We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #25 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed with my friend for a weekend break 23 to 25 of August. Room 615, premium, side sea view
Hotel
The hotel is really great, as always are Melia hotels. The location-u will be in closed to all night life (Pacha, Tito's etc) and 20-25 min walk to Cathedral and all shopping areas. The nearist beach, which we found, was closed to Animabeach bar, it was about 3 km and 40 min walk. U always can take a bus or a taxi, but if u will go u'll also enjoy a nice Marina's view... Also we went to Cala Major beach,which was just 5 min and 9 euro straight from the hotel.
Rooms
We stayed in premium room-it was really nice, they have all you need, and beds are also perfectly comfortable. After long day and fun night it was a pleasure to relax...
The good point was, we had a late flight last day-and they also gave us a room to take a shower and dress up.
Stuff
All the people we meet in the hotel were really polite, they are trying to help, whatever u need. On the reception they are really quick (not typical to Spain) and gentle.
Breakfast
The quality and range of food was excellent, u will also have frech orange juice, the have diet food and a lot of fruits... we really enjoyed it. The best thing was if u have your breakfast on the terrace with sea view, but after 9 a.m. it was full. The only thing-waitress are really slow and there were no chance to seat on the terrace(
The hotel also have a small pool with sunbeds, not to much but i think enough for a city hotel
Just want to say one more time thanks a lot for all the people who works in Melia, u made our small break really perfect.

Room Tip: if it's possible take premium room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uliana85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    766
    239
    87
    57
See reviews for
252
825
51
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I recently stayed here with my girlfriend and really feel like we were conned. We paid additional money to get a room desribed as premium with a sea view. What we got was a "lateral sea view" which is NOT a sea view. Our view was of the side of another hotel and a disused overgrown swimming pool. You could just about make out the water when standing out on the balcony but it certainly was not what we thought we were paying for. The recpetion staff where less than helpful telling us we in fact paid for a lateral sea view and thats what we got. To charge a premium for the view we got, and describe it as a sea view is an absolute disgrace and completely sullied the stay for us in what was probably otherwise a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Check what you are paying for! sea view in this hotel may not actually mean sea view
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Journeryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Jouneryman,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for having chosen Meliá Palas Ateneal in which to spend several days and also for taking the time to write to us. Please, be assured that Meliá Palas Atenea will never cease in its efforts to constantly improve the quality of the services provided.

We aplogise if the views did not meet your expectations. As you can see in our website we have differents type of rooms and usually we allocate according to your room booked.
I recommend to our guests enjoy our Gran Premium room sea view one of the best located romos in the hotel which panoramic views of the Bay of Palma.

I would ask you once again to please accept my apologies if your recent experience did not completely satisfy the expectations that you had. I will pass your comments to my staff.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager & Human Resources - Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I came here with my small toddler son and mother in law.
Everything about the place is fantastic.
Very clean.
great food with a fantastic breakfast selection including champagne
fantastic location with the marina area at your door step and short walk from Palma cathedral.
The room was gorgeous - very fancy, with huge comfy bed, choice of pillows and plenty of wardrobe space.
Lovely bathroom with broad range of complimentary toiletries.
Balcony was small and not child friendly in any way.

This hotel is fantastic but most certainly not for children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Romariosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Romariosdad,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and let us know your satisfaction. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our sea views room. This rooms have amazing views and new and confortable furniture. The new rooms are very well accepted by our guests.

We appreciate your comments about the Breakfast. Many of our guests have the same opinion like yours. We have a wide variety of products including National and International products.
Our guests can take the breakfast enjoying amazing views.

Looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel in your third visit.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottish borders
Level Contributor
225 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have used this Hotel for a number of years and remain very impressed with the fantastic location offering superb views over the Bay of Palma and the Cathedral. Service is excellent and the buffet breakfast most enjoyable. The makeover (since last year) is good and not so good. The improvements to the decor and furnishing in the bedrooms is very tasteful and relaxing so top marks for this! We were however a little disappointed with the bar in the lobby area. This had previously been a haven of peace and quiet, ideal for a relaxing drink at the end of the day. Now, there are 5 televisions in this area providing sports coverage which seems completely at odds with the impressive traditional character of the rest of the lobby. The blue "mood" lighting in the bar area is overpowering.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank romagScottishBorders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear romagScottishBorde,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and let us know your satisfaction. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

I would like to thank you for trusting in Meliá Palas Atenea. For us, it is a pleasure that our guests decide to return every year.

We will consider your comments about the Blue Lounge Bar. Normally our guests can find peace while take some drinks wrapped in a elegant atmosphere. Even so we appreciate your constructive comments. Your opinion helps us to improve.

Looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel in your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just had a wonderful 6 day stay here for our annual holiday to the sun. Services was first class, helpful and unobtrusive. Great rooms looking over the marinas (worth the extra 30 euros per day) - with quiet air con. A very decent swimming pool area. Very large choice of wonderful breakfast buffet items. The icing on the cake is that on the day we checked out at noon - we could stay by the pool until we had to leave for our flight and they gave us a courtesy room to freshen up in for an hour.

Room Tip: Go for sea facing if you can afford it. Get breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Robbie B,

First of all, we would like to thank you most sincerely for your kind words and for having taken some of your valuable time in writing to us.

We also would like to thank you for having chosen Meliá Palas Atenea hotel in which to spend your holidays and that you enjoyed your stay here.

We are very glad for your kind words about our staff. I will pass your comments to my team.We work very hard to make our guests feel like at home.

We think of our guests and for this reason when is possible for us and the availability permits it we offer the possibility of keep the luggage at the check out day.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I booked here with my friend for a 5 day break 10th- 15th Aug to celebrate my friends forth coming 50th. On our arrival we were both very impressed with the hotel, the lobby area is modern and well air conditioned, the staff very helpful and we were booked into our room in about 5 mins. Our bedroom was spacious and had everything we needed. My friend was delighted when we got a knock at the door from a waiter on our first evening with complimentary chocolate, strawberries and cava to celebrate her birthday. The breakfast was fantastic, I'm vegetarian so this can sometimes be a problem for me, but not here, there is a wide selection on offer for all. All in all a very good holiday, a great hotel and would defiantly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jayne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear jayne h,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and let us know your satisfaction. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

Fisrtly, I want to thank you for choosing Meliá Palas Atenea for your stay in Palma.
We hope that we were able to meet your expectations and look forward to welcoming you at our hotel.

I am glad for your possitive comments about the lobby área. This área is very modern and confortable. We appreciate your kind words about our staff. I will pass your commnets to my team.

We are glad that you had a nice day at your birthday.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

After a bad experience at The Melia in benidorm i did not know what to expect but i have to say i was very pleased with the hotel,its rooms and its facilities.The only down side is the shortage of sun beds but it was august when we visited.
Breakfast was really good with no pushing or shoving like in benidorm.
Please bear in mind the nightlife around the hotel is for the younger end 18 to 25 and tends to be aimed at nightclubbing.There are very little bars in the area catering for the 35 plus crowd only an irish bar which does not get going until midnight

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MONKEYMAN343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Monkeyman343,

I would like to thank you for keep trusting in Meliá Hotels International and in particular in Meliá Palas Atenea.

We hope that we were able to meet your expectations with our rooms and facilities and look forward to welcoming you at our hotel.

Many of our guests are agree with you about the breakfast service. We have a wide variety of products in the Diana Restaurant and our staff works hard to give a high quality service to customers. I will pass your comments to my Breakfast staff.

For your next visit I recommend you the Yhi Spa. Yhi Spa YHI SPA is a place bathed in the energy of YHI, a place for the recreation of the senses in a time devoted to the purification of the body, the balance of the mind and the culture of the soul. This service is on request and with extra charge.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#27 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#12 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
Hotel Isla Mallorca & Spa
#21 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
1.0 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Property: Melia Palas Atenea
Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing