to spend in a taxi (if you do late, you have to search one in the city on Friday/Staurday nights).
Back to the hotel: it still IS the number one at Majorca Island, even they may have a Mardavall, and some other ones, between them the "other Son Vida"-Golf, which is not to compare with that hotel.
The breakfast was excellent.
If I will not be content the next time, in between two weeks from now on, I will post it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank masmiguelDusseldorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Dear Guests from Dusseldof,

thank you very much for your respond and I am sure that we will surprise you at your next visit again.

Kind regards from Mallorca

GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Son Vida in May 2010 and attended a wedding at the hotel on the Sunday afternoon. On the plus side the rooms were spacious and the public areas of the hotel were nice, with plenty of space. We ate in the hotel throughout our stay and whilst we enjoyed the food, I would not say it was anything special. Our main critique was the pool area- the pool itself is small but has a nice feel to it, but it was constantly crowded. Most guests reserved sunloungers before breakfast (not what I would have expected in a hotel like this-made it feel a bit cheap) and it could be noisy and not very private at times. There were a number of families, so for a quiet romantic break it didnt work for us in the day time. Fantastic location for a wedding though- our friends married on the main terrace and it was stunning. Wonderful views down to Palma and the bay in the evening.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2011

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your information and comments about the Castillo Hotel Son Vida,
we really hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards

GM
W.J. Veensma
Castillo Hotel Son Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

After walking Mallorca's GR221 from Banyalbufar to Soller over 6 days, my partner and I decided to treat ourselves to two nights at the Castillo Hotel Son Vida on the outskirts of Palma. Great choice! Stunning setting with quiet, old world European elegance. Frankly, it seemed at first we were co-habitating with bankers and other movers and shakers of Europe, but the staff were very warm and inviting and made us feel completely welcome. The setting was worth the trouble of arranging transportation to get into Palma for the usual sightseeing. A city bus (21) stops right in front of the hotel property and is a convenient, quick and inexpensive way to go into the city center without having to worry about a rental car or taxi. Our room was 158, with a nice garden view and in the distance a hint of Palma. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

ADVANTAGES:
1) Beautiful, quiet, and restful surroundings. Attentive service. We were welcomed with a selection of fresh and dried fruit and a bottle of Spanish sparkling wine
2) Elegant rooms with appropriate contemporary touches, but no iPod docking stations.
3) Complimentary wi-fi access throughout the hotel including rooms, though strength of connection varied.
4) Small but well equipped fitness facility and a small indoor pool.
5) Gorgeous seasonal outdoor pools.
6) Breakfast service that is absolutely incredible. The most amazing "buffet" one will ever see. Included with many "bed and breakfast" rates, but otherwise rather expensive at 36 euros per person. The selection and quality of foods is simply astonishing.

DISADVANTAGES:
1) Even with public transportation into Palma, Son Vida is rather isolated from central Palma (undoubtedly by design).
2) Other than breakfast, meals are expensive, which makes the sense of isolation a bit more acute. We had dinner once on the Es Castell terrace, which was an enchanting setting in the evening hours. One of the specialties is sea bass baked in a salt crust to be ordered for two. It was wonderful, but the price was 39 euros per person.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwitravelerpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2010

Buenas tardes,

thank you very much for your comments, it is good to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the service attitude of my team.

Hope to welcome you soon again.

Greetings from Mallorca

W.J. Veensma
GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Spent a week here after a week in Hotel bendinat which was four star.The hotel itself is amazing, grounds views from the drinks terrace and pool area are beautiful rooms spacious but carpted which made them very hot so we needed to keep the aircon on all night(noisy) public rooms are tastefully done and everywhere is spotless.Breakfast was really good, but dinner was not five star grand lux at all we stayed half board most people went into palma (taxi 8 euros). the charges for water was terrible £4 for a tiny bottle We took a bus down to the next village and bought it there .When we visited palma we took the bus which stops outside the hotel they are very punctual cheap and modern would not return to this hotel as the food was not good and the place has an air of a transit camp as most of the visitors are golfers and only stay for a few days

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petiteblondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JVeensma, General Manager at Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2010

Good Morning, buenos días,

thank you very much for your comments and we take your suggestions as an opportunity to improve our service.

Kind regards

W.J. Veensma
GM
Castillo Hotel Son Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews