We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Melia Victoria
Nearby Hotels
Hotel UR Portofino(Palma de Mallorca)
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $223/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Boutique Hotel Can Cera(Palma de Mallorca)
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Melia Palma Marina(Palma de Mallorca)
$322
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Palma Bellver Managed By Melia(Palma de Mallorca)
$221
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa(Palma de Mallorca)
$201
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Boutique Hotel Calatrava(Palma de Mallorca)
$352
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $429/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palma Suites(Palma de Mallorca)
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
HM Jaime III(Palma de Mallorca)
$172
$161
Official website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Posada Terra Santa(Palma de Mallorca)
$301
$291
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$298
$285
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,859)
Filter reviews
1,859 results
Traveler rating
1,059
510
168
80
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,059
510
168
80
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred levelclarins toiletriesdry barpool areastar hotelold townlovely hotelside sea viewcathedral viewturn down servicean upgradebar pricespremium roombusy roadpaseo maritimopalma centrelong weekend
Filter
Updating list...
1,144 - 1,149 of 1,859 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This was the most expensive hotel of our 2 weeks in Spain and turned out being the worst service. The arrival started well at the reception and the upgrade room was as requested. I was dissapointed to see the spa and indoor pool closed. Being in October, most bars were closed (Tito is right beside). On our first night, the staff never cleaned the room and we had to complain to get it serviced. We had the tag all day on the door asking for cleaning. They came and changed the towels and asked if that was ok (sheets, vacuum, bathroom anyone?). The second night was even worse, we came back to our room, UNLOCKED. No staff in sight and they left the room door opened all day after cleaning it. Anyone could have robbed us, and its a miracle it didnt happen. I complained numerous time about this unacceptable careless service.

Room Tip: Avoid until they fix their cleaning staff problem.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ChuckGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. At Gran Meliá Victoria, we continuously strive to meet your needs and desires; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is one of the hotels that tour guides specifically point out along the way since it is 1 of only about 2 4 or 5 star hotels on the Island supposedly. We stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of October and were glad that we rented a car at the last minute when we arrived. While the hotel is VERY nice with elegant furnishings, it is not in the greatest area. Yes, it does sit at the port looking at the water, but if there were pictures out the other side of the hotel, you probably wouldn't book it. Much of the street that the hotel is located (Avenida Joan Miro) has fallen terribly into the recession of Spain. There are many vacancies, and strip clubs are a many as you walk on that side of the hotel.
The staff of the hotel is VERY helpful, especially the one lady that worked on the morning we arrived. She gave us WONDERFUL suggestions from where to eat to where to park. (Even though their website says parking is free, it is not! Park in the spots at the port for free and there are stairs to a key card entrance that takes you up to the pool situated next to the gourmet ice cream stand that never seems to close!).
The best suggestion I found on the web was to sign up for their frequent stay card, called "mas." With this card you get 2 for 1 breakfast every morning in the dining room overlooking the water! I think it usually costs something like 32 euros each without the card, and it is one of the BEST breakfasts you'll ever have (pastries, fresh made eggs, breakfast meats, potatoes, coffee, OJ, and even champagne for mimosas!).
Overall, it was a wonderful place to stay, but I would opt to stay in one of the small towns on the Northwest side of the island(like Deia or Soller) if I go back, purely because of the shady-ness of the other side of the hotel.

Room Tip: I'm not sure which rooms would be the best, but I know that I would have been very upset if I had a view of Avenida Joan Miro, so avoid the rooms that do not have at least a partial ocean view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbletzacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear client,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at your second home, the Gran Meliá Victoria.


We are expecting you…

Sincerely,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for one weekend & arrived not knowing what to expect as we were just passing through Palma & decided to stay for the weekend. What can I say other than fabulous. We had a magnificent room over looking the bay. The staff were excellent as was the food & service. The only complaint we has was there was a night club to the right of the hotel in the adjoining hotel & boy was it loud & even when the music stopped we had to endure the clients leaving and they were almost as noisy as the music!
We didnt let it spoil our stay but make sure to ask for a room away from the hotel to the right.
The pool are was lovely, the restaurant was excellent & the location is superb.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,


Thank you very much for your encouraging comments which are greatly appreciated by our entire Team. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your weekend escape and had a restful time in our facilities. In terms of the noise from the nearby disco, we are sorry that you experienced this situation and we can assure you that we are doing our best to reduce these types of incidences.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room we were allocated was fine: it had all the facilities I would expect but the third of the room near the window was difficult to access due to a 24 inch square pillar in the middle of the room: honestly that is just bad architects nothing to do with the hotel staff. The decor was okay but the wallpaper was beginning to lift on the edges in Room 152.

A room upgrade was pushed but that was a city view (and you will see why I didnt take that later); This hotel address is in the 'old tourist' part of town (from the 70's) which now houses the night club district - and to a certain extent the areas immediatelty outside the hotel reflects that. We weren't troubled by any noise until the bins were emptied in the morning! Even though we were there over the halloween evening. The next nearest business to the 'front' door of the hotel is a thaimassage parlour. I didn't check out the range of services. Was this the city view they were offering?

The ayuntamiento make sure that the pavements at the seafront side are cleaned early enough for most people not to notice. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and even has a smell of wealth.


As someone else said the staff are ever helpful - and the gin selection in the bar is pretty good (and I don't drink gin!) - we never went for breakfast but at 29Euro pp so now they offer a 2 for 1 deal but we still preferred to get out. Even on the quayside breakfast was great....

The 'back' door of the hotel drops you right on the Paseo Marítimo. Some taxi drivers now drop visitors off at the back door but reception is not well signed from there.

All in all we liked it, a lot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor Member,

Thank you very much for your comments which are greatly appreciated.
We would like to inform you that we offer a great variety of rooms and if you didn’t find yourself comfortable in the one you occupied during the recent visit, we would gladly assist you while choosing a more suitable for you during your next visit.

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stayed with us and that you were satisfied with the service provided. The location of Gran Meliá Victoria is a privileged one because of its position at the front line of the sea and its proximity to the old part of the city. Nevertheless, the surroundings on the other side of the hotel are external factors that we cannot change.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, so you can enjoy and experience all the positive parts of our Hotel and Mallorca itself.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is a great one with everything you would expect from the brand and the five star status. The staff have been extremely helpful, always willing to offer assistance, very polite and cheerful. We were very pleased with the way they treated us and it is credit to all of them. Nothing was too small or too much for them.
The food was exquisite and both dinner and breakfast were extremely enjoyable. The service was impeccable too. If you book without breakfast, there are two things you need to bear in mind. It costs 29 Euros per person, which is quite expensive, but if you join the MAS loyalty card, available from the reception, then you get 50% for breakfast, 10% off your dinner bill and you can check out at 2pm instead of 12 noon.
The room was excellent. It is worth going for a room facing the marina and the cathedral. The views are stunning and you get all the sun. The rooms themselves are great and beautifully decorated. The balcony is small but it’s really all you need.
The location is good too. The old city is about 20-25 minutes walk on the promenade, which is a real pleasure. There are restaurants, tapas bars and everything else you would need within walking distance. The pool and deck are spotless and the amount of cleaning within the hotel was amazing. The bars and the veranda are also beautiful and they serve tapas if you fancy a snack.
I would not agree with the comments made by another fellow traveller below who said that all the channels are in Spanish. All the digital channels are in Spanish but if you press the channel button down from channel 1, you get all the analogue channels, 33 in total, and there are plenty English channels to keep you entertained.
There are however some minor issues you need to be aware, although they shouldn’t diminish the value and quality this hotel offers. There is no alarm in the room, no coffee and tea facilities, no iron, the sound insulation is almost non-existent so you need to be very quiet and tolerant with others around you, the area at the front of the hotel (the back is towards the marina) is pretty run down so avoid it if you can, there is a lot of noise in the night from night clubs and if you book off season, like end of October, the rooms only have air con and you may find the rooms being a bit cold. There isn’t much you can do other than use the blanket provided and wrap up!
All in all, a fantastic experience, a highly recommended hotel and a big thank you to all staff for making it a great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Plmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Tripadvisor member,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.

We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you on your next visit to Mallorca.

Kindest regards,


Amaia Landeta
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews