We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never come across better staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Tunbridge Wells UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Never come across better staff”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a most enjoyable five-night stay here at the end of June. We thought the rooms and décor were charming. There was not much of a view from our room, but situated as this hotel is, in the epicentre of the old town, that would have been an unreasonable expectation. It was easy walking distance to most of the sites we wanted to visit.

What made the hotel stand out was the quality of the staff and the level of service. Everyone was spontaneously friendly, and almost uncanny in their anticipation of our needs. Nothing was too much trouble.

Quality of the restaurant and variety of the menus were excellent. If I have a very mild gripe it relates to breakfast. There was nothing to complain of except rather a lack of imagination but he room wasn't cheap; we may have been more forgiving had breakfast been included in the price. As it was, after our first morning we breakfasted in the square around the corner.

All in all, though, this was one of the best city-centre hotels we have stayed in. We will certainly come back on our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    78
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
355
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at four hotels in mallorca (in order): can cera, son brull, jumeriah port soller, and la residencia (see my other reviews for the other hotels).

I enjoyed Can Cera very much, and I felt it was a wonderful value for the money. I researched a lot of hotels in palma, and this really is the best one. The location is much more quaint and quiet than the ones in the center (like hotel tres or puro, both of which were incredibly cheesy-looking when I peeked in). And yet Can Cera's location is still very safe. You can walk everywhere quite quickly, which was important for us because we were only staying in palma for two days.

My one gripe is that our room, a junior suite, was incredibly dark---really no outside lighting to speak of, besides a window that opened directly into the central courtyard where anyone passing by or eating at the restaurant could see inside. This wasn't a terrible problem for us, as we only stayed at the can cera two days, and used can cera as our base camp to get changed and to sleep---we spent our days at beach clubs (las terrazas, puro, both of which I recommend) and then at night we went out to restaurants. But, it was difficult to overcome jet lag in a room that had no natural light.

So can cera was great for our purposes as a convenient comfortable "stop over", but is likely to be less desirable for someone looking for a quality room with great views.

PS Check out their spa. It is simple, but also free (you need to make a reservation though). We enjoyed it very much!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cambie032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had originally booked the sister hotel Calatrava, but sadly they had a problem with their booking system and transfered us to this hotel for the 1st night of our stay.
I didn't mind at all when they suggested it as I had already read the great reviews.

The Can Cera is in a perfect location with a great courtyard area. Our room was was actually off this courtyard, and we loved it. It was a large room with a fab bathroom. We couldn't fault it at all.
The breakfast was ok, it didn't have a huge choice but what was there was good. The coffee was lovely.
Its a small personable hotel, with great staff, great rooms and superb location.

Its very different to its sister hotel Calatrava. We loved both hotels and would struggle which one to choose the next time we visit Palma.

I forgot what a great city Palma is.

Looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NikkiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Booked a junior suite (11) which was light and airy overlooking the street from 2nd floor. There is a major flaw however in our opinion with the room layout (more of that later)
The Hotel is in a fabulous location within the old district just minutes walking distance from the Cathedral, museums, promenade, restaurants and shopping areas.
The staff were very friendly and efficient which one would expect at the stated rating. We thought the breakfast was satisfactory with the standard continental offering and a good choice of hot made to order "English Breakfast"
There was a few negatives;
The bathroom on first viewing was stunning with a bath, huge separate shower room with a "Niagara" quality shower and a separate toilet and bidet room. However on using the room the flaw was exposed. The bathroom is "open plan" with no door between the room and the bedroom, in addition the toilet room has a clear glass door so if you want your toilet business to be private both in sound and vision you have to ask your partner/friend not to enter the bathroom area. It might not bother some, but I like to "contemplate" in private! I was told that some bedrooms do have a bathroom door (No 5 for one) so you may wish to ask prior to booking. Also there is no place for the ladies to do their makeup other than the bathroom as the light was insufficient. All in all it was very tiresome.
The 1st floor reception area is amazing, with wood panelled walls and antique furniture and plenty of sofa's to chill and read etc. the second floor reception area was very poor in comparison. The area looked more like a low rent hotel with tired furniture and stained carpet. It appeared as though this area was a quick conversion so it could be said that both floors had reception area's. all the junior suites are the same price so even though one would not expect a similar styled area as the 1st floor it should be of a standard that reflects the price paid.
The beds were comfy and the room was immaculate. The room service was excellent and unobtrusive.
In the round I would recommend this Hotel but I would have given it 5 stars if the bathroom and 2nd floor reception area issues were more to my liking.

Room Tip: Room 5 looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lancs4258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked the junior suite but when we checked in, found it was too hot for our liking and, as it was the end of March, there was no air conditioning. We later discovered it was above the hotel sauna. As it was also a very dark room, with the only heavily shuttered window overlooking a brick wall, we asked to be moved. The only room left was a deluxe room which, although cheaper, was lovely - light and airy. The only negative was the wardrobe was sited in the bathroom which made getting dressed a little awkward and there was no full length hanging space in there at all; it was fine for men's trousers and shirts but no good for dresses. I had to hang my clothes in the bedroom on top of pictures! Not really very good for a very expensive 5 star room. The hotel is in a good location for the old town; just minutes walk from the cathedral and shops. We ate in the hotel one night and had a wonderful meal - fabulous fish.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ferret49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle East
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Enjoyable stay in mid May. Spacious room and good size bathroom. Hotel perfectly located in Old Palma. Clean and well maintained. Internet wi fi very good and free. Avoid room one very noisy in the morning. Room service menu very poor and not in keeping with the standard and price of the hotel. Breakfast service excellent. Breakfast choice rather limited and very over priced. Check very smooth and front desk service helpful. House keeping could improve. Overall good stay but certainly room to improve at these room prices.

Room Tip: Stay away from room one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StanDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The building itself is something special - indeed if you sit in the courtyard long enough you will see various walking tours of the old town come in and take pictures. The hotel itself is pretty small, but has a great restaurant (in the evening, breakfast was pretty poor), and staff are friendly and attentive. The location as well for a couple of day's to explore the old town is perfect, and everything is in walking distance.

I think we were spoilt however having stayed at Cap Rocat ahead of here, so in comparison the rooms and service seemed a bit dissapointing. We were given, what we were told was their biggest suite (room 3), which was indeed big (it had a nice lounge area), but that aside was nothing that special.

All in all, a nice place to stay and explore the old town, but I wouldn't personally rush back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
754 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
418 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AH Art Hotel Palma
AH Art Hotel Palma
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
282 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Can Cera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Can Cera

Property: Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Address: Calle San Francisco de Sales 8, 07004 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#1 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel Can Cera 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At over 700 years old, Can Cera has one of the longest histories in Palma. The building dates back to before 1232 when Jaume I conquered the island with Catalan and Aragonese troops. Located inside the ancient city walls close to the Cathedral, Can Cera is in the very heart of the Old City, between the Plaza de Santa Eulalia and the Plaza de San Francisco. Over the years, Can Cera’s many owners have made alterations to the original building. The most important of these were done in the 17th Century, when –as in many of the surrounding houses– Italian Renaissance architects inspired the creation of the celebrated patios, giving the houses their singularly attractive, yet austere, character. Inside, the house is significant and rich with well-proportioned rooms, high ceilings of sculptured plasterwork, balconies and above all, palatial adornments. Today, Can Cera, has been thoroughly renovated and equipped as a first class Hotel. The traditional Majorcan patio, with its majestic arches, exuberant Kentia and other lush plants, leads to the Reception area and the Can Cera Restaurant. A marble stairway leads up to a surprising space: a comfortable and welcoming Home with its original layout intact. Period furniture and contemporary paintings abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Can Cera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Can Cera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing