We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pool area, stuck up service and average rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice pool area, stuck up service and average rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

I would rate this "good" if there was a choice, but its closer to average than very good.
Service: When running a 4star hotel offering the guests a smile at the front desk should be the easiest tasks regarding service, nevertheless every male staff managed to fail at this and actually made us feel like a burden approching them. My booking made at Travelocity was cancelled during my stay and the hotel staff did very little to find out why, some of them leaving it all to me to contact Travelocity (meaning I had to call to the US on my own account). All this is service expected from a 2 star hotel or bad hostel. Service at breakfast and pool was very good. Rooms: Rooms are normal standard, boring business rooms with carpets on the floor (which is one of the most unhygienic interior inventions ever). Got two single beds at first (two single mattrasses on one bed), and changed later to a double bed which was a lot better. This room also had a flat screen tv, as the other room had a whoopping 12 inch tv any museum would envy them. You can chose from the hideous backside view or the grand (and out of the eye expensive) view of the bay. Roms are spacious enough with a sitting group and they all have a balcony. The interior of the hotel (hallway etc) looks like it is decorated by a grandmother with a marine fetish (picture your grandmother having a houseboat). On the outside the architect went for the mustard colored tiles, maybe wonderful in the 70`s. Breakfast: Great, including free cava, fresh juice and whatever you wish for.Pool area: Nice pool, adjustable and halfcomfy beds. Has a bar with snack og crazy beer prices. Location: On the marine strip where you find all the party action and some restaurants. A good 12 min walk to the center for the fit people. Guests here were mostly people with their noses in the air, middle aged and few kids. All in all: It works for the right price. Paid 109 USD a night for a backyard double.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    765
    237
    86
    57
See reviews for
251
823
51
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

My wife reserved this hotel as she saw the photos from the hotel webpage and loved the view from the swimming pool area to the cathedral and port.
On arrival it does look like you've stepped back in time to a 70's style hotel as the hotel lobby does give you that impression.
Make sure you ask for a room on the top floor, as you will hear noise from the streets below - especially at the weekend. If you stay at the back of the hotel you will have views of the Belver Castle and at the front the port. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean, although some of the furniture has seen better days.
One little detail at the end of the holiday, was they offered us a room to shower and change after we had been to the beach, as we had a late flight out of the city that evening!!
Parking is fairly difficult around the hotel as a lot of people head out to this area as most of the nightcubs are congregated around this part of the city. There are underground carparks as well but they too can get full up.
If you want a relaxing holiday maybe I wouldn't go for this hotel again, but for a city trip to Palma this serves its purpose very well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madrid_viajero77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
88 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

When you walk in to this Hotel it looks like a 5 star ultra expensive Hotel with a extremely large reception/bar/lounge area. The standard rooms are nice standard rooms, they don't feel luxorious and there are also a lot of noice from the street. When in the bathroom you realize that the walls are thin, you can hear every word the people in the room next door are saying. It was also hard to get the room cold enough. I like the pool area but when you are there you also realize that this Hotel needs a renovation. And please, get some decent TV channels. The oly decent channel was BBC. About the area, it looks nice with many bars and restuarants but the drawback is the morning after. The whole area smells of old beer and urine and the there are glass and cigarettes everywhere. Regarding parking, do not trust anywhone who seems to work at the parking lots. I was directed to a parking lot and the day after the car was gone! Apparenly there were parking restrictions and the police had taken the car!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

My wife and I spent 10 days at this hotel in Palma in July-August 2010. We enjoyed every minute of it. We cannot understand why this hotel has not been better reviewed.

The decor is of the 1970s and is like the luxury liner mode. I liked it. The lobby is spectacular; staircases curving down, a pool and waterfall, huge chendeliers, beautiful tiling. The bedrooms are larger than usual, with a generous mirror-fronted wardrobe and storage; a two-seater sofa and balcony with table. Perhaps the en-suite was a bit small. The air-conditioning works well. Everything is sparking clean. The view of the harbour is spectacular. The bed deserves special mention: it is a huge platform, the mattress 7 feet wide, all one piece; the linen is changed frequently and there are 6 pillows, The breakfast is plentiful and delicious and includes everything you could want. We especially liked the fresh fruit and I liked the bacon and fried eggs. The staff are old-world marvellous; they can't do too much for you. We spent most of the day on the sun terrace; plenty of sun beds and parasols. Large, fresh, swimming pool. The hotel is located on the maritimo with the cruise liners berths to the right, looking out to sea. The No 1 bus stops nearby and takes one to the airport for a mere 2 euro each. Bus no 3 takes one in to central Palma from the road behind the hotel.

What more can a visitor want? We very much look forward to returning. Oddly, there aren't many UK people holidaying at this hotel. Perhaps it suffers through th absence of a beach. But the view of super-expensive yachts moored a few yards away well makes
up for that!

Highly recommended. Try their own website and make sure you get a sea-view room; there are c150 of them.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northwales_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

I booked the hotel on the web only viewing a few pictures. The hotel location is spot on for walking around Parma or just watching the crusie liners docking in the port which you can see. The pool area and pool bar was good with great choice of food and drinks. The rooms were clean and big with the most amazing pillows, best nights sleep for ages ............. or was that the vodka!! I will be returning again to this hotel. I enjoyed my visit so much my wife and I are looking to move to Mallorca next year!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIRuncorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

I don't wite too many reviews; one reason is lack of time, the other, which I feel more important, is not to let too many people into your "secret"... , because maybe it will be harder to get rooms, at a good rate, next year! But Tripadvisor is OK i guess...nobody would know....
LOCATION; If you know Palma, you know this hoel, its the most "visual" in all of Palma,
with it's beige front side, just next to Gran Melia Victoria and the yachts. It's just a little too far to walk back from an evening in the center/old town, but a Taxi is only 3-5 Euros.
HOTEL; A fully 4+. Grand lobby, intelligent lifts(!), professional service, nice pool and Spa eria.
ROOMS; We had a family room / junior sute. Just great, 2 balconies, 2 TV's (flat screen in our childens room (living room for suite,)nice bathromc etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnargutten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Make sure you opt for a sea view room its worth the price alone. Although there is some road noise the view of the pool area, harbour and the cathedral are fantastic. Getting up early to watch the sun rise and the yachts coming and going was a real highlight for us and next time i will take binoculars to see what they are all doing on those floating gin palaces. I agree with the comments about the foyer as they turn on the water feature and it does look as though you are in a sinking ship but on a hot day it is very cooling. The room was clean and smart and as we took a travel kettle we could induldge in an early morning cuppa while taking in the sun and the view. all the staff we met were polite and helpful. The only critiscism i would make is the position of the toilet in the bathroom if you are a big person you cant get comfy because of the shape of the room and it is too near the wall, the bidet has all the space you could ever need to" wash your socks" why not swap them over ?
Overall worth the money @ £100 a night but the sea view rooms never seem to have the breakfast option so we went to crepe suzettes 50 yards away for breakfast , always a cheerful welcome and great fruit juices.
I will try and load a photo when i can get the pic off my camera but i can assure you the view is FANTASTIC ! Enjoy !!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinny4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,951 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
1.0 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Property: Melia Palas Atenea
Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing