We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended...not a 5* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gran Melia Victoria
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not recommended...not a 5* hotel”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel at all. A friend and I have just spent four days staying there.
Issues as follows:
- terrible smell in the lobby area (incense/ joss sticks) which is sickly. We got in and out of the lobby as quickly as possible and while we would like to have had a drink in the bar, we didn't because of this.
- We asked for ice to be delivered to our room and they charged €4.50 for this.
- The pool area is ok but half of it is covered by a canapy which means that sunbeds in the sun are limited. The pool attendant is not at all flexible about moving beds around.
- We had lunch by the pool the first day and it was awful. I had prawn caesar salad and the prawns had not been cleaned.

Location-wise, the hotel is a good 30 min walk from the centre so not the most convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorraine30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. We take note of your impressions and opinions and apologise for the inconveniences you have experienced. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to improve our services and prevent any future dissatisfaction of our Guests.
We value all your constructive comments since they help us to improve and know our Guests expectation.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Gran Meliá Victoria.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    428
    146
    57
    34
See reviews for
220
845
70
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed a couple of nights to explore Palma. The main attractions are either a short taxi ride or a 20 minute walk - longer at hotter times. Hotel enjoys a great position overlooking the marina. Food and service all excellent. Check in was a bit slow and bureaucratic but very friendly and well meaning. We were offered an upgrade to a suite for a good price so the room was amazing. Pool is well maintained. The hotel can be a bit noisy with traffic and late night party goers so rooms in the lower floors may be more affected. That said, we were never distrubed for long! When we visited not all the restaurants were open. e ate in the hotel one evening and although it was a buffet, the quality was very good. Breakfast was also of a high standard. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Despite the risk of more noise and the higher cost, get a room at the front as the views are awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarperzMad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for having so carefully written about your recent stay at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and Palma de Mallorca itself. We are grateful for the encouraging comments about our Staff.
Please rest assured that we have passed on your positive feedback to the various Departments.
We assure you in advance of our utmost care and attention with hope to give you our warmest welcome in the near future.
We remain at your entire disposal.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend for our anniversary. We'd communicated with the Hotel prior to arriving as we wanted to upgrade, the reception staff were excellent, very helpful and we joined a loyalty Melia club which allowed a good upgrade option.

Lovely hotel, staff very very good, great location and really nice pool area

Room Tip: Its worth joining the loyalty club to upgrade. You still pay extra but the rooms facing the front/ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TINOF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff. Your positive feedback makes our work worthwhile.
We are delighted to know that you have joined our MaS Loyalty Programme and we hope it will not be long till you return to the Gran Meliá Victoria to enjoy its benefits.

Thank you for sharing your anniversary with us.
Warm greeting from Palma de Mallorca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tønsberg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We´ve just returned from our vacation in beautiful Mallorca. This was our first trip to Palma and we picked out the hotel by chance. And what a great choice! From the minute we arrived we felt the warm presence of excellent service - completely surrounded by exquisite staff and one of the most beautiful places we have ever been. We upgraded our room to premium, which included a balcony and great view. AC and excellent cleaning, and we sure enjoyed the nice touch with chocolate every evening :-) We were a bit worried about the distance to the beach, but instead we found the pool area to our liking - not to mention the staff in the Aquarium bar and the always present and cheerful "soccorista". We had breakfast every day - it had a large selection of fresh fruit and all kind of hot and cold dishes, freshly prepared. We also had lunch in the pool area - nice choice in the shade after some hours in the very hot sun! Clean restrooms all over the place. All in all, this hotes is mostly recommended. To use and old quote: We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HegeTonsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Gran Meliá Victoria for your vacation, as well for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and you may rest assured that their comments have been forwarded to the various Departments of the Hotel and the staff, as it is due to their effort and dedication that we are able to accomplish our goal - the total satisfaction of our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Decided to choose this hotel due to its location within Palma, it's only about 20 mins in a taxi from the airport. On arrival the staff were very attentive and as we arrived before the check in time, we were shown our room. We choose a sea view with also a view of the cathedral.

Room - excellent we stayed in room 422, which is very central to the hotel, the bed was great, had a good nights sleep, Clarins toiletries were provided. 

Pool was. Nice for the week we were there, it wasn't cold and it cooled you down nicely after sunbathing. I must say that there were other guests which seemed to hoard beds and at times it was difficult to get the sun all day. As the pool is right behind the main road, we did get some noise from this, but you do expect this for a city centre hotel.

Breakfast was ok nothing too special and not the best selection, I have been to less rated hotels and had a better experience with what was on offer.

Drinks - I like a gin and tonic, but you need to be very careful here, round the pool it was €11 and in the lobby bar it was €12.50. This was the only down side regarding the hotel. Drinks too expensive and because of that the hotel lobby was empty at night. It could have been cheaper and I guess a lot more residents would have drank in the bar instead of going outside to the local bars, where a drink outside was between €6 and €7.50.

I like Mallorca as it is only a short journey from the uk and it always proves a hit with me.

Would I stay at this hotel again, although I did enjoy it, it was expensive and I would have preferred this standard of hotel to be cheaper, so I would say not. 

I would definitely return to Mallorca but not Palma again.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Fendifinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at Gran Meliá Victoria. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our Premium Accommodation.

We are also grateful for the constructive comments and take note. Your opinion is highly valuable and helps us improve our services.

We hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

.Our family ended up staying at the Gran Melia Victoria but default....our flight was delayed and the airline arranged for us to stay here.

After a stressful few hours at the airport, and finding our evening flight was delayed till the next day, we arrived with two tired and hungry children. We checked and were sent straight to the restaurant where a meal had been organised. The food and service we received at such a late hour was exceptional.

We found the bedrooms to be excellent, spacious and comfortable, beautifully decorated and it was fantastic to be able to have a relaxing bath and get some sleep. The bathroom was filled with fantastic toiletries and we left refreshed and feeling 100% better than when we arrived.

The only regret I had was not being able to thank the staff for the warm welcome and excellent service as we had to leave so early to be back at the airport.

I will most definitely be returning to this hotel again with my partner , this time in better circumstances and to enjoy a longer stay.
Thank you Gran Melia Victoria, your service and hospitality was exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHICKEN_CHOPS_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

It is a true pleasure that you and your family have enjoyed your experience at the Gran Meliá Victoria. We would like to thank you for such a positive feedback and encouraging comments about our Hotel and its Presonnel.

Please rest assured that your comments have been forwarded to the various Departments.

In the name of the whole team, we hope that the opportunity to accomodate you and your family arises in the near future and hopefully, your next visit will turn to be for a longer period of time time so you will be able to enjoy all that the Gran Meliá Victoria can offer.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Cheshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My daughter & I have just returned from 5 lovely days in Palma, staying at this hotel. We had a wonderful time and loved the hotel. The room was beautiful with a fabulous view of the bay and the cathedral. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was marble tiled & stocked with Clarins toiletries! The service at the hotel was great and all the staff were really friendly and helpful. A propos the comments about road noise, the hotel is right on the Paseo Maritimo! The location is right at the heart of everything, which is one of the best things about it as far as we were concerned. We definitely want to go back.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthSale_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amaia L, Guest Relations Manager at Gran Melia Victoria, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

We are delighted to find out that both you and your daughter had a wonderful stay at the Gran Meliá Victoria. Thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and such a positive feedback really make our work worthwhile.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in not too distant future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.4 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#25 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
2.5 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Melia Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Melia Victoria

Property: Gran Melia Victoria
Address: Avenida Joan Miro 21, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Melia Victoria 5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Meliá Victoria is a 5 star hotel located in Paseo Marítimo with wonderful views of the Bay of Palma. A unique experience of traditional luxury and cutting-edge style inside this deluxe 171-room hotel surrounded by history and classic beauty. Rooms equipped with every comfort, excellent facilities and superb services. RedLevel Service in Superior Accommodation: The most superior range of personalized attendance. Admire stunning sunsets from our magnificent terrace or just relax by the pool with panoramic and exclusive views. Enjoy an authentic gourmet experience in our fine dining restaurant and the most innovative cocktails in our bars. It is surrounded by elegant restaurants and close to the most exclusive shops and boutiques and historic city centre of Palma de Mallorca. It is near the airport (15 minutes away). Located in an area noted for its cosmopolitan atmosphere and café terraces which buzz with activity both day and night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Gran Melia Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Victoria Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Gran Melia Hotel Victoria
Sol Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Palma Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing