We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, good sea view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gran Melia Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice location, good sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Stayed for one night on business / leisure trip, non sea view room. Room on a small side for a 5 star, column in the room really occupy and partition to the hanging locker and bathroom didn't help either. Hot when I came in but AC worked fine to cool. Breakfast OK, nice view to the boulevard/ marina.

Room Tip: Choose sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ismail_Tri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear guest
First of all let me thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination in Palma de Mallorca during your recent holidays and also for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
We always value our guests opinions and try to maintain a high standard of quality and service.
We welcome any type of comment so that we can always be on the look out what our clients need for a unforgettable experience here at the hotel.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back here among us.
Kind Regards
Amaia Landeta
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    819
    417
    141
    55
    29
See reviews for
215
797
67
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Wanted 5 star for a one night stay .hotel situated in a horrible area . The street outside the hotel is rundown full of closed , empty shops .
Hotel very traditional and well maintained .
Checked in and went to my room. Opened the door to heroom and the heat hit me ! The room was boikimg , the curtains were wide open with the sun beating in the room with no air conditioning on!I called receotiin as the air conditioning when I switched it on was so sk
Light I coukdnt get the room to cool down. The young man fixed it . I left the room with the air con left om and curtains closed .
AArrived back in the room a few hours later and wanted a cuo of tea . There was a kettle , sugar , cuos and sauxers but nothing else . I searched everywhere - nothing. Called reception and was tild teabs and coffee have to be paid for a€4 for two tea bags and twonsachets of coffee . I have never ever been charged for tea bags !!!!!! What a cheek!
Next day all fine until I was having a problem with the business centre printer . Pascale on receotion looks like an angel but boy is she curt ! I got put in my place then a poor man checked out and he thanked her and she ignored him - charming !
All round I wouldnt go back in€200! For one night plus €20! For an ok breakfast and she€4 for teabags topped of with the view of a dirty plastic roof .
Only reasin I would ever go back is to have a drink on the terrace /bar which has geeat views of the marina - otherwise give it a miss !

Room Tip: Don't really know
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fangio11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Dear guest
Firstly i would like to thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Gran Melia Victoria.
It is with dissapointment that i read your comments. It is always our aim to give each guest the best possible experience and service. We always strive to the utmost attention to detail.
About your comment for the charge for the teabags, we do not charge for any teabag or coffee that has to be sent to your room. The extra charge however is a service charge for our room service.
We take note of all your comments and sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future so that we can try our best to change your opinion about us.
Kind regards
Amaia Landeta
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Unfortunately I was disappointed with the front desk should be friendlier and more accommodating, also they did not mention nor gave us any extra service even though one of our guest rooms were leaking water from the ceiling and my parents had to be moved to another room. They should have offered my parents something complimentary such as drinks or meals due to the inconvenience of having to move in the middle of the night. We reserved 3 rooms with an added bed hence our total was quite high for all of the three accommodations. If you rank as a 5 star resort, Customer Service needs to be White Glove all the way through!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guest
I would like to thank you for taking the time making your comments known on Tripadvisor.
It is with disappointment that I read your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. We always strive to offer our guests the best service and make their stay with us a memorable one.
We hope to welcome you back to the Gran Melia Victoria.

Kind regards
Amaia Landeta
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Coming for a weekend Melia was perfect choice as you step out directly to promenade, room superbig, very clean, all services very prompt, great breakfast, staff very well educated, nice big pool + enough sunbeds even if crowded /hotel was fully booked/, the terrace bar/restaurant beatiful esp. in the evening! tip - book in advance so you can get lower rate as a last moment descision hotel might be full or the price will come up to 300 e / night which is way too much.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martinfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination in Palma de Mallorca during your recent holidays and also for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
We always value our guests opinions and try to maintain a high standard of quality and service. Wonderful to see that you enjoyed the view from your room
We are known for our breakfast service and quality and thank you for commenting on them.
We always welcome any type of comment so that we can always be on the look out what our clients need for a unforgettable experience here at the hotel.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back here among us.

Kind Regards,

Amaia Landeta
Redglove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

I would probably have given the Gran Melia a 4 or a 5 until our last day at which point my opinion changed. We stayed here last year and it was wonderful but things have definitely gone downhill.

On arrival we were greeted by an old guy who seemed pretty vacant, didn't say a lot, gave us an envelope and sent us off to our room. The envelope was empty and we had to come back to reception for keys - people make mistakes but nobody apologised.

We stayed in a RedLevel room which came with an unbeatable view over the port as we had last time, the aircon works really well and the room was really clean and recently party refurbished. The poolside area is great and the waiting staff are brilliant - we just found there weren't enough of them and had to complain - 40 minute waits for a club sandwich etc, things did improve by the end of our 10 day stay so I would like to think our feedback RE that was taken on board.

The wifi was patchy last time and it was even worse this time, I found it really frustrating and at times couldn't even send emails in our room. Various staff said that "they know it is rubbish". Being a networking expert I can say that it's purely interference from other wifi networks in the port, but they could spend some money on more dual-band access points to solve the issue.

My main reason for being disgruntled was our last day experience - we found out that we hadn't been told all drinks (alcoholic too) and food in the redlevel lounge were free and had been paying extortionate prices of 5.50 EUR for a diet coke by the pool as well as large meals as they were all that was on offer throughout our trip when we would have happily come upstairs for a lighter snack and free drinks. They did the right thing and credited the cost of drinks by the pool back - but the redlevel manager decided this wasn't enough and wanted to keep arguing the point that we'd been sent an e-mail telling us the benefits of being a redlevel guest and that really it was all our fault. Not only this we were then presented with a bill which we checked, and was subsequently taken off us telling us "this is the wrong bill" and replaced with another one. When asked what the difference between the two was they became argumentative and in particular the redlevel manager told my fiance to "stop giving him attitude". We actually figured out that the difference was the bill we were given initially had no sales tax on it - but again the way it was handled was totally unprofessional.

It's sad that I feel the need to express all of these points because I have been a very loyal Melia customer and really like the brand but they have let themselves down here. Unfortunately no longer 5* in my estimation.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dannn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guest
I would like to thank you for taking the time making your comments known on Tripadvisor.
It is with disappointment that I read your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. We always strive to offer our guests the best service and make their stay with us a memorable one.
We hope to welcome you back to the Gran Melia Victoria one day so that we can change your opinion about us.

Kind regards
Amaia Landeta
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma De Mallorca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

Located in a rather shabby part of Palma, 40 minutes walk from centre, but excellent bus service nearby. Gran Victoria Melia is more four star for the price. Excellent but busy pool, outstanding pool attendant, could find a sunbed at the busiest of times. Patchy Wi-Fi, and you have to pay extra for a decent view.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to offer our apologies for not meeting your expectations and assure you that we always work to satisfy all our guest’s wishes and to make them all feel welcome and well attended.

We do appreciate your comments as they can help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience.

Kind regards,


Amaia Landeta
Redglove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma De Mallorca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

having happily stayed at this fine hotel on several occasion I was dismayed to be told on asking to be moved to a higher floor to escape street noise that this is now part of the Red Level package and is a chargeable extra. We purposely book a premium priced front line room as only staying for a few days we like to treat ourselves but felt the whole thing slightly tainted by being told you actually haven't paid enough. The introduction of this ridiculous charge has introduced a feeling of elitism that is uncomfortable and un palatable considering the already premium price. I am sure that probably what is offered sits well with people who are prepared to pay even more for a stay in what is not a cheap venue but it gives the impression that if you did pay then in some way you rank above others. This was evident in the scenes around the swimming pool when they couldn't get sunbeds! Breakfast as ever first class and staff very helpful, what a shame that this silly scheme has been introduced, I don't think I will go back in a hurry.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
2 Thank Julie Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guest
I would like to thank you for taking the time making your comments known on Tripadvisor.
It is with disappointment that I read your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.
Yes, our higher up rooms with a full sea view are now Redlevel rooms. Our guests do pay extra, but they have fantastic views over the bay of Palma and also the rooms are newly renovated. Also our RedLevel rooms comes with the additional bonus to our wonderful RedLevel Lounge.
We always strive to offer our guests the best service and make their stay with us a memorable one.
We hope to welcome you back to the Gran Melia Victoria one day so that we can change your opinion about us.

Kind regards
Amaia Landeta
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
2.6 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#20 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Property: Gran Melia Victoria
Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Meliá Victoria is a 5 star hotel located in Paseo Marítimo with wonderful views of the Bay of Palma. A unique experience of traditional luxury and cutting-edge style inside this deluxe 171-room hotel surrounded by history and classic beauty. Rooms equipped with every comfort, excellent facilities and superb services. RedLevel Service in Superior Accommodation: The most superior range of personalized attendance. Admire stunning sunsets from our magnificent terrace or just relax by the pool with panoramic and exclusive views. Enjoy an authentic gourmet experience in our fine dining restaurant and the most innovative cocktails in our bars. It is surrounded by elegant restaurants and close to the most exclusive shops and boutiques and historic city centre of Palma de Mallorca. It is near the airport (15 minutes away). Located in an area noted for its cosmopolitan atmosphere and café terraces which buzz with activity both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing