We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Ranked #4 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed from 27 Nov- 1 Dec. Superb location in the old city, very convenient for all the key sites. Outstanding boutique hotel with exceptionally helpful and friendly staff. Individual rooms of great character (owner is a renowned interior designer) and beautiful and relaxing public lounges. Good restaurant with excellent breakfast - you can't expect the variety you might get in a large hotel, but the the choice is still good and the quality excellent. Can't recommend too highly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WimOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 576 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week in November 2013 and had an incredible time. From the time we arrived the staff was beyond helpful and accommodating. If you are staying here definitely take the advice of the staff for restaurants. They found us great places for all types of cuisine and were able to give walking directions to all that didn't require a taxi. Palma has something for everyone and the staff at the hotel takes the time to find out exactly what it is you are looking for; even if it is only a cozy wine bar for late night drinks. The hotel is nicely located within walking distance of almost everything in Palma.

The room was beautiful. They have done an incredible job of keeping most of the historical aspects of the building in tact and restored some of the amazing woodwork and fixtures. House keeping, room service, and turn down service were always very timely and not intrusive at all. We stayed in the Can Cera Suite which had a great private little terrace. I read in another review that they could hear the water pump from inside the suite. This is true, however it was never loud enough to really disturb anything at all. We slept straight through it during the night and only heard it faintly during the day. On a side note, the shower in this suite is phenomenal.... it made me want to re-do the bathrooms at home.

I did not go to the spa at all. however my significant other booked a massage. He came back to the room with a huge smile saying it was one of the best he ever had. It even helped relieve pain he was having from a trapped nerve in his shoulder. Overall it was an incredible experience and we have already recommended staying here to friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank HomeAgain098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Having lived on Mallorca, we are very familiar with Palma but not this hotel until we stayed there this trip. It is located in the heart of the City but in a quiet area. The ambiance and service is like being a pampered guest in a dear friend's home. We will definitely choose this hotel in the future.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is stunning! Beautiful furnishings, beautiful rooms and beautiful lounge areas! ~We spent four nights here (room 6) and it was perfectly positioned just off of Placa Santa Eulalia and a short walk to all the major sites. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, suggesting restaurants nearby and organising taxis. The room was very comfortable and the bedding so exquisitely soft my husband had to virtually drag me from the bed. The bathroom was fine except the shower screen really did not stop water leaking all over the floor - bit of a design fault. We enjoyed the breakfasts and had one dinner in the restaurant which was really good. A really good hotel and we would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manytravels_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a very conveniently located hotel, with helpful staff. it is clean warm, nicely decorated. We were disappointed that there were no tea and coffee facilities in the room, and at 10E a pop each time we ordered some, it was getting pricey. The hotel did bring us a kettle and some tea bags, but we were pretty upset when they charged us 5E a tea bag even when we were making it ourselves... We refused to pay this, and only when we were adamant, and two phone calls had been made were the excessive charges removed. Come on guys!
We would have liked a couple of armchairs in our room rather than the hard dining chairs.
The 'lounge' is a stunning room, but hard to use when its on a different floor, there are no refreshments etc.
And yes other reviews are right, it can be a bit noisy.
For the money, we didn't think they quite nailed it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fluffalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Have just spent five glorious days enjoying the Can Cera Hotel and its surroundings. The building itself is discreet and very beautiful, with a fabulous courtyard entrance, one of the delights of old Palma. The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The bottle of bubbly (to celebrate our 40 yr anniversary), was very much appreciated after our flight and though there was some noise from the central courtyard, it was not enough to put us off our stay. It is the centre of the city after all. We'd go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank millpark44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our group stayed 7 nights in 3 different rooms at Hotel Con Cera during Oct of 2013. Here is what you need to know:

- the hotel has only 12 rooms, and you are treated as if you are the only guest. Everyone we met treated us royally, with a smile, and was very helpful
- the BEST feature of this hotel are all the sitting areas you can use, there are at least 5 rooms with couches, chairs and tables all in an intimate setting so you feel as if you are in a house vs. a hotel
- the location of this hotel is right in downtown old-town Mallorca, so you can walk anywhere to the open markets (Placa Major), the churches (St. Francis, Eulaya, etc.) and the luxury shopping streets. Nothing seemed far by foot from this hotel
- there is a sunning area on the roof of this hotel, but personally the view isn't so great (just see other roof tops, and it's quite small), but it's worth going up those stairs once.
- There is a small spa at the hotel that you can reserve and it's free- there is a hot tub, a Finnish Sauna, a steam room and a shower.
-The free wi-fi is spotty, drops often and is sometimes slow .... so if you are planning to work from here, be careful
- We didn't take the 'breakfast' rate because other travelers said that the breakfast was the same every day and not that interesting, so we at at local cafes instead, so we can't comment on the breakfast
- the ceilings are very high in this hotel and most all the floors are tile -- so sounds carry very easily. For example, rooms 10 at the top floor, and room 6 are above where people check in, so if there are people talking in the lobby, you an hear them (that wasn't a problem for us, but you may want to wear ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise). Room 5 is just off one of the salons where people can congregate, so you'll hear them if you are in your room -- again, not a big problem, but take ear plugs if you are sensitive to noise.
-The Rooms:
- Rooms 10, 11 and 12 are on the top floor, you can't get to them without walking up at least one flight of stairs. If you want, you can walk up all 4 flights (which we did), but if you have mobility problems these are not the rooms for you. Take rooms 4,5 6 or 7, because you can get to them by using the elevator only.
Room 11 has a FANTASTIC SHOWER compared to rooms 10 and 6. By this I mean, there is a separate bath tub with a hand-held shower wand, but also a walk-in shower with a door and a shower head hanging from the ceiling, it was wonderful. I mention this because rooms 10 and 6 had only a bath tub (very high to step into), and the hand held shower wand, that if you weren't careful, easily sprayed water all over. We are Americans and not used to having only the shower hand-held, so if you are used to it, fine, if not, get a room with a regular shower in it!
Room 5, 7 and 8 are right off the salons where people can congregate (rooms with a wifi router, couches, chairs, etc. nice living rooms) so if there is a loud group, you may have noise.

The net/net - most rooms will have noise. Request a room with a walk-in shower if that's important to you. I liked room 11 the best, but 10 was also airy and nice (with the non walk-in shower).

That's it -- have a wonderful time!! I'll be back here, the positives of this hotel far outweigh the minor negatives.

Room Tip: Request a room with a walk in shower, they are much better than the bathtub-only, hand-held shower w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
871 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
496 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
543 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
930 reviews
0.9 mi away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Can Cera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Can Cera

Address: Calle San Francisco de Sales 8, 07004 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $198 - $411 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel Can Cera 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At over 700 years old, Can Cera has one of the longest histories in Palma. The building dates back to before 1232 when Jaume I conquered the island with Catalan and Aragonese troops. Located inside the ancient city walls close to the Cathedral, Can Cera is in the very heart of the Old City, between the Plaza de Santa Eulalia and the Plaza de San Francisco. Over the years, Can Cera’s many owners have made alterations to the original building. The most important of these were done in the 17th Century, when –as in many of the surrounding houses– Italian Renaissance architects inspired the creation of the celebrated patios, giving the houses their singularly attractive, yet austere, character. Inside, the house is significant and rich with well-proportioned rooms, high ceilings of sculptured plasterwork, balconies and above all, palatial adornments. Today, Can Cera, has been thoroughly renovated and equipped as a first class Hotel. The traditional Majorcan patio, with its majestic arches, exuberant Kentia and other lush plants, leads to the Reception area and the Can Cera Restaurant. A marble stairway leads up to a surprising space: a comfortable and welcoming Home with its original layout intact. Period furniture and contemporary paintings abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Boutique Hotel Can Cera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Can Cera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing