We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, real 5 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Melia Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Melia Victoria to your Saves list
Gran Melia Victoria
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL OFFER
Ranked #16 of 70 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent service, real 5 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The service was excellent, staff continually addressing me by name. We went for my wife's birthday and the cleaning staff must have noticed the birthday card in the room as the hotel had left a bottle of sparkling wine on ice for us when we returned to the hotel. We upgraded our room which was worth every euro. We had booked half board and the dinner excellent, particularly the lobster, prawn and squid risotto as a starter. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The number 1 bus from and to the airport stops outside the hotel, 5 euros each way for a couple. Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear client,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had booked for weeken into the Palas Atenea. However, they decided to close for our period. The Booking Agent offerd us a full cancellationor transfer to theVictoria for the same price. Well, ***** for the price of **** was simply too good to miss. Superb rooms, fabulous facilities and the Service was every inch ***** I will certainly return, even if I have to pay Full Price !!!

Room Tip: We had a Sea View Room and overlooked the Marina opposite and the Cathedral in the distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerDean2929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Gran Meliá Victoria.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

just returned from a lovely week in palma first time in majorca and picked this hotel by chance staff were a fantastic group not one member could be faulted all week stayed in premier front view room views amazing room large and always well maintained . the only downside was that air conditioning had gone over to heating as the hotel classes it as winter but daytime temp was 70c so slept with balcony door open and noise from nearby disco was annoying but overhaul a relaxing pleasant week would come back again and firmly recommend

Room Tip: premier front sea view of bay and cathederal worth extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham123489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not too distant future.

Kind regards,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was the most expensive hotel of our 2 weeks in Spain and turned out being the worst service. The arrival started well at the reception and the upgrade room was as requested. I was dissapointed to see the spa and indoor pool closed. Being in October, most bars were closed (Tito is right beside). On our first night, the staff never cleaned the room and we had to complain to get it serviced. We had the tag all day on the door asking for cleaning. They came and changed the towels and asked if that was ok (sheets, vacuum, bathroom anyone?). The second night was even worse, we came back to our room, UNLOCKED. No staff in sight and they left the room door opened all day after cleaning it. Anyone could have robbed us, and its a miracle it didnt happen. I complained numerous time about this unacceptable careless service.

Room Tip: Avoid until they fix their cleaning staff problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ChuckGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. At Gran Meliá Victoria, we continuously strive to meet your needs and desires; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is one of the hotels that tour guides specifically point out along the way since it is 1 of only about 2 4 or 5 star hotels on the Island supposedly. We stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of October and were glad that we rented a car at the last minute when we arrived. While the hotel is VERY nice with elegant furnishings, it is not in the greatest area. Yes, it does sit at the port looking at the water, but if there were pictures out the other side of the hotel, you probably wouldn't book it. Much of the street that the hotel is located (Avenida Joan Miro) has fallen terribly into the recession of Spain. There are many vacancies, and strip clubs are a many as you walk on that side of the hotel.
The staff of the hotel is VERY helpful, especially the one lady that worked on the morning we arrived. She gave us WONDERFUL suggestions from where to eat to where to park. (Even though their website says parking is free, it is not! Park in the spots at the port for free and there are stairs to a key card entrance that takes you up to the pool situated next to the gourmet ice cream stand that never seems to close!).
The best suggestion I found on the web was to sign up for their frequent stay card, called "mas." With this card you get 2 for 1 breakfast every morning in the dining room overlooking the water! I think it usually costs something like 32 euros each without the card, and it is one of the BEST breakfasts you'll ever have (pastries, fresh made eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, coffee, OJ, and even champagne for mimosas!).
Overall, it was a wonderful place to stay, but I would opt to stay in one of the small towns on the Northwest side of the island(like Deia or Soller) if I go back, purely because of the shady-ness of the other side of the hotel.

Room Tip: I'm not sure which rooms would be the best, but I know that I would have been very upset if I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbletzacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Gran Meliá Victoria.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for one weekend & arrived not knowing what to expect as we were just passing through Palma & decided to stay for the weekend. What can I say other than fabulous. We had a magnificent room over looking the bay. The staff were excellent as was the food & service. The only complaint we has was there was a night club to the right of the hotel in the adjoining hotel & boy was it loud & even when the music stopped we had to endure the clients leaving and they were almost as noisy as the music!
We didnt let it spoil our stay but make sure to ask for a room away from the hotel to the right.
The pool are was lovely, the restaurant was excellent & the location is superb.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,


Thank you very much for your encouraging comments which are greatly appreciated by our entire Team. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend escape and had a restful time in our facilities. In terms of the noise from the nearby disco, we are sorry that you experienced this situation and we can assure you that we are doing our best to reduce these types of incidences.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room we were allocated was fine: it had all the facilities I would expect but the third of the room near the window was difficult to access due to a 24 inch square pillar in the middle of the room: honestly that is just bad architects nothing to do with the hotel staff. The decor was okay but the wallpaper was beginning to lift on the edges in Room 152.

A room upgrade was pushed but that was a city view (and you will see why I didnt take that later); This hotel address is in the 'old tourist' part of town (from the 70's) which now houses the night club district - and to a certain extent the areas immediatelty outside the hotel reflects that. We weren't troubled by any noise until the bins were emptied in the morning! Even though we were there over the halloween evening. The next nearest business to the 'front' door of the hotel is a thaimassage parlour. I didn't check out the range of services. Was this the city view they were offering?

The ayuntamiento make sure that the pavements at the seafront side are cleaned early enough for most people not to notice. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and even has a smell of wealth.


As someone else said the staff are ever helpful - and the gin selection in the bar is pretty good (and I don't drink gin!) - we never went for breakfast but at 29Euro pp so now they offer a 2 for 1 deal but we still preferred to get out. Even on the quayside breakfast was great....

The 'back' door of the hotel drops you right on the Paseo Marítimo. Some taxi drivers now drop visitors off at the back door but reception is not well signed from there.

All in all we liked it, a lot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your comments which are greatly appreciated.
We would like to inform you that we offer a great variety of rooms and if you didn’t find yourself comfortable in the one you occupied during the recent visit, we would gladly assist you while choosing a more suitable for you during your next visit.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stayed with us and that you were satisfied with the service provided. The location of Gran Meliá Victoria is a privileged one because of its position at the front line of the sea and its proximity to the old part of the city. Nevertheless, the surroundings on the other side of the hotel are external factors that we cannot change.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, so you can enjoy and experience all the positive parts of our Hotel and Mallorca itself.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
2.6 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#6 of 70 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 70 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#36 of 70 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 stars 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 70 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 stars 1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#37 of 70 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 stars 1,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tryp Bosque
Tryp Bosque
#41 of 70 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing