We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and that's it”
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Malaga
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great location and that's it”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I have chosen this hotel for its location which is basicaly in the centre of Palma.
We were very unfortunate with our smelly tired non refurbished room faced to very noisy street.
As we stayed here only for weekend we didn't make big deal out of it otherwise I would check out at the same minute.
Small pool, slow service,breakfast so so.
For party weekend not that bad, however for summer holiday I wouldn't recommend it

Room Tip: sea faced room are much nicer and refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Lukas K,

We thank you for taking the time and effort to write your opinion on your recent stay in Tripadvisor.

We take into account your suggestions in order to improve our service. Tripadvisor is a very useful tool not only for travelers but also for us, we can detect the areas in which we have to focus our effort to improve our services.

I would like to say you that we have taken actions to correct the possibly smell in the room.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed our location on the seafront.

All our team hopes to get an opportunity to welcome you here again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    789
    249
    91
    58
See reviews for
265
849
53
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great hotel recently refurbed which we've been to several times now so they must be doing something right! We had a problem with our room initially which was on a lower floor almost above and which got very noisy in the wee hours with folks leaving the club but, the management moved us to a higher placed room as soon as we mentioned it!

Hotel is in a fabulous location overall though with views of the harbour/marina and the Old City & Cathedral. Staff all super helpful & friendly - particularly the guys at the lobby bar who we spent many an hour with putting the world's wrongs to right!

Room Tip: Join their loyalty programme immediately after your first visit - can get you upgrades and free wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanieS2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Joan Serafini,

First of all, we would like to thank you most sincerely for your kind words and for having taken some of your valuable time in writing to us. We work very hard in order to achieve maximum guests satisfaction.

It is a pleasure to know that you will come back and we thank you your loyalty. We are very pleased to know that you had such a possitive experience in Meliá Palas Atenea.

We appreciate your comments about our staff. We will pass them your kind words.


Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Having booked this hotel for a group of 15 well in advance I expected great things, some of which I got, some I didn't! Two weeks before we were due to travel we were contacted by the hotel who informed us we wouldn't be upgraded to seaview rooms despite this being standard for group bookings as they were fully booked. After a lot of discussion between my agent and the hotel we were eventually promised seaview rooms. On arrival at the check in desk with my party I arrived first, handed in my passport and filled in the form, and was then ignored by the rude gentleman on reception whilst he checked in the rest of the party first and after shoving my card key in my direction asked me "if I could have done it any quicker". This great start was followed by arrival at the rooms which were out dated, stale smoke smelling, and barely seaview. The bathrooms were cramped and the shower rail in mine was rusty and the ceiling tiles were mouldy in parts. They were certainly nothing like the pictures on the website. That said, the reception and bar area of the hotel are lovely, the pool area has a fantastic elevated view of the marina and the location of the hotel is excellant.
Had the rooms been what we were expecting I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel however I would not have stayed here if I'd known we would be allocated such poor rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank KJTMAN35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Kjtman,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and for your observations and interest. The comments and suggestions that we receive from our guests are invaluable in that they allow us to identify and focus our attention on those aspects of our operations that require special attention.

I would like to clarify that our guests enjoy the room tipology that they have chosen. We assign the room according to the choice of the room by our guests.

We hope to continue with your confidence and loyalty and we want to welcome you again at Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a group. Firstly full marks to Elizabeth and the other staff in reservations for their patience and professionalism in dealing with my booking. Due to several changes in circumstances I had to make numerous amendments to my original booking, right up until the day before we travelled, and nothing was ever too much trouble for the staff when dealing with the changes. I have even since received a refund for our stay despite the fact that the last minute changes were all our own doing.
The location of the hotel is superb with rooms facing the ocean having fantastic views. The hotel lobby was very impressive with a lovely cocktail bar which had a pianist playing in the evenings. Everyone in our group spoke highly of the breakfast on offer and in particular many enjoyed the opportunity to have breakfast in the outside area overlooking the marina. The free Cava went down very well.
It is a pleasant 15/20 minute walk into the city centre although this may not suit everyone, however the bus stop is nearby. Also loads of nice restaurants in the vicinity meaning you don't have to travel very far for a meal out.
Overall everyone was delighted with their rooms but no doubt those with the sea view are prime. Many of our group have stated they would gladly stay here again if they came back to Palma.

Room Tip: The grand premium rooms well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alnbColeraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear alnbColeraine,

I would like to thank you for share your experience. It is a pleasure for us that you recommend our Hotel in Tripadvisor.

We will pass your kind words to our team, in particular to Elizabeth. It was a delight for us help you with your booking problems.

We are glad that you enjoyed your room and that you liked the Marina and cathedral views.
We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you at our hotel.

We hope to continue with your confidence and loyalty.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed here for a work conference in June 2013, and added on a couple of days at the weekend to explore Mallorca...
All in all a good hotel for business and pleasure - GREAT breakfast with plenty of choice and help-yourself Cava - however not recommended before a day of workshops ;-)
Luckily I was given a sea view room which had been refurbished - very modern and comfortable. Balcony with views across the bay and fabulous sunrises/sunsets - glorious!
The pool area was at times a bit crowded but a nice setting for sunbathing and relaxing, with a little outdoor bar.
I'm marking this hotel down one point for location - I suppose it's fine if you have a car but if you want to go to the old town or to the main train/bus station to visit other parts of the island it is a little bit of a trek on foot- although there are buses from the road behind the hotel and taxis waiting outside which are reasonable on the meter.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubia1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear rubia1984,

I would like to thank you for share your experience in Meliá Palas Atenea through Tripadvisor.
We will pass your kind words about our breakfast service to our team. We work very hard to make our guest feel like at home.

We are very glad if we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to welcoming you at our Hotel.

We are located on the Seafront Promenade, and the city center is a short 20 minutes walk away or less than five minutes by taxi.

We hope to continue with your confidence and loyalty and we want to welcome you again at Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnhill
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

in a great position overlooking the bay of Palma
Pay the extra for a sea view. the rooms at the back overlook a couple of men's clubs which get a bit loud late at night and not a pleasant view.
Drinks and food as expensive as you would expect in a 4 star city hotel
Staff all were friendly and helpful with the exception of 1 very grumpy breakfast waiter. very nice pool and good beds as you would expect
Downside it is 1 mile walk to the old town

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank davefarnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear davefarnhill,

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write to us and for your observations and interest. The comments and suggestions that we receive from our guests are invaluable in that they allow us to identify and focus our attention on those aspects of our operations that require special attention.

It is a pleasure for us to inform you that we have a new Menu. We deliberately chose to take a broader and more concept in which our guests can taste any dish anywhere on the Hotel. Also we have a wide variety of different dishes.

We appreciate your possitive comments about our team. We regret if you had a bad impression with someone, we work very hard to make our guests feel like at home.

We hope to continue with your confidence and loyalty and we want to welcome you again at Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great pool, gym and sun deck and the staff were friendly. We had a nice, newly appointed room with great amenities. But it was evident that the outside of the building and the balcony have not been updated. Crappy plastic chair on balcony and our room overlooked a few 'less than desirable' sights...some seedy clubs and a burnout building...yes, we know they can't pick their neighbours. But definitely pay for a better room that overlooks the pool and marina in front of the hotel...worth it. Great location though...close to everything and within walking distance to the Cathedral, tourist areas, marinas, etc..and close enough to walk to the beach on the waterfront trail (maybe 2km).

Room Tip: Pay more and overlook the pool and marina....and for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2RoamingGnomies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear 2RoamingGnomies,

First of all, we would like to thank you most sincerely for your kind words and for having taken some of your valuable time in writing to us. We work very hard in order to achieve maximum guests satisfaction.

About your building comments I would like to inform you that we have renovated some rooms.
We are glad that you enjoyed your room and that you liked the Marina and cathedral views.

We hope to continue with your confidence and loyalty and we want to welcome you again at Meliá Palas Atenea.


Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,580 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,046 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#30 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Property: Melia Palas Atenea
Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing