We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time again!”
Review of Melia Palas Atenea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Melia Palas Atenea
Ranked #25 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just returned from second short break at the Melia Palas. Everything about the hotel was great - the check in was quick and the staff very pleasant and helpful. Our room was on the 6th floor and overlooked the marina and had fabulous views of the cathedral. We have a melia card ( you can register on line ) and it ensured breakfast was half price - a real bargain!!

The hotel also provides a free shuttle service to and from the airport. Returning was great but the shuttle to the hotel was a Tui coach which was awiting various Tui flights. We sat waiting for 10 mins and when no-one else arrived we decided to catch a taxi so as not to waste an hour or possibly longer - and had booked in and were sitting around the pool in 30 mins.

We ate at night in the Italian restaurant - just turn left out of the hotel and also at the hotel tapas restaurant - both excellent. Wwe then sat in the lounge listening to the hotel pianist - with our glasses of wine. He asked what we wanted him to play - impressive!!.
We will return!!

Room Tip: A sea view is a must and ask for as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen-DurhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Meliá Palas Atenea.

It is very important for us to know your opinions about the different aspects of our hotel because the principal commitment of MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL is the satisfaction of our guests. Your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve the quality standards in our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night of 13 September 2012. The views were spectacular over the harbour and towards the cathederal. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extraordinarily comfortable.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get a room on the highest floor with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinstone84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Meliá Palas Atenea.

It is very important for us to know your opinions about the different aspects of our hotel because the principal commitment of MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL is the satisfaction of our guests. Your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve the quality standards in our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was our second stay at the Melia Palas Atenea and we found the staff very helpful and the rooms of a good standard. It is worth getting a MAS loyalty card to benefit from the 'buy one get one free' breakfast offer. We also were given free WiFi access for the week. The only negative was that we were woken on 3 nights by thumping music from the club below the hotel, as were our friends in the room next door. So, a good place to stay but avoid rooms 125 & 126 and those along that corridor if you want a good night's sleep!

Room Tip: As above, avoid rooms 125 & 126 and those along that corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snc2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Meliá Palas Atenea.

It is very important for us to know your opinions about the different aspects of our hotel because the principal commitment of MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL is the satisfaction of our guests. Your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve the quality standards in our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed three nights at this hotel and initially had some stumbling problems with air-con not working, no UK plugs or adapters and no use of a fridge or access to ice to cool drinks. After a shopping mission locally we sourced adapters in a Chinese supermarket. The hotel said we could have a bucket of ice but charged us 4.5 euros for delivery charge. We asked for the mini bar to be emptied so we could use it as a fridge; we asked for the air con to be fixed and we asked fot feather pillows as the foam ones made it very hot and sweaty at night. All our requests were well looked after and we found the customer service very good. The hotel is a bit tired looking and the rooms need refurbishing but all in all there is an understated elegance about the place. Obviously ensure you have a sea view as the rear of the hotel is not a great area, but with that sorted there is little to complain about for the money. Best of all we loved the area as it was right in the middle of some great restaurants, bars and shops so very easy to explore and have lovely breakfasts, meals and entertainment on the doorstep.

Room Tip: You must have a sea view room, ideally on the 3rd floor or higher and ideally on the end of a row as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic_Moneypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Meliá Palas Atenea.

It is very important for us to know your opinions about the different aspects of our hotel because the principal commitment of MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL is the satisfaction of our guests. Your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve the quality standards in our services.

I would like to inform you that in the month of December we will begin a reform to the rooms and the lobby-hall to improve the image of our Melia Palas Atenea hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had 4 nights at this great hotel. We arrived at 2am so did not see the view, but the next morning when we opened our balcony window - WOW !! The view of the harbour and the cathedral was amazing!! The room was clean, lovely crisp white cotton sheets and great selection of pillows. The pool was small but fine and free pool towels were available. There are plenty of restaurants and bars near by for breakfast and dinner. The public bus to Marineland, the port and Hop on, Hop off bus go from the front of the hotel almost.We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: must book a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttfan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Meliá Palas Atenea.

It is very important for us to know your opinions about the different aspects of our hotel because the principal commitment of MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL is the satisfaction of our guests. Your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve the quality standards in our services.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This is the second time that we have visited this hotel for a long weekend break, it's a short flight from the UK and under 15 minutes taxi ride from the airport. The hotel has an excellent position with views across the Marina, comfortable rooms and very comfortable beds. The pool is well above street level so there is very little traffic noise and at the pool bar you can sip pink cava looking out across the bay to Palma cathedral. There is a very extensive choice of good quality food for the breakfast buffet, the reception staff were polite and helpful and helped us to find an excellent restaurant in the town. We will be back!!

Room Tip: It's worth the extra for a front sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. We had a wonderful week, but would recommend that when going there you pay the extra, to get a room overlooking the pool and marina. The views are stunning.

The bedrooms are a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is amazing and well worth having.

The staff on the front desk were really helpful. They advised us where to visit and where not to. We visited some very interesting places. Check out time was 12, but they allowed us to stay in our room till 2 pm and then gave us a room to shower in later complimentary.

The airport is only ten minutes drive and hotel is very central. There are bus stops nearby.

A hotel well worth staying in. We look forward to returning there..

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room overlooking the marina. It is well worth the money. Rooms at the back/side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbenzion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raquel m, GUEST EXPERIENCE at Melia Palas Atenea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear client,

Thank you for taking a moment of your time to let us know your personal evaluation of the Hotel Meliá Palas Atenea.

It is very important for us to know your opinions about the different aspects of our hotel because the principal commitment of MELIÁ HOTELS INTERNATIONAL is the satisfaction of our guests. Your comments will help us identify areas in which we can improve the quality standards in our services.

I would like to inform you that in the month of December we will begin a reform to the rooms and the lobby-hall to improve the image of our Melia Palas Atenea hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again to Meliá Palas Atenea.

Yours sincerely,

Raquel Martos
Guest Experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,765 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#29 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#34 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Palas Atenea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Palas Atenea

Address: Avinguda de Gabriel Roca, 29, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#12 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#25 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#26 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $150 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Palas Atenea 4*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
·Modern, bright rooms equipped with everything you need to enjoy a wonderful stay in Mallorca ·Fantastic new lobby area to enjoy a gin and tonic in the new Blue Lounge Bar ·YHI Spa with water circuit, 7 treatment rooms and a full gym measuring over 1,200 m2! * ·Delicious breakfast buffet with show cooking and breakfast area on the terrace to enjoy the views* ·Just 10 minutes from Palma de Mallorca airport and the main attractions in the city ·The best hotel in Mallorca for groups of over 300 people *extra charge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Palas Atenea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Palas Atenea Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Melia Palma De Mallorca
Melia Hotel Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing