We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stressful time but 1st class support”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
Ranked #13 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is not the normal kind of review that you would want to write about a hotel but this is an exception.
My wife and I arrived at the Gran Melia Vitoria in early June for a 4 night break. We were shown to our room, which was of a good size with a comfortable bed, a well equipped bathroom and a small balcony. On our first night we used the hotel's a la carte restaurant and the food, service and wine were excellent. The evening was topped off with a cocktail on the terrace over looking Palma harbour and the Cathedral.
Unfortunately, at 06:30am the following morning my wife fell ill with a serious Kidney problem and was rushed into the Clinica Juaneda hospital in Palma. From the moment the alarm was raised with the hotel, the staff were amazing. A duty manager called "Daniel" introduced himself to me and stated that if there was anything I needed support with, they would provide it and they did just that.
My wife's condition worsened initially and we had no way of knowing when we would be returning to the UK. Daniel ensured that our room was made available to me for how ever long I needed it while my wife was receiving treatment in hospital. As it turned out our 4 day break turned into a nightmare two weeks but the support I received from the hotel was exemplary. All of the hotel staff were made aware of our situation and a breakfast was prepared everyday in a small box for me to take to my wife in hospital and sometime even an evening meal, if I requested it, as the food in the hospital was pretty much like it is in UK hospitals....
I didn't actually manage to fully enjoy the amenities of the hotel but those that I did (Breakfast, dinner, laundry and sometimes the bar) were of a high standard. The room was clean and serviced regularly but it was the over whelming support that I received from Daniel and his team that turned what could have been a disaster into something I was able to manage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear customer, Mr. Curtis:

Firstly we wish that your wife has recovered completely and please send her our greetings on behalf of all employees of the hotel.
It has been a great pleasure to receive your wonderful review on Trip Advisor and the devoted beautiful words, with so much affection, you have written towards us.

It was a real pleasure to serve you and dedicate all our efforts towards the situation, putting us at your skin, and though you could not enjoy your holidays, at least make you feel like at home under this difficult circumstances.

Your comments give us more courage to continue working with passion.

Looking forward to seeing you again in the future and wishing you to enjoy a time as you deserve, we send warm greetings.


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,750)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed about a week at the hotel and choose it for its location and services offered. Health club is one of the key things for me when traveling. I do want to start my day with some sports here it is not too motivating. The fitness club is located next to the pool and has only, cross trainer, trade mill and a third one with some weights. Hotel rooms, corridors and public spaces start to look and feel bit old. However then we come to the positive things, service and attention of personal is absolutely great. Seldom you do find similar service attitude in European hotels. Thanks of this to the team of the hotel.

Room Tip: It is worth to pay some extra in order to get sea view. Terraces are nice and you have excellent vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juhaybelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all i would like to thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination here in Palma de Mallorca and also for posting your comments here on Tripadvisor.
I am sorry that you feel dissapointed in your experience here with us. We always strive to deliver quality service. We would also Iike to thank you for your positive comments about our service and staff and we take note of all your suggestions.
We always welcome any type of comment so that we can always be on the look out what our clients need for a unforgettable experience here at the hotel. We highly value the input of our guests.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back here among us.
Kind Regards

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel is very well furnished, with excellent staff ,comfortable bedrooms and lounges. The one disadvantage is its proximity to Tito's nightclub. One side of the hotel faces onto Tito's and therefore the noise and rowdy behaviour is very apparent. To a lesser extent this also applies to other rooms with the bass levels audible in the background between 23.00 and 06.00. Why sound proofing has not been enforced on the nightclub by local government it appears to be a mystery and I
would suspect affects the star ratings for the hotel,which is a great pity as it is an excellent operation with helpful staff. One
Restuarant I would recommend is the Chinese buffet libre , just along the Joan Miro avenue towards the centre,the food is excellent and the wine very reasonable, also the value
Compared to any other restuarant is more than remarkable.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination here in Palma de Mallorca during your recent holidays and also for taking the time to post your comments here on Tripadvisor.
We always value our guests opinions and try to maintain a high standard of quality and service.
It is unfortunate that you did not feel quite comfortable here with us with regards to the noise.
Whenever we can, we try to look for alternative rooms in the hotel if our guests wishes to change or upgrade from the room that they are staying in. We are always willing to listen and look for solutions if you make your comments known to us while you are here in the hotel.
We hope you would reconsider coming back to Gran Melia Victoria in the near future so that we may have the chance to change your opinion about the hotel.

Kind regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful location overlooking the Palma harbour. Hotel very well looked after. However as we have a 5 year old 9pm would be the latest we would turn in and they may not turn up until 10.30pm
On one occasion at 10pm having gone to bed I found a maid in our room in the dark asking if I would like a chocolate. I did discuss with the manager and they were reviewing the situation.
Having dressed for dinner we tried to go on the terrace only to be told it was booked for a private function for Martini they had live music just under our room and having put up with the noise until 10pm I phoned down to be told it would go on until 1am and we were the hotel guests.
Would not recommend for children under 12

They tried hard but do need to review a few things before they can claim to be 5 star

Room Tip: If you do go the harbour view is wonderful as long as a party is not going on below your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your comments. We take good note of them, and use them as valuable feedback, to improve day by day.
We are sad to hear that your experience with us was not as satisfactory as you expected.
Do not have a doubt, that Guest Satisfaction is our main target, and we are sorry that we have not achieved this with you.

We can only promise the most of our effort and attention if you were to put your trust in us again, and hopefully that time, you can enjoy fully of our facilities and staff.

Best Regards,



Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We have been coming to the Melia Victoria for several years and have always had the best of times at the hotel
This is primarily due to the staff who are attentive ,friendly and offer faultless service effortlessly.
The location of the hotel is brilliant , 20 minutes walk into the centre of Palma with great views over the bay.
Value for money ,friendly and fun that's why we keep on coming back
A real recommend

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bryan i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all let me thank you for choosing Gran Melia Victoria as your destination once again here in Palma de Mallorca during your recent holidays and also for making your comments known here on Tripadvisor.

We are thoroughly pleased with your kind words and would like to thank you for taking the time making your positive feedback known. We always try to upkeep our high standard of service and friendliness.

It is our aim to make our guests feel like here with us it could be there home away from home and it is simply our pleasure to attend them with a smile.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future and always welcome any type of suggestions to make our service even better.

Kind regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights from 14.07.13 and I could not fault this hotel and the excellent staff.

The location is a major plus, overlooking the marina and a brisk walk or taxi ride into the town centre. The views from the terrace and our room were superb.

Unlike other reviews I found the breakfast a good standard and plenty of choice, a glass of cava to start the day was very pleasant. There is always a chef to cook eggs to order and the quality never varied. I did eat in the hotel twice, using the bar/lunch menu, although a limited choice - again the food was very good.

The staff were consistently friendly and helpful, particularly when recommending restaurants and booking them for my party.

Some reviewers have criticised the rooms, but I found them more than adequate and the datedness was all part of the charm. All the furnishings were in great condition and the air conditioning was lovely.

On the last day we received a complimentary bottle of cava for a birthday, which was a nice touch.

I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book pool or sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunn73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Gran Meliá Victoria.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had arranged to be met at the airport by a hotel car and driver (an unnecessary extravagance, there were plenty of taxis). The driver was smart, helpful, friendly and spoke excellent English. And all the staff who we met from then on were equally good, from reception to housekeeping, from pool attendants to table servers.
The property itself is well located if you want to be in Palma itself, as we did. The view over the harbour is very pleasant, and the breeze off the sea onto our terrace was welcome. Some areas were in need of updating, especially round the pool, but our room furnishing and decor was excellent.
The hotel is only just 5star, but the quality of the staff made it easy to overlook any minor imperfections.
The only small blemish was that the couple of times we had dinner at the hotel the food was mediocre, though some guests at the next table to us on half board seemed happy enough.

We enjoyed our stay and will certainly return to the Victoria next time we go to Palma.

Room Tip: Choose a front room with balcony on one of the higher floors to get the most from the view and any s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Gran Meliá Victoria.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,991 reviews
0.2 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
964 reviews
0.7 mi away
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
#19 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#27 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $140 - $318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Meliá Victoria is a 5 star hotel located in Paseo Marítimo with wonderful views of the Bay of Palma. A unique experience of traditional luxury and cutting-edge style inside this deluxe 171-room hotel surrounded by history and classic beauty. Rooms equipped with every comfort, excellent facilities and superb services. RedLevel Service in Superior Accommodation: The most superior range of personalized attendance. Admire stunning sunsets from our magnificent terrace or just relax by the pool with panoramic and exclusive views. Enjoy an authentic gourmet experience in our fine dining restaurant and the most innovative cocktails in our bars. It is surrounded by elegant restaurants and close to the most exclusive shops and boutiques and historic city centre of Palma de Mallorca. It is near the airport (15 minutes away). Located in an area noted for its cosmopolitan atmosphere and café terraces which buzz with activity both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing