We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view over Palma Bay”
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #24 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful view over Palma Bay”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The location of this Hotel is very good and if you have a room facing the ocean the view is fantastic. These rooms also are the renovated ones and a lot better.All rooms should be renovated before May 2014.
We stayed in room 331 and housekeeping was very good.
Breakfast is very nice even if some staff both there and in front office seems to be in need of vacation.Otherwise did not try restaurants for dinner, lunch by the pool was good, but same problem here, service was not very good and it seemed like staff were very tired of customers.
Pool area is nice and clean.
Conference area also nice and clean.
I would say value for money overall.

Room Tip: Absolutely the ones with seaview that are renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenSkifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    789
    249
    91
    58
See reviews for
265
849
53
298
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Great location and well worth paying extra for a sea view room which overlooks the Bay and you can see The Cathedral. Rooms very clean and comfortable with good sleep quality and above average size.

Excellent pool area which loses the sun about 5 p.m. Reception staff very helpful and knowledgeable.

The downside was the quality of breakfast which was well below expectations. The chef twice was unable to cook a poached egg!!! The quality was below par and the waiters were surly and most unhelpful. At times I felt they were doing you a favour in serving you.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor which had the sun until 2 p.m. It is probably worth the extra to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grabybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Grabybaby,

I would like to thank you again for taking the time to write to us and for your observations and interest. The comments and suggestions that we receive from our guests are invaluable in that they allow us to identify and focus our attention on those aspects of our operations that require special attention.

We appreciate your sea views room recomendation. We are glad that you enjoyed a new room with amazing views to the sea and the Cthedral. Many of our guests value very possitive this new room.

We will pass your nice words to our front desk staff.

I apologise if the breakfast did not exceed your expectations.The Breakfast is one of the most valued áreas in our quality Control questionnaire. We think that could be a misunderstanding because poached egg is one of the most demanded products by our guests.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The frontage hotel is exceptional stunning. Plenty of restaurants on the main road. But beware of the night club NEXT to the hotel. This can be noisy at night times especially at the weekends. Daily linen change. The standard room is what it is, standard not the professional pictures you see the website. Nothing to see but old villas. Morning can be disturbing due to people and maids banging the doors or making the bed. But they are very friendly, we booked a double bed room but found twin beds, upon complaint, this was resolved within five minutes. We didn't have breakfast due to getting up late. A hired car is a must because we visited several different beaches and towns. Car parking was free just opposite the hotel. Or someone will guide you to a free space, I just tipped him one or two euros. I used Goldcar car hire and paid extra insurance to save the 600 euros blocked on my MasterCard and piece of mind.

Room Tip: Depending on whether you just want a room to sleep or mostly to relax, an upgraded room is a yes if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 921KLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear 921KLima,

First of all, we would like to thank you most sincerely for your kind words and for having taken some of your valuable time in writing to us. We work very hard in order to achieve maximum guests satisfaction.

We regret if the room did not exceed your expectations. After your comments we have verified teht the photograph that we have in our website correspond exactly to the actual classic room. The new rooms photographs correspond to another kind of rooms, such us Grand Premium Room or Junior Suite Room. If you find any error in other website please contact us.

We would like to recommend you a renovated room for your next visit to Meliá Palas Atenea. Many of our guests have possitive comments for the new rooms.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The rooms on the rear side of the hotel are dated, and look particularly tired. The view is also horrendous this side. I'd pay the extra for a room at the front or stay elsewhere.
Beware the expensive mini-bars too.
The pool on the terrace is nice.
Poolside restaurant food was average at best based on the club sandwich and chips.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SXK526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear SXK526,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and let us know your satisfaction. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

It is a pleasure for us to inform you that we have renovated rooms with new and confortable furniture. We hope to be able to count with more new rooms in the near future.

About your Mini Bar observations I would like to clarify that the Price of every product is publisef on the Price lists in the Mini bar furniture being visible to our guests. Also the Mini bar products have a normal price for a four stairs Hotel.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We made a gigantic mistake and stayed here for 5 nights recently, and on the penultimate night were kept awake by noise from the room above, dragging furniture etc.


Our complaint was not taken very well.

The manger told me that he “was the most important person in the hotel”, he did not grasp, that the guests are the most important people


This is not a four star Hotel.

On arrival the reception area smelt of sewage, and we were given wrong information about melia voucher of 10 euros a day to spend in bars. On the second day we were told that a credit of 10 euros was applied to our account

The room was almost 4 star, but the hotel lacks atmosphere.
On one day the whole pool area was closed for a private party, The next day we asked for lots of splintered glass to be swept up around the pool area, and begrudgingly it was sort of cleaned up, on other days most of the loungers are reserved with towels.

Half of the staff could not care about service, are rude and even worse the night staff threatened me, and made me pay a 13 euro bill under duress. I did not owe the amount asked for. Infact the night staff kept changing how much was owed and wasted over an hour of my time. I actually owed 2 euros!!! But was forced to pay 13 euros or the hotel would call the police.

Paco in the breakfast restaurant was very helpful and friendly, and the staff in Tapas Negra were also friendly. From the management down the staff and service are atrocious.

The hotel will give a spurious and fallacious version of events as since on our return the Management have weaselled their way out of what really happened.

We declined to move room or as Gabriel [--] the Melia Hotels CEO called it an “upgrade”, as we would have had to hang around the hotel until 1pm, and waste half of our last day - when we were told the room would be ready, The offer of dinner was also declined as we had made plans and booked to eat at CM Caballito de Mar that evening as it was my partners birthday. The Duty Manageress Ms Malen [--] dist and called my partner a liar to her face and spoilt the whole of her birthday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank keltoshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very nice hotel which has recently had extensive refurbishment. We booked a room with balcony overlooking the marina and outdoor pool. Breakfast was buffet style and good selection of hot and cold food. Very helpful reception staff and room was cleaned daily to a high standard. Fresh towels and bedding available on request. We stayed for a week but in hindsight this was too long as there was several corporate functions during that time which did mean that the pool area and sun loungers were monopolised by the delegates. Would recommend use of the hotel's money exchange which gave a better rate than we found in the town. The Tapas restaurant within the complex is good value and excellent food and drink. Also the Italian restaurant (Piccola Italia) on the left of the hotel a short distance was worth a visit. Good menu and wine list. Another restaurant we tried was in the town (street called San Juan) and called Vecchio Giovanni.

Room Tip: Specify a room with balcony overlooking the marina. Rooms at the back are not recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear BruceW,

First of all, we would like to thank you most sincerely for your kind words and for having taken some of your valuable time in writing to us.

We appreciate your comments about our recently refurbishment. There has been renovated many rooms and we hope that we will be able to continue renovating more rooms. We are very glad that you enjoyed a sea views room.

Usually, when we have events in the Hotel they do not use exclusively the swimming pool facilities.It is important for us that every guest can enjoy every facility when he wants.

We will pass your kind words to our front desk staff.

Thank you for recommending Meliá Palas Atenea.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

After getting the number 1 bus from the airport which was so easy we got off at the auditorium stop and we walked for 3 mins and the Hotel was easily located on the main road. Its a 60s hotel so not the most pleasing of facades but inside the hotel is smartly decorated in a modern style. Our room was also modern and smart although a little smaller than we expected but still perfectly acceptable. We paid the extra for a sea view which is a must and really enjoyed sitting on the balcony with a glass of cava before venturing out for the evening.

Unlike other reviews we had no difficulty getting a sun bed and really enjoyed our time by the pool. Like other reviewers we really were amazed at the breakfast. We had it one day and paid the full 20 euros each and it was totally worth it. I couldn't manage it everyday as I would have had chocolate cake and cava every time!

Don't bother with the Tapas in the old town every thing we had was ready made and out of a freezer. The best Tapas in Palma is the hotel Restaurant. The food is excellent we had it 2 evenings and would of had it more if we stayed longer.

The staff were lovely and even when our toilet broke they quickly resolved the issue. A lovely hotel, food and staff can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 141xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear 141xx,

First of all, we would like to thank you most sincerely for your kind words and for having taken some of your valuable time in writing to us. We work very hard in order to achieve maximum guests satisfaction.

We are glad to have exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you at our hotel. I would like to thank you for recommending Meliá Palas Atenea.

We appreciate your possitive comments about our staff. We will pass your kind words. Our staff Works hard to give a high quality service to customers.

Many of our guests value very possitive the Tapas that we have in our Blue Lounge Bar.
We are very glad that you enjoyed the Breakfast Buffet. We have a wide variety of products in the Diana Restaurant and our staff works hard to give a high quality service to customers.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,580 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,046 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,412 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#30 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,060 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Property: Melia Palas Atenea
Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#24 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing