We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overlooked gem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Saratoga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Saratoga
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
London
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overlooked gem.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

The Saratoga hotel in Palma isn't flashy, isn't 'boutique' hasn't got 5 stars and to be honest on first view certainly ain't pretty. But what it is a really good, comfortable, afordable hotel.
In the heart of Palma, a hundred yards from Es Baulard (a marvellous art gallery) around the corner from an El Corte Ingles, and a five minute walk from the 'ramblas'.
It has two lovely pools, one in a downstairs courtyard and one on the roof with great views over the harbour and the cathedral.
On the floor beneath the pool is a really good bar with live jazz on selected nights and a restaurant.
Rooms are typically Spanish rooms, thatt is to say functional rather that plush. Very comfortable beds.
Breakfast again is typically Spanish, not what we Brits or Americans call hearty but perfectly adequet if a bit pricey.
Staff are efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    456
    170
    65
    40
See reviews for
137
476
47
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

This was our first visit to the beautiful and expensive island of Mallorca. The four of us stayed at the Saratoga Hotel. Though their location is wonderful and their exercise room shares breathtaking views, you must look to the rooms themselves to evaluate the quality of a hotel. Though we paid over $130 a night for each room, our 4-star hotel room looked more like a back room at a Motel 6 in the 1970's. The room looked out over a megalithic grey wall. If we wanted a double bed instead of their standard twin beds, we were told we could "upgrade" for another 20 euros a night. We were tired so we got out our credit card. the cleaning staff never replaced any of the toiletries over the three days we stayed there. I even had to get dressed one night to request additional toilet paper for our room.
On the plus side, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Beware of their 2 euros PER DRINK cover charge whenever they have music in their jazz club. Two house wines and a rum with Coke cost us $32. I will recommend this hotel conditionally. Beware of all of the additional hidden charges.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentFlier1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cannes
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

Great welcome at reception and all the staff were unfailingly pleasant and helpful. The 7th floor restaurant had a great atmosphere for Christmas and the food both there and for breakfast downstairs was excellent. The hotel's location is unbeatable, close to downtown shops and restaurants. Niggles? The jazz club on the top of the hotel is great for music lovers but not so great if you want to get to sleep at 1am, as the sound spreads down through the hotel. We had a suite with lovely views but the beds were starting to show their age and it would have been nice to have been able to make an early morning coffee in the room. But as I say, I have yet to find the perfect hotel. This place is not cheap but I think it's worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank journeymancannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

On the surface this hotel is nice, it has a good location, nice roof top pool and pleasantly designed jazz bar. However, look beyond this and it’s a different matter.

We booked Hotel Saratoga through lastminute.com for a 4 night birthday treat. We booked a double room with balcony but when we arrived at our room we found that we had been given a twin room. The twin beds were pushed close together but not secured together or made up as a double. We raised this straight away with reception, they checked if the beds could be zipped together, which they could not. Reception then informed us our only option was to remain in the twin or pay for an upgrade to a double room for an extra 20euros per night as the hotel was fully booked (despite us only seeing around 10 other guests throughout our entire stay). After much protest they found us a room on the ground floor (facing a road!) without a balcony. We accepted this room but were dismayed that they offered no compensation for the loss of a balcony.

The hotel staff clearly state that the hotel sees a ‘double room’ booking as simply being double occupancy so the bed you get is dependant on availability. I find this incredible as every other hotel I have ever stayed in takes booking as double room with double occupancy; double room with single occupancy; twin rooms; family rooms etc. I have never heard of a hotel thinking that a twin room is a double!

We were informed that we could not speak to Mr Borras, the Manager as “he was out” and “was never normally here” and they “didn’t know when he’d be back”. Once settled in our room my partner immediately emailed Mr Borras. He did not respond but his quality manager did, who again, stated the hotel policy on double rooms and again insisted we would be given no compensation other than a glass of sangria (but we don’t drink alcohol). At this point we also over heard a German couple complaining that they had been given a twin room.

On my birthday two slices of cake and a bowl of fruit were delivered to the room. This was a nice touch but did little to stem the bad feeling from the first day and the lack of balcony.

The roof top pool area is delightful with fantastic views. There is good wifi throughout the hotel. But I suggest Hotel Saratoga invests in some twin beds that can actually be connected to make doubles and also invests in a new manager who actually has the decency to deal with guests instead of leaving it to his long suffering staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorginaSmallF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

Ideal location for shops, restaurant quarter and seafront. We had a room overlooking the side street and whilst a pool view or a room at the front of the hotel would probably have been better, we were not in the room long enough to be bothered.
Breakfast was fine and the bonus was that there was live jazz in the upstairs bar Thurs-Sat. Entrance free though the drinks prices increased.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2010

From the moment you walk into to the hotel, you can see blant, utter and complete lack of interest from it's staff towards customer. Manager Mr. Borras actualy refuses to speak to customers in relation to any issue whatsoever! Nothing short of an absolute disgrace!!!! Typical con with nice pictures of a hotel and terrible service!!! DO NOT GET CAUGHT!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gosia01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

i booked this hotel for my parents golden wedding ann, half board which was not a cheap option, when going for their eve meal they were told the restaurant was not open as there was not enough people, they could eat in restaurant with jazz bar not a problem but were given a different menu to everyone else with 2 options for each course, fish or pork, asked at reception if the menu was differant for next eve told yes but then given fish or pork again just a differant sauce, not what i expect from a 4 star hotel, also charged for a room upgrade you would think they would have given them this for their golden wedding ann, not impressed

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkimunkiCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.6 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#27 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almudaina Hotel
Almudaina Hotel
#18 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Innside Palma Center
Innside Palma Center
#10 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saratoga

Property: Hotel Saratoga
Address: Paseo Mallorca 6, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#32 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saratoga 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saratoga, in Palma (Majorca) was established in 1962 and has been recently refurbished. The Hotel Saratoga is situated in a central but quiet location in Palma (Majorca), near one of the most popular and prestigious commercial avenues of the city - Avenue Jaime III - close to the Paseo Maritimo promenade, the Cathedral and the Harbour. Built in a conventional style, the Hotel Saratoga has a fresh and comfortable atmosphere, a sober decor, and excellent facilities, equipment and service. The Hotel Saratoga disposes 187 luxury rooms and offers free wireless high speed internet throughout the whole hotel. There is a BLUE JAZZ CLUB with live Jazz Music and the presence of the best Jazz artists in Majorca. The Hotel Saratoga is highly recommended for Conventions and Business, tourism, Golf and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Saratoga Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing