We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #26 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wirksworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Really good, clean, comfortable, easy access to Palma. Great sea views. Staff are fantastic! Pool very good, great views over the harbour. Great tapas restaurant adjacent. In summary highly recommended for a Palma holiday.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Jonny H,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and let us know your satisfaction. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

I am delighted to see that you fully enjoyed your stay. Thanks for choosing us for your stay in Palma de Mallorca.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    652
    818
    261
    96
    59
See reviews for
275
891
58
311
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just had a 4 night stay in this hotel, booked a double room with sea view was allocated room 823, excellent check in . Fantastic views. Room has been refurbished since my last visit. Small issues.... No waste bin in the room, no tea making facilaties, no drawers. Do not have a room at the rear of the hotel unless you are there just to sleep and move on. Breakfast ok, good choice, but a bit expensive 19 euros. We got a deal at 9 euros each. (ask at check in for the special offer, the condition is that you have breakfast every day and you will get it for half price). Pool area excellent, only problem being that you cant get a towel for the beds until 10am, as the pool is closed. (People were round the pool at 8.30 onwards). TIP. If you want the sun all day get a sun bed near the road as the sun goes behind the hotel at around 3pm. 5.75 euros for a large beer at the pool bar. Many people were going to the small supermarket at the front of the hotel, four ice cold tins of beer for 3.60 euros. I thought 10 euros for the spa was a bit excessive, surely this could be free for hotel guests. Had a slight problem with ants in the room but this was sorted immediately by the staff. We got a taxi from the airport 15 euros, plenty of taxis outside hotel. Room cleaned every day, and free wi fi in the room. (This did go off for 24 hours). I think this is an excellend hotel to stay at, helpful,pleasent staff, good location, and good rooms. But pay for a room with a sea view is a must. You wont be dissapointed.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel look out of what appears to be a shanty town. I would not stay in one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Smith_56,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and let us know your satisfaction. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

I am delighted to see that you recommend our sea views room. In the end our main goal is a satisfied customer throught your stay with us.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

As the title of this review says i said i would return to this hotel and almost exactly two years later i did. Obviously i must have been happy first time round to re book, and overall i was happy on my return visit. Check in was spot on, and the guy who checked us in very helpful, extremley nice. We once again had a room on the front with a lovely view of the port, and as someone has said previously it's good to have binoculars!! My partner bought some on our last visit as he liked seeing the comings and goings in the port, (gotta excuse him he was brought up in Windermere and worked on the lake on the boats as a young un, the fascination obviously hasn't left him)!!
Anyway i digress, except to say the binoculars somehow made their way into his luggage for this trip, and he spent many a happy time on the (small) balcony drinking wine and watching the boats. I'm not that interested to be honest but it was a lovely view, especially with the cathedral in the distance. However as has been previously mentioned i really would pay extra for a room with a view as the back of the hotel resembles nothing like the front, we walked round the back to go to some shops (hunting for an English newspaper) and it looked like a 'shanty' town!
The hotel has been refurbished, very nice. As has some of the rooms. I have to say while they looked very boutique style, i feel it was a case of style over substance. The bedroom had a white boxed type of storage area. The only trouble was there was no room to store anything. A fridge was in the top 'box' but the other boxed areas were not big enough to really use for anything. Sadly i feel that hotel designers still haven't got their heads around the fact that women really would prefer a dressing table with a mirror and sockets for use with hair straightners etc. As it was the majority of sockets were behind the box unit so not really easy to use. In fact we placed the kettle we bought on the small bedside table, not ideal but the only place near enough a socket. Another point mentioned, and i have to agree, us Brits like a cuppa, if a hotel is spending God knows how much on a refurb surley they could stretch the budget to kettles? Especially handy for those travelling light and restricted to 10kg of hand luggage. Yup i managed it but really i would have rather packed another pair of sandals! Sorry for nit picking further, but a bin in the bedroom would have been useful, instead of running into the bathroom to use our overflowing bin.
The pool area was nice, a bar preparing food was spot on and the food surprisingly reasonable.. However, (sorry Melia), the pool attendant didn't appear until about 10am, the pool was cordoned off so anyone wanting an early morning dip would be out of luck, and obviously no towels available until he appeared.
All the above being said, i would still recommend the hotel, the points i've mentioned are niggles, small ones at that so not too difficult to remedy, well perhaps apart from getting rid of the 'box' units and replacing with a good old fashioned dressing table, or at least something for the girlies to sit at and put make up on and do their hair! The staff were helpful, and the hotels location opposite the port was really nice. There were plenty restaurants near by.
Would i return? Yes. But hopefully wouldn't have to trail a kettle.
Come on Melia, you know you want to!!

Room Tip: Yes it costs more but really i would pay the difference and get a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaneyCumbria_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear KaneyCumbria_England,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and let us know your satisfaction. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

I am delighted to see that you recommend our sea views room. In the end our main goal is a satisfied customer throught your stay with us.

We will take note of your dressing table comments.With respect to the Kettle we would like to equipp some rooms with it.

Looking forward to welcoming you at our hotel in your third visit.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brighton
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It does have a conference feel but it is also quite stylish and ideally located. The reception staff were excellent (thank you Sebastio for sorting out an initial issue with no fuss and great outcome).

Room Tip: The non sea view rooms could have an ordinary outlook behind the hotel. We had one room with each vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machasgus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Machasgus,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and let us know your satisfaction. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

I am delighted to see that you fully enjoyed your stay. Thanks for choosing us for your stay in Palma de Mallorca.

We are very grateful for your comments about the Hotel location. We are very close to the city center and at the same time we are in the port área with nice sea views.

I will express to my partner your apreciation to him.

Thank you for recommending Meliá Palas Atenea.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We once again chose this hotel down to its location and facilities close to the edge of Palma. It has had a facelift since our last visit and as a result its interior is significantly better than our previous visit.

A particular favourite was the pool bar, with the staff extremely helpful and a credit to the hotel! The rooms have also been updated, with modern fixtures and fittings, all in all a much needed improvement to enhance the high reputation this hotel has earned!

Finally, the gin and tonic in the new bar was a sure way to start the evening and further enhanced our evenings in Palma, as always avoid the seafront and explore the wider community for a true Spanish experience!

Once again my thanks to all, especially the barmen (we think Eestaban) who made the finest G&T of the week!

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor as a previous visit was spoiled by the noise from a local nightclub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Blacock,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and let us know your satisfaction. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

I am delighted to see that you like i tour renovated rooms.
Many of our guests recommend our Gin Tonics and Mojitos. Now we have Gin Tonic night selection and Mojitos night selection on certain days of the week in our terrace Bar.

I will express to my partner your apreciation to him.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

have just returned from a ten day holiday in this hotel. we stayed in room 318 which is a junior suite which had two balconies cathedral view and harbour view really great .the the room had been refurbished not to a great standard but was comfy .being brits we love a cup of tea when we arrive but found there was not a kettle in the room which was clearly at odds with the room information on its web site .I went down to reception to inquire and was to told to ring room service if I need hot water .we bought a kettle and solved that problem ourselves .other than that we had a great stay at the hotel great breakfast excellent location and staff friendly at the moment it seems some rooms are refurbished and some not so be careful of this. take some binoculars with you as the ship movement in the harbour and marina are worth seeing as we were leaving missile destroyer uss gonzales was entering the harbour overhaul when stay here again with a see view.

Room Tip: get a sea view take a travel kettle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear alan h,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and let us know your satisfaction. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

We are very grateful for your comments about the staff who atended you. We work for you to make you feel like at home.

I am glad that you enjoyed your sea views room. Many of our guests who repeat with us use binoculars for enjoying a more detail view.

With respect to the Kettle we would like to equipp to our rooms with it.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hotel excellent, staff very helpful, excellent position overlooking the harbour, plenty of bars and restaurants nearby, nice 30 mins walk into old town. Pool not recommended for children as very deep. Would definitely come again.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the rear of the hotel but we had the sun from 16.00 till 20.30
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda53-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Meliá Pal... M, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Lynda53-13,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and let us know your satisfaction. We let you know that your opinion is very important for us.

I am glad for your possitive comments about the staff, location and views.
As rightly said we are located near to a wide variety of restaurants. However our Diana Restaurant is very famous by our guests.

Hoping we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again at our Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Verónica Soriano
Guest Experience Manager- Meliá Palas Atenea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,641 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#28 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
2,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#25 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Innside by Melia Palma Bosque
Innside by Melia Palma Bosque
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
75 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#35 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Property: Melia Palas Atenea
Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#10 Spa Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#20 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing