We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Good staff, Good Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Ranked #23 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Codsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good staff, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for a week during half term at the end of October 2012 and found it to be clean, well managed with a friendly staff that were always willing to help. Close to the Marina and Shopping Centre with great views across the Port to the Cathedral. Lovely view of the Castle that is also worth a visit.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are more expensive, but as we never stayed in the room we chose a room at the rear an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
On behalf of all the staff of the Catalonia Majórica Hotel and myself, I would like to thank you all these wonderful comments about the hotel in tripadvisor, on behalf of all the staff of the Catalonia Majórica Hotel and myself. This feedback stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment. This is our main purpose and we try as hard as we can in order to satisfy our guests expectations

We will be waiting for your next visit !!. Expressing again my gratitude to you, yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    464
    557
    194
    79
    38
See reviews for
219
583
44
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have stayed here a number of times when visiting Palma.
Beware very steep roads adjacent to the hotel, but access is helped by a travel lift so not bad.
Having said that great location and facillities with a good indoor pool and gym.
Restaurant very good with good friendly staff.
Will be back in March 2013.

Room Tip: See view got to be in this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandkchelmsforduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest, on behalf of all the staff of the Catalonia Majórica Hotel and myself I would like to thank you all these wonderful comments about the hotel in tripadvisor. This feedback stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment. This is our main purpose and we try as hard as we can in order to satisfy our guests expectations

We will be waiting for your next visit !!.
Expressing again my gratitude to you,
yours sincerelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed in room 311 for a week in October on half board, double room with sea view over looking the harbour and pool. The view was amazing - it was good to wake up to each morning. Could not fault the room it was clean and spacious. The hotel appeared to be renovated and of good condition - it was definately a 4 star. Would have like chill out music around the pool area and more sun loungers. Food was plentiful and of great selection, breakfast and evening meal was a buffet with a chef cooking hot food e.g meats for the evening meal . With regards to the location, the hotel is set on a hill and it was central enough for us to get to where we wanted as we enjoy walking to burn off the big meals we had. The shopping centre is only 5 minutes away and there is a frequent no.3 bus [every 10 minutes] that takes you into Palma city or Cala Major, the nearest beach resort about 7 minutes on the bus. Overall had a fantastic break from the old routine - would love to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much for all these wonderful comments about the hotel in tripadvisor, on behalf of all the staff of the Catalonia Majórica Hotel and myself. This feedback stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment. This is our main purpose and we try as hard as we can in order to satisfy our guests expectations

We will be waiting for your next visit !!. Expressing again my gratitude to you, yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

just returned from a 4 day stay there what a great place staff could not do enough for you the views are stunning although at top off hill taxis were very easy to get and not expensive would definetly stay again

Room Tip: my friends had sea view we had one at back as there was three of us not a lot of noise from front or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xisco68, Director General at Catalonia Majorica Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
On behalf of all the staff of the Catalonia Majórica Hotel and myself, I would like to thank you all these wonderful comments about the hotel in tripadvisor, on behalf of all the staff of the Catalonia Majórica Hotel and myself. This feedback stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of improvement in the service for our clients. It is a pleasure for us to know that you had such a pleasant stay as you mention in your comment. This is our main purpose and we try as hard as we can in order to satisfy our guests expectations

We will be waiting for your next visit !!. Expressing again my gratitude to you, yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This was our first trip to mallorca and we weren't sure where to stay -the location was pretty convenient with a bus stop at the bottom of the hill and the views from the pool area and bar were great - and very romantic (we were on our honeymoon) - the hotel itself isn't super swanky but it was clean and they serve a wonderful breakfast buffet - my only suggestion is to ask for a view of the water.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel because it was close to where our relatives live in Mallorca and we were there to visit them. If it was not for this, I would not have stayed here. It is not located near any sights at all. You would need to take a bus or a taxi to get anywhere. The hotel itself was not bad. For 100 Euros a night, you got a lot more than what you paid for. The rooms were very basic and the size of the Double room was adequate for a single person. My parents stayed in the same sized room and it was tight for two people. My room had a sea view, however the terrace sliding door would not lock and the terraces were all connected so someone from another room could have easily entered mine. This did not happen but the hotel should safeguard against this. The rooms have a safe but they are old school with a key. You are given the key but have to leave a 15 Euro deposit. If you return the key, you get your deposit back in theory. I returned the key but was not given back my deposit, I didn't realize this until I left so I never got my money back.
The bathroom was a good size, it was equipped with a hair dryer and typical ammenities. Internet is included in the price of the room. The breakfast buffet was extensive. There was a hotel pool. I would not stay here again but it was a good deal.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, keep in mind double rooms are small for two people, make sure your terrace door lock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had an enjoyable time at this hotel. But there are some positives and some negatives.

First of all the positives. The view from the bedroom (if you have a sea view room) is wonderful. You can look across the bay of Palma to the city and the cathedral and you are near to the port so you can watch the cruise ships and the ferries coming in and going out. You can also watch planes coming into land and after take off from the airport on the other side of the bay. The view from the bar, the restaurant and the pool is just as good.

The pool area is fine but it would be nicer if there were a few more plants around for decoration and atmosphere. There are plenty of sunbeds. The pool is a bit small but when were there it didn't seem to get overcrowded.

The bedrooms are not overly large or stylish but they are clean and adequate. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was fine with a full size bath with good shower attachment, plenty of hot water; everything worked and it was nice and clean.

Now for the not so good.... In my opinion, this hotel is not really suitable for the elderly, unfit or disabled when the funicular is not working! During the week that we were there the funicular was not working and it is a long walk up the hill to the hotel in the heat.

We found the food very bland, even though there is a good selection, and the staff do a good job clearing the tables and replenishing food. We only ate an evening meal in the restaurant once on our first night as we arrived late; but we thought everything was tasteless. We ate in the snack bar one evening and, surprisingly, the food seemed better there. Breakfast was OK but nothing special: the cooked to order counter for omelettes, pancakes and bacon & egg were the best things.

The staff in the bar were friendly and helpful. The bar prices for a bottle of wine are very reasonable. The reception staff were helpful when asked anything but, as another reviewer commented, they seemed hassled.

There should be more information in the hotel information folder in the rooms about buses, taxis and where to get them and general tourist information. Access to the hotel is quite awkward to work out when you first get there but it is OK once you get the hang of it.

When the funicular is not working (which I gather was quite often this year!) there should be instructions about how to get to the hotel. We arrived fairly late in the evening in vicinity of the hotel via the airport bus and local residents directed us to the funicular to the hotel. But when we got to funicular reception area, there was a notice simply stating that the funicular wasn't working; but there were no directions as to how to get to the hotel. So, after seemingly going around in circles (as we could see the hotel but couldn't find the road to get to it), we ended up getting a taxi.

There are some restaurants in the Porto Pi shopping centre nearby and, as this is Spain, everywhere is open late. It is a bit of a walk to some of the nicer restaurants along the waterfront - but there are plenty of buses which are regular and cheap.

To sum up, it is the location which really makes this hotel a good place to stay but it is also a negative due to the accessibility issues. In my opinion, the hotel does not merit its four star rating. But I think it offers good value for money and despite the negatives, we had a good time.

Room Tip: A sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pompeyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
1.0 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel UR Portofino
Hotel UR Portofino
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#54 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hesperia Ciutat Mallorca
Hesperia Ciutat Mallorca
#38 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Majorica Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Majorica Hotel

Property: Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Address: Calle Garita 3, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#23 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Majorica Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalonia Majorica hotel is located in a privileged area on the maritime promenade of Palma Bay and just in front of Club del Mar. It is near the Porto Pi shopping centre and the Fundacio Joan Miro. The hotel, refurbished in 2000, combines an elegant style with modern features. It has a total of 168 rooms, all of them with beautiful views, and most of them also have a terrace. In the hotel you will find 3 swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalonia Majorica Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Majorica Hotel Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing