We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Saratoga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Saratoga
Ranked #30 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

“A good modern hotel located to get the best of a visit to Palma city”

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    453
    165
    65
    39
See reviews for
137
469
45
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hotel Saratoga is ideally placed in the city centre for shops and restaurants or walking to Portitxol and harbour. A couple of tips, don't hire a car if you are staying at the Saratoga as parking is on a restricted one way street with metres which are constantly monitored, it's probably not ideal for families but great for couples with a super roof top pool/gym/bar with views of the cathedral and the cruise ships coming and going. We had an excellent west facing room on the sixth floor with a small balcony and first rate walk in wet room type shower.
There is a very popular Jazz club on the seventh floor which I suppose could be noisy but if your on holiday go for your evening meal and return for the show which lasts about two hours.
I don't think this hotel is known for its restaurant, the breakfast is typical European cold plates assortment of breads and boiled/scrambled eggs more than adequate but with the location there are plenty of choices for your lunch/evening meal within short walking distance. Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: West facing for afternoon/evening sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tommy186574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel location is excellent for a trip to Palma. We stayed for a couple of nights on a Ryanair midweek quickie. From the hotel entrance you can turn left and head down to the harbour front and along to the modern part with the larger hotels, bars and restaurants, or turn right and down into the old town with its wonderful buildings, bars, restaurants and shops. There are also many bars and restaurants around the hotel its self.

I would say that the hotel is more business orientated and not really for holiday makers especially with young children. There are two pools one in the courtyard at the rear and a smaller one on the roof above the bar. I never saw anyone in the courtyard (except the builders). The views from the roof top pool and sun terrace, like the hotel bar, are superb, with a 360 degree view, however unless you are lucky enough to get a room on the front over looking the river then you won’t have much of a view from your balcony. We, like 80% of the rooms, could look down on the pool and across at an eight storey blank wall.

The rooms are comfortable and well set out, nice furnishings and décor you would expect in a four star. There is a minibar and free safe in the wardrobe but no tea and coffee making facility, the TV has only one English channel (BBC World News). The wifi is free and works in the room. Taxi fare is 18 Euros from the airport and takes about 20 minutes.

If you have a day to spare (or even half) rent a bicycle from the ride the cycle path along the sea front it stretches from the cruise ship terminal in Palma to the small harbour in Arenal. The route is easy and safe, we did the whole length in from 10.00am to 5.00pm with stops for coffee, lunch and an afternoon jug of local sangria, 25 miles but remember the sun lotion.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony on the front of the hotel overlooking the river otherwise you will be facing ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

The Saratoga is located in the centre of Palma convenient for shopping and sightseeing. The Hotels best features are the roof top terrace and pool and I preferred the little terrace by the bar on floor 7. It has a nice view of the harbour and the city. We had a room facing the building opposite and back into town, it was noisy at night and I would ask for a room looking into the courtyard or facing the sea. The hotel is very nice but the rooms are nothing too exciting, totally acceptable but no love had gone into the choice of beds and pillows. Clean and correct though. I would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank klokaugglan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We were a group of 9 friends which stayed last weekend - april 2012 and all thought it was fantastic. I read trip advisor the day before going and was feeling very nervous after reading the poor comments. What we found was completely different - Our rooms were on the 6th floor and were all modern and comfortable with an amazing shower and free wifi (which is rare these days). The reception staff were incredible friendly and helpful from booking and canceling restaurants to providing recommendations which all worked out very well. The breakfast was full of variety with delicious tortilla as an option. We dined on our last night in the hotel as it was raining and found the food delicious and the service excellent with the jazz as an added bonus...... which we didn't hear in our rooms when we went to bed. I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 6th floor as they have all been renovated and are very comfortable with amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daws82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Super central location but in desperate need of some updating. Don't waste your money on breakfast as it is a total disaster. Jazz Night all week exept on Wednesday so no sleep until midnight ! Good underground car park at 20 euros per night. Bin Men arrive at arround 3am and empty the roadside waste but it only disturbs for 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Remember Spain is in a recession far worse than we realise. Dated 18th March 2012
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterandjocelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadsaratoga, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Saratoga, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear Mrs. and Mrs.Keys,
First of all thank you for your comments, nevertheless we are very sorprised that our buffet breakfast with 250 assortment was not good for you, our clients use to like it very much and they comment it too. On the other hand, the parking price in our hotel is 16.20€ (vat inc.) per day as you have paid in your check out.
We are very sorry for the time table for picking up the bins in the street but this service belongs to the town council.
For any further comment please do not hesitate to contact us.
Yours Sincerely,

Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

BEWARE OF FAKE ADD ON CREDIT CARD CHARGES!!!!
I stayed at Hotel Saratoga mainly because of the location during a business trip and they added on 57 euros in mini bar charges after I departed. The problem is that there was NO mini bar presented during check-in or available anywhere in the room. The front desk clerk cheerfully arranged a taxi at 0500 to the airport to fly out of country and then added on the charges to my account after I checked out. After three months of fighting, No chance of winning this type of dispute with the credit card because they faked a handwritten "minibar" bill and will continuously insist the charge is valid. I know a little Spanish and made the honest attempt to converse, but try questioning a charge and they will conveniently forget their English. 57 euros is 57 euros, not a truly devastating loss, but they're still thieves. Think twice while traveling in Mediterranean countries on the brink of economic collapse because they know you will not win in the credit card dispute and you will be long gone before you notice the charges on your statement.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bsmith17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calidadsaratoga, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Saratoga, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear Mr. Smith,
The fact is that you tried to deceive us when at check out you said that you have not consumed nothing from the Minibar. Later after your departure when we checked the Minibar from your room, the following items were missing: 2 bottles of mineral water, 1 coke, 1 limonade, 1 orange juice,1 tonic, 2 minicava,2 gin, 1 rum,2 vodkas and 1 pack of peanuts. So we have charged in your credit card that amount which is the fair. We do not understand why you complain here in trip advisor in 2012 when you were in the hotel in June 2011.
Yours Sincerely,
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almudaina Hotel
Almudaina Hotel
#18 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
0.6 mi away
Innside Palma Center
Innside Palma Center
#10 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Saratoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Saratoga

Property: Hotel Saratoga
Address: Paseo Mallorca 6, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#32 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Saratoga 4*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Saratoga, in Palma (Majorca) was established in 1962 and has been recently refurbished. The Hotel Saratoga is situated in a central but quiet location in Palma (Majorca), near one of the most popular and prestigious commercial avenues of the city - Avenue Jaime III - close to the Paseo Maritimo promenade, the Cathedral and the Harbour. Built in a conventional style, the Hotel Saratoga has a fresh and comfortable atmosphere, a sober decor, and excellent facilities, equipment and service. The Hotel Saratoga disposes 187 luxury rooms and offers free wireless high speed internet throughout the whole hotel. There is a BLUE JAZZ CLUB with live Jazz Music and the presence of the best Jazz artists in Majorca. The Hotel Saratoga is highly recommended for Conventions and Business, tourism, Golf and leisure guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Saratoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saratoga Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Saratoga Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing