We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
Ranked #15 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Weekend.”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We have visited the Island and Palma many times, usually getting over there four or five times a year. Generally these trips are over long weekends.
We decided to stay at a fifferent Hotel on this occasion so booked the Gran Melia Victoria.
Being used to staying in good Hotels we were curious to see if this one would live up to it's billing.
Well it certainly does! The Hotel is situated just out of down town Palma along the seafront, obviously opposite the huge Marina. As we had a car we parked in the area along the promenade, entering the Hotel via the 'back' door. We then had to walk through the Hotel taking in the wonderful decor and comfortable seating. Reception area is quite splendid, check in was quick and hassle free, the receptionist being efficient and friendly.
Our room was an upgraded double with the sea and Cathedral view. It was very clean and well equipped; a king size bed, large TV and desk. Plenty of hanging space. My Wife enjoyed the Clarins 'stuff' in the well appointed bathroom. I enjoyed playing with the console which worked the three sets of curtains and the lighting!
We were on a B & B board. The breakfast was good, plenty of whatever we wanted with the cooked option if required. Waiting staff were good.
All in all it was a good trip. The Hotel lived up to it's promise. Yes the drinks may be expensive but you get what you pay for, in this case the opulent surroundings and the excellent service. IMHO it is a good 5*. Obviously all reviews are subjectivehowever I have travelled extensively and stayed in many Hotels. This ranks up there with some of the best I have stayed in. Finally I have to mention the reviewer who states the sun is lost from the pool area in the late afternoon (most amusing!). That the sun sets in the west cannot be the responsibility of the Hotel!

Room Tip: Obviously a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to thank you for your kind words about Gran Melia Victoria.

It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that you made your feelings known on Tripadvisor.
Seeing that you have stayed in other hotels here on the island we are very pleased that you regard us so highly. Also wonderful to see that you wife enjoyed her Clarins products in the bathroom.
We always strive to uphold the highest standards of service and quality. By making your comments known we can be sure to maintain the high level and also know where we can improve.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards

Amaia Landeta

RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    456
    152
    66
    40
See reviews for
234
921
77
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed so much our stay at this hotel; beautiful reception rooms and great cocktail bar; nice and relaxing indoor swimming pool. Nice restaurants just nearby along the coast and just a lovely walk away from the aragonese castle. The staff is extremely polite and professional; room service is great. Wish to come back soon again!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephenkase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest
First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria in Palma de Mallorca while celebrating this very special anniversary, and also for taking the time to make your comments known here in Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay here with us. It is always our goal to make our guests feel comfortable among us and that they receive the best service possible. Thank you once again for your very kind words.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Kind Regards

Amaia Landeta
RedGlove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The staff is was friendly and I was offered an upgrade on a high floor. That was nice to open the curtains in the morning with a push of a button. And the view out the balcony doors was the harbor and the uncountable sailing boats.

Room Tip: Rooms with harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor member,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.

We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you on your next visit to Mallorca.

Kindest regards,


Amaia Landeta
Redglove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma De Mallorca
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Lovely hoel and can reccommend the red level but it is a bit pricey. Try and get a room away from the night club next door as it makes it very noisy untill 5 in the morning. Staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. Nice quiet hotel with no loud people, very few kids and just a piano playin in the evening. Bliss!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
5 Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,

Amaia Landeta
Redglove Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed for three nights over the New Year. We loved the Gran Melia Victoria. We checked in early and were upgraded to a room with a view overlooking the port. We had a decent sized balcony too. The staff, without exception, were fantastic. They were friendly, courteous, helpful and interested in us as individuals. The breakfasts were good. We made use of the indoor pool although the weather was almost good enough to swim outside. Although expensive, the Gala dinner on New Year's Eve was most enjoyable with plenty of cava, lovely canapés and a good four course meal. Presents were given to everyone just before midnight. The hotel was, we felt reminiscent of the 1930s, with a grandeur and splendour about it. It is a bit of a walk into the city centre (about 20 minutes to the cathedral) but the walk along the coast is pleasant and, if needed, taxis are plentiful and reasonably priced (at least compared to the UK!). There are a number of good local restaurants for lunch nearby. We would be happy to return if we need to stay in Palma again.

Room Tip: A sea view room with balcony is the best although more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Dear guest

I would like to thank you for your kind words about the Gran Melia Victoria. We are pleased to see that you had a nice stay with us.
We always strive to deliver quality service with a smile and make our guests feel welcome.

Also wonderful to see that you were here to bring in the new year with us and that you enjoyed the food and festivities. Every year we try to make it a very special occasion for our guests, seeing that they are not with their loved ones. We would like them to feel that at Gran Melia Victoria they are at their home away from home.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the near future and that you can enjoy your stay and also make the most of your time in wonderful Palma de Mallorca.
Kind regards,

Amaia Landeta
Redglove Service Manageer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

There is much to really like about this hotel and little to complain about. We had few expectations when booking this for a week just after Christmas but we were pleasantly surprised by our experience.

The entrance to the hotel off an otherwise slightly down-market street immediately told you that this was special. A grand forecourt behind and arched colonnade sets it apart from all around it The other side has a more pleasing aspect as it overlooks Palma Marina/Harbour and look across this to Palma Cathedral.

The reception was efficient and helpful. The receptionist became known to us as "The Font Of All Knowledge" and we were to tap that knowledge frequently.

Our rooms on the 6th floor were all adjacent which was helpful. The rooms were large. Very large! It started with an entrance foyer then on to the large bedroom. This easily accommodated the large kingsized bed. Each side of the bed had a bank of controls that even covered the light in the en-suite bathroom. There were also helpful night lights and the curtains were also opened and closed from this bedside panel.

The bedroom also had a 37" flatscreen TV with many international channels (English/US, French, German, Russian, Arabic, Itailan and of course Spanish.) There were also many radio stations. Below this was a minibar. To one side was a desk above which was a wall mounted CD/radio player that looked very stylish. On the desk was a welcome gift of some hand made chocolates and a welcoming note in perfect English. There was a wardrobe containing a safe with plenty of hanging room and some shelves but no drawers. There was an armchair with foot rest and a valet for hanging my jacket

Off the entrance lobby was the en-suite bathroom with a good sized single bath with shower over and a plain glass shower screen. The loo was in the same room with a bidet and a single sink. All the bathroom hardware was quality as were all the vast array of toiletries. There were towelling robes and slippers supplied and the towels were large and excellent.

Phones abounded: two in the main bedroom and one in the bathroom. Do Not Disturb could be indicated from the control panel beside the bed.

The air-con was excellent and almost silent.

Also supplied were items such as sowing kits, shoe buffers and shoe horn.

The view we had was of Bellver Castle. Noise intrusion was minimal from other rooms but slightly more from the outside but rarely a major issue.

The lifts to our floor were the only cause for concern. One could never take any more than 4 people and though it claimed to be able to cope with 450 kg it complained and alarmed once this exceeded 350 kg. The other on one occasion took us on an unplanned trip up and down a few times never stopping at a floor or allowing our exit, before finally settling at the lobby. It did not fill us with a great sense of confidence especially it claimed to have been serviced as little as 3 months ago.

The public areas of the hotel are immaculately maintained, with large comfortable chairs. There is a small indoor pool and a small gym beside the outdoor pool. A sauna is also to be found by the indoor pool. A pianist was present to entertain most evenings. Bar prices were a little higher than in surrounding hostelries.

The surrounding hostelries is also a good reason for choosing this hotel. We ate at 6 places within a 10 minute walk all of which I can commend.

Just before we left there was once again a little gift of Petit Fours left in our rooms to thank us for our custom. A really nice touch!

Overall this hotel matches up to its billing as a 5 star hotel.

For those wanting to save money on taxis, there is a frequent bus service (line 1) that goes from the esplanade at the rear of the hotel to the airport, and buses 3 and 46 take you into town and onto the train/bus interchange at the north end of the town centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria during your recent holidays here in Palma de Mallorca, and also for taking the time to make your comments known here in Tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay here with us and that you found our staff to be welcoming and friendly. It is always our goal to make our guests feel comfortable among us and that they receive the best service possible.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future and the will be waiting!

Bes regards,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The reviews for this hotel are very good and it lived up to those reviews.

Lovely bedroom, mine was to the front of the hotel as I did not pay the extra for a view, but saw the views from other friends rooms. The bed is very comfortable. The towels in the bathroom giant size with Clinique toiletries. The air-conditioning could not bring the temperature down cool enough to sleep, but you could open the window, and other than new year's eve around 3/4am it was very quiet

The reception desk was very helpful. the only down side was when we came to pay our bill - we had a 20 Euro Melia daily voucher to spend, and we eventually got this off our bills,but it took about 30 mins to sort it out. The bar staff are also very attentive. Breakfast is excellent, including providing expresso coffee when asked.

I swam in the indoor swimming pool, which was lovely. It has lounge chairs, plenty of towels, water and a kettle to make tea etc. The outside terrace which we used on the last two days, as it was warm enough to sit outside, has big squashy chairs and sofas, and you get a great view of the marina.

December is a great time to visit Palma as it is not too busy and the weather is temperate

Room Tip: My room was on the second floor overlooking the main entrance. Not much a view but very quiet except...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surrey 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amaia l, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Mr. / Mrs.…….

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Gran Meliá Victoria.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#26 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,886 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
790 reviews
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
#17 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
605 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,483 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#25 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Property: Gran Melia Victoria
Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Meliá Victoria is a 5 star hotel located in Paseo Marítimo with wonderful views of the Bay of Palma. A unique experience of traditional luxury and cutting-edge style inside this deluxe 171-room hotel surrounded by history and classic beauty. Rooms equipped with every comfort, excellent facilities and superb services. RedLevel Service in Superior Accommodation: The most superior range of personalized attendance. Admire stunning sunsets from our magnificent terrace or just relax by the pool with panoramic and exclusive views. Enjoy an authentic gourmet experience in our fine dining restaurant and the most innovative cocktails in our bars. It is surrounded by elegant restaurants and close to the most exclusive shops and boutiques and historic city centre of Palma de Mallorca. It is near the airport (15 minutes away). Located in an area noted for its cosmopolitan atmosphere and café terraces which buzz with activity both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing