We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A little cracker !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palau Sa Font

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palau Sa Font
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
warwick
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little cracker !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My 4th stay at this hotel. Great location in old town Palma. Bedrooms simple but generous in size. Staff always willing to help in whatever way they can. Smashing breakfasts and a little dipping pool to cool off after shopping and siteseeing. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    68
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
19
111
27
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Palau Sa Font. This formed the end of a 10 day break to Mallorca, an island we visit each year. We decided this year to take an extra few days to explore Palma which we usually only pass through.
The location of the hotel is excellent for access to the main bar/restaurants, shops, cathederal and marina.
The hotel itself was a real dissapointment, we had high expectations based on reviews.
The syle is urban chic - though this appeared to be minimilst in every aspect. Rooms were spartan and small. Two very basic single beds pushed together to form a "double", small bedside tables with no drawers a compact wardrobe with open shelves and some random hangers.
Tiny TV on a minbar and that was it. Bathroom was small there was a faulty wc poor water supply to the sink and an intermittent shower supply. In all it looked dated and tired and what was "chic" was used to disquise, lets get away with as little as possible - a bit like a 90's gastro meal. Sorry guys but expectations and standards have moved on and up.
Asides from that there was a huge amount of "noise" from the 2 adjoining rooms, one from the bathroom - you could hear everything and the other from other activities. Not much room for discretion.
Breakfasts were good but we didnt want to spend any time in the room at all as it was so basic and uncofmrtable not a room to relax in at all, it was just a place to sleep - if we could and get out.
We asked to be moved on the 2 susbsequent nights but were told it was not possible although we did get an apology for the water interuption on the second day but still no chance to move rooms. No hint of an apology or recompense was offered though.
It was a shame given the 4 star rating and not really how we wanted our otherwise excelent holiday to finish on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkypandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for our 'minimoon' a couple of weeks ago, staff were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. Drinks were inexpensive, the hotel was perfectly situated in a tiny calm street just round the corner from the main restaurant quarter of the old town. There's even a small outdoor pool on the first floor which closes at 1am! Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice, and although the room was mediterranean (sparse) everything was of the highest quality.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Lovely small hotel located in the Old Town. All within walking distance to restaurants, bars and boutiques. Quiet location, minimial noise and rooms are on the larger size. Lovely plunge pool with loungers in a small area where one can escape the hustle and bustle on the street. Staff were very friendly and helpful and rooms very clean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaInglis321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

In an area close to many nice restaurants and good shopping you find this nice little specially designed hotel. With a small tower on the top were you can enjoy a nice view of the surroundings and backyard between first and second floor with a small outdoor pool were you can relax with a cup of tea and a good book. The breakfast are perfect, the staff is wonderful, the rooms and the hotel is very fresh and kept in a perfect way. Our standard room was "standard", a little bit boring, but very clean and in good condition. In Palma there is so much to do so you don not really spend a lot of time in your room. We had a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The rooms are not so well isolated from sounds so bring earplugs! Neighbors tend to become a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onthemove2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location is perfect with all the interesting sights, nice restaurants, bars and boutiques of the old town of Palma at your doorstep but yet located on a quiet street. The rooms are quite austerely furnished and you will not find the facilities you may expect from a 4 star hotel but this little hotel grows as the days go by and you discover small subtleties in the decoration etc. Breakfast is excellent and served with great care, the staff is very friendly and helpful.
Our only concern was the ventilation system (not the indoor air condition system) that was very noisy and made it impossible to sleep with the windows open.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rutig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Second trip to Palma wa better than the first. The only downside was a break in the weather , welcomed by the locals though! This time I found more nooks and crannies to this lovely city. The Hotel is in a perfect location, near transport, marina, beaches and some lovely resturants and a delightful square where you can get a mean chaprinia! Lookng forward to the next trip.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the plung pool would be quiter, but the rooms on the side street are more atmosp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastChicTravller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Lorenzo
Hotel San Lorenzo
#40 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tres
Hotel Tres
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cort
Hotel Cort
#17 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#10 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Dalt Murada
Hotel Dalt Murada
#43 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almudaina Hotel
Almudaina Hotel
#21 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palau Sa Font? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palau Sa Font

Property: Palau Sa Font
Address: Calle Apuntadors 38, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca > La Llotja-Born
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#23 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palau Sa Font 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Some have called us "Spanish Spartan", or minimalist. We wanted to achieve a cool, calm and collected feel to our rooms, because we believe cool doesn't mean cold. A no-fuss, quietly stylish environment where you'll be able to unwind and make the most of your time on the island. Because we love what we do, we're always pleased to see our regulars, and look forward to meeting new guests. Welcome to the Palau Sa Font. Update 2015: It was time for a change and we completely redid the majority of our bathrooms. We opted for a updated fresh style and made sure that the new toilet flushes work smoothly :-) (we had some issues with the old ones in the past). Also, we soundproofed the rooms that were particularly exposed to noise. Come and tell us what you think! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Palau Sa Font reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palau Sa Font Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Palau Sa Font Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing