We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel
Ranked #39 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nearly good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here for work and the place is pretty basic. The room is functional, but could certainly do with some improvements. Very nice to have a balcony overlooking the front, but there was quite a lot of construction noise in the morning
The check in staff were very friendly and spoke good English, but the place was absolutely full with Air Berlin staff who were toing and froing to the nearby airport
The 'mini-gym' is really just that - very small and basic and not really good enough for a hotel of this side. The equipment was ok, but the main thing missing from the room is a water fountain (especially in such a hot country) The gym is also pretty tricky to find
Very nice breakfast, with a huge choice
Needs a bit of work and this place could be quite nice

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NumbersONEandTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gema G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing comments on us, they are very important to us.
Your positive comments about breakfast cheered me as it is very important to the quality of our products.
We have beverage service near the gym to not have any problems next time.
I hope you back

A greeting
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    438
    212
    69
    64
See reviews for
135
416
38
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Over for a Winter singing break, we stayed in this pleasantly roomy hotel. Our room was overlooking the pool and comfortable if a little tired. We didn't have the noise problems associated with lower, front facing rooms. The bar was adequate, but the restaurant with only about ten tables, was poor and the waitress did all but throw our meals at us on the one occasion we ate in. Fortunately there are excellent fooderies just around the corner for foodie connoisseurs. Having said that the breakfast food were plentiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OughtiJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gema G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
So glad you had a good Exepriencia in Tryp Palma Bosque.
Hope to see you again in the future.
A greeting
Guest Exeprience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed three nights as part of a Male Voice Choir tour and we had a great stay even though they didn't want us to sing in the bar late at night - fair enough - the other guests had to sleep but what a treat they were missing!
Location - although out of town a little we walked to and from the old town in 20-30 minutes along the splendid Passeig Maritim which catered for cyclists and walkers. In the heat of the summer this might not be so pleasant, but we were told that there is usually a cooling breeze. Plenty of bars and restaurants close to hotel - Japanese, Chinese, Colombian, Italian - even Spanish! Bus stops close to the hotel for local services and also a taxi rank next to hotel. Open-top tour buses stop about five mnutes walk to the east along Joan Miro road. Castell Bellver is up the hill to the left of the hotel by a winding but gradually-sloping road. There are also steps up which are not too steep or high. The views are worth the walk, Tour bus stops there too and taxis cost 4/5 Euros from hotel. The castle itself is beautiful with an interesting museum of Palma's history. Entrance a bargain at 2 Euros each for seniors. Fabulous views and a small cafe and toilets are available. The old town is great - a little of Seville or Barcelona with tiny streets and sunny squares with many shops, restaurants, cafes and museums. La Seu the Cathedral is very impressive.
Tryp Bosque rooms were fine with smallish clean bathroom, minibar and safe (extra cost). Small balcony with table and two chairs which caught some sone during the day. Not spectacular views but apparently some rooms on top floors looked across the bay. Bed comfortable if a bit squeaky and plenty of pillows. Breakfast we thought was very good with a very good stab at a Full English and plenty of fruit, cereals pastries etc. Couldn't fault it. THe outdoor pool was out of use and we didn't have time to use either the indoor pool or the gym as we were out most of the time.
Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but had bar snacks and drinks which were fine and a very amusing barman to serve them.
The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful, providing maps and advice with pleasure. When we were short of towels they were with us within 20 minutes and when I left my Kindle in the room on checking out a quick email from home and they'd found it and arranged to get it to me in UK.
We usually like to stay close to the Old Town on these city trips, but on this occasion were happy to stay a little further out with good local amenities and communications and pay a good bit less.
Would certainly stay at Tryp Bosque again - the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Try the top floors for a bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldbill186302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gema G, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear oldbill186302,
Thank you for choosing us for your holiday in Palma and especially for its beautiful and rewarding comments to the staff of the Hotel.
These adjectives gives us more energy to work and provide a daily service as the next client deserves to Tryp Bosque.
Hopefully we will meet again very pleased to be able to welcome.

A greeting
Head of Quality / Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
121 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
Located at the bottom of the slopes to the Castle, which was a nice 30 minute walk through the forest. 10 minute walk to the marina and 30 minute walk into the city, Plenty of taxis if needed.
Only downside - no English TV channels

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenDen1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gema G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments after your stay.
We appreciate your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us .
We will keep on working in order to exceed your expectations for your next visit!
We are looking forward to receiving you back!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
163 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed four nights in the Tryp Bosque while having business talks in Palma. The hotel is about 20-30 mins walk from the Old Town (and pretty close to the Santa Catalina area), and there are taxis right outside so no problem with the location. There seem to be a number of nightclubs in the vicinity, though, so late nights/early mornings were quite noisy.

Check-in took endlessly due to computer problems, but the room was quite spacious, clean and seemed to have been renovated just recently. Wifi did not work as the signal was too weak, and the A/C could not be turned on. But TV was good with lots of programs. Breakfast was certainly up to four star, and the rate was reasonable. Service varied, with some staff being very friendly while others didn't really care too much.

All in all not a bad stay, but with some effort this could easily become a solid four star hotel and also attract clients on a business trip (working internet is a must, as an example).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gema G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comments after your stay.
We appreciate your kind words and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us…it is a pleasure to have guests like you! We will keep on working in order to exceed your expectations for your next visit!
We are looking forward to receiving you back!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaikoura, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent a week in Mallorca in July and had agreat time. We are an older couple in our late 60's so we were not looking for the "beach party" type of vacation. Our hotel Tryp Bosque was located in Palma a short distance from the city centre. It was a quiet location with handy bus stop to all the major attractions. The hotel was comfortable, the staff very helpful and breakfast for two half price with a MAS card (bought before we left home). An excellent supermarket close by with plenty of small bars and restaurants within a very short walk of the hotel. We took an Easyjet holiday and found it excellent value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taffyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I have just enjoyed a four-day stay at the Tryp Bosque and, to be honest, there's a lot right and very little wrong about this hotel.

The room was very spacious and spotlessly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom was on the small side, but that's not a problem for me.

Breakfast was excellent, with a great selection to choose from, including Mallorcan specialities. Small changes were made every day to the choices on offer.

The staff were excellent - always friendly and helpful. Whether it was reception, bar, restaurant or cleaning staff, there was always a smile.

On the down side, the walls - external and internal - are not the thickest in the world! One or two others have mentioned early-morning noise from the street outside and this was certainly a problem for us when roadsweepers and recycling teams got going at 6.30am. However, this was the only problem we encountered during our stay.

The Tryp Bosque is not exactly central - a 20-minute walk from the city centre. But it's a lovely walk if you choose the path along the sea front.

If you don't fancy the effort, the bus services are excellent. Take a number 3 either east into the city centre or west to the nearest beaches. There are stops close to the hotel on the Avinguda de Juan Miro (going west) and near Sindy's Bar on the Carrer de Federico Garcia Lorca (going east). The reason for the different streets is that a one-way system is in operation.

If going to the city centre, we found that the airport bus, the number 1, is far quicker reaching places like the Placa de Espana. You catch this bus on the sea front (Avinguda de Gabriel Roca).

Just a tip on places to visit... we enjoyed the Fundacion Pilar i Juan Miro on the Carrer de Joan de Saridakis at Cala Mayor, not just for the amazing art, but for the architecture of the gallery itself. But the highlight of the stay was a trip to Soller by train from Palma. It is a spectacular journey through the mountains to Soller and then by tram to the port itself. The scenery is truly breathtaking.

Room Tip: May be a good idea to get a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gloskeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araxa Hotel
Araxa Hotel
#34 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel UR Portofino
Hotel UR Portofino
#23 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#25 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#54 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel

Property: Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel
Address: Camilo Jose Cela, n.5, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 271
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Bosque Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Tryp Hotel Bosque
Tryp Hotel Calvia
Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing