We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitsch but clean.”
Review of Hotel Mirador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mirador
Ranked #53 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Friends and i have just had four great days in Palma staying at the Hotel Mirador.
Didn't know what to expect, from the outside as it looked tired and in need of a facelift, the public areas were very seventies kitsch but the rooms were very comfortable and obviously recently referbed to a high, modern standard.
Breakfast was very good and there was a very good selection to suit all tastes, the service was efficient and friendly.
Overall the hotel was clean, reasonably priced and an ideal base for a visit to Palma, just dont let outward appearances put you off.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcopolo1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 550 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2009

but horrible restaurant for dinner. Nice and clean hotel with lovely terrace overlooking the boats. 20 min walk to oldtown.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Mirador with 2 best friends.

Our room was large and quite cheap £100 per night for 3. Flights on easyjet also good £70 return because of the euro exchange rate the break turned out to be really expensive for food etc. so be warned if you are going to europe soon!

We went to Stoller on the wooden train which was really nice day trip from Palma - cost 17e then a 2nd wooden tram to the beach/port 4e. We had a nice leisurely set lunch there for 17e. It has great scenery and wasn't crowded when we went.

Pueblo Espanol - is also a great place to visit from hotel it is 15 min walk. It is an old walled village complex.

We got cab from airport for 18e - as we didn't know where hotel was - but is was easy to get a number 1 bus from directly across the road back to aeroport for 1.85e.


Hotel Liked - breakfast, really big spread especially as there were not many people staying in the hotel at the time. Brakfast was leisurely as they served till 11am and waiting staff there were friendly. You can finish your breakie having the coffee out on the terrace with great views. It was a really clean hotel - but a bit tired decor.

Hotel Didn't like - we asked for safe key for room, but they didn't say there was a charger for it before hand. Not very friendly on reception and didn't even bother to say goodbye or have a good trip on checking out!
Room got quite a lot of noise during the night from other guests coming back from the hall and also from outside as street sellers congregated outside in the middle of the night - so had quite distrubed sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gurux101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Booked this hotel as an alternative to the adjacent Costa Azul, hoping that the extra 'star' would give us better meals on our half-board, ten-day stay.

There was some disappointment when we were told that the ground floor restaurant was too small for waiter service over Christmas, and that evening meals would therefore be provided as a self-service buffet in the top floor breakfast room.
Whilst the other meals served in the restaurant were excellent and very good value, the buffet experience was poor, particularly when we discovered that guests had been sent in from a neighbouring (Armadans?) hotel, where the kitchen was closed.

But when we checked out, we were told that the mistake had been acknowledged and would not be repeated in the future (we had an excellent waiter-served dinner on New Year's Eve, which proved that it was possible!).

Our room (201) was huge and with the largest bathroom we have ever experienced. Although the marble floors caused some noise from adjacent rooms, and the Paseo Maritim was its usual noisy self, we had a truly excellent stay, and great value for money despite the strong Euro/Pound rate.

Though the furnishings are a bit jaded, we felt very at home on our ten days, due to exceptionally willing staff - and we were astonished to find that the three expensive menus provided on the 'festive' days had been included in our standard rate: so full marks for that!

Only minuses (apart from the buffet - see above) was that the air conditioning was off, and the room TV was old and with very few English channels.

Will certainly go again if the rates remain similar.

[For car hire, try Warrior Car Rentals - just along the way a few steps: we bargained hard and got a Matiz 4-door for £20 a day, unlimited mileage and including insurance!].

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank capitalstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2008

We stayed for three nights in April having spent a fabulous few days in Soller, staying in the Casa Bougainvillea.

IT was over 20 degrees when we stayed - which combined witht he glass patio doors and the direction the room faced meant that the rooms were stifling hot (interestingly the traditionally built Casa B, with traditional shutters was not). We asked if the air conditionaing could be turned on and the (grumpy) man behind reception simply said no. When we pursued this we were told that it was no hot enough for the air conditioning; a number of other guests were also moaning about this.

We asked to be moved to a room that woudl not get the sun all day and were begrudgingly given an alternative room; though the patio door could not be locked - although we mentioned this nothing was done to rectify it.

Breakfast on the first day was poor, though on following days it improved - with a good varied spread.

We will not be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights, have to say inital reactions weren't great, doesn't really look like it does in the photos!! needs a bit of a paint job!! greeted by a very unhelpful, unfriendly man on reception and have to say that most of the staff were like that!!! so that's the bad bits, location is great, having breakfast overlooking the boats was lovely, and only a short walk to the town which is great! and not much in a cab if you don't fancy the walk! The breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and lots of food!! for the price we got on last minute, I'm pleased that i booked it - but wouldn't have been happy to have paid more!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluewaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2008

We stayed at the Mirador for one week - My husband, me and our 8 month old baby. We didn't book with the hotel directly but with an airline.

Good Bits - Breakfast was perfect. Lots of varieties. Great location, facing bay of palma, 15/20 minutes to city centre/airport. Good pleasant staff. Good shower, no bath tub. Facilities include Spa pool, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and 2 shower areas - did not use these as it was really hot in that area.

Bad Bits – The hotel is not suitable for families with young children, there was no kettle in our room, no cot was provided and the bed was extremely uncomfortable and worn. Maybe it was the room we were given (double) but we actually had sore backs every morning when we woke up! There were two single beds which can’t be pushed together as they were two single shaking wooden frame beds. No one to help with luggage, noise was noticeable in our room, which was on the 4th floor, balcony door could not lock. No internet access in room. There was one in the lobby though which was free to use.

I would rate the Mirador a 2.5 star definitely not a 4 star. But it is a good place to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank BrownsugarIrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Armadams
Hotel Armadams
#48 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
408 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#30 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
AC Hotel Ciutat de Palma
AC Hotel Ciutat de Palma
#51 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
374 reviews
1 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#28 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador

Address: Paseo Maritimo 10, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $103 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mirador 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mirador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirador Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Mirador Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing