We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVERALL, VERY GOOD, BUT SOME ISSUES”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OVERALL, VERY GOOD, BUT SOME ISSUES”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

1 night stay and it really is a lovely building with only 12 bedrooms, so very intimate. Nice glass of cava on arrival as we checked in and very friendly front of house staff, who seem enthusiastic about the hotel and its history(over 300 years old and originally a merchants house).
Rooms are lovely and bright and airy, if a little minimalist, but this is entirely in keeping with the property. All amenities provided as you would expect from a modern hotel.
Did not dine there, but breakfast was nice with usual cold buffet choices and hot dishes to order.
The courtyard on entry is where you dine as well, and it is very charming and during the day, is much photographed by passing tourists - it is very pretty.
Only real issue I have is that the hotel, being in a narrow street, has any outside sound amplified at whatever hour. The street is quiet but any noise seemed to carry despite us being on 2nd floor, with all windows and shutters closed.
This is an unusual small hotel where staff try hard to make you have an enjoyable time. We did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Maggiesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    78
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
355
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent 3 nights over a bank holiday weekend in the Can Cera. From the start to the end we were made to feel most welcome and the the room was extremely comfortable.

We had booked a Junior Suite, but upon arrival got upgraded to the Suite Can Cera. This room is furnished in a traditional Mallorcan style and is breathtaking.

Small touches like a glass of prosecco upon arrival, chocolates left in the room after cleaning and a small card left by the bed with the weather forecast were appreciated.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. Its location is off a charming square in the centre of old town Mallorca. It is rightly ranked #1 on the island by TripAdvisor reviewers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDYYSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The hotel is a wonderful adaptation of a 1700's estate-home into a hotel that combines modern features with old-world charm. The courtyard and restaurant/bar were welcoming - the food was great. Breakfasts were personalized and we looked forward to them each day.
The rooms are finished in typical Mallorcan furniture and linens. The hotel features a unique collection of art and antiques in every salon and every guest room. The hotel has wood floors and having been an old home, a bit of noise from the courtyard and other rooms did carry through the hotel. If you're a light sleeper, this could be an issue. Parking is only 50 feet away in a city lot - we had a rental car and parking was a bit challenging, but nothing too bad. The hotel does own a couple of parking spots but you need to reserve them. I would say that this could be one of the most unique hotels I have ever stayed at. It was a great place to stay while exploring Palma and Mallorca - a great city and island.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you may not want a room that overlooks the courtyard which can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corporatejetpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife & I just spent a long weekend at the Can Cera. Everything about the hotel is luxurious throughout, with superb service from all staff, who are very well trained, obliging, friendly & efficient. Good English was spoken by all the staff we interacted with, which was very useful as our Spanish is derisory. We had Junior Suite 12, which was a good size room with antique furniture & decorated with old prints. The bed was large & comfortable. The ultra modern bathroom was not to our taste, but was fully functional to all our wants, with good quality toiletries, towels & bathrobes. The small balcony was just big enough for us to sit on with a morning coffee & enjoy the cool breeze. The hotel does not provide tea/coffee making facilities, but furnished us with a kettle with no difficulty. The room was serviced to a high quality every morning whilst we were enjoying breakfast downstairs. We had breakfast included, which had a good buffet of various items of high quality. Cooked options were available at any extra cost. Coffee & freshly prepared fruit salad to order were served at the table by the obliging staff. The hotel has the most amazing amount of public space for use by guests, a number of large rooms, beautifully appointed with antique furniture & paintings. There is also a tiny rooftop seating area with 4 deck chairs. A truly 5 star experience. The only small comment I would make is the decription of the Junior "Suites" as such. I would normally construe the term suite to imply a sitting room in addition to the bedroom & bathroom. A better description here might be Superior Room?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spentbrothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We just had 2 nights here and what a find. Beaufiful room (7) though steps to bathroom not for elderly, and the welcome and staff were lovely. The building (17thC) has been lovingly restored and is beaufifully done. What was also astonishing was the quality of the food in the restaurant. We have travelled the world and eaten in some amazing places and take trouble to search out local eateries of quality. On the recommendation of the lady that showed us around we ate tapas for lunch, then had dinner there and again the next night. Stunning and excellent value. Will return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Elegant, small and cozy spot that you will be dreaming to return. In the middle of the jewish neighborhood rigth in the center of Palma.

Room Tip: Mine was awesome with a doubble bed and quite and nice. Food is also excellent since they have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Had a lovely weekend (Friday to Sunday) in Palma with my sister - I booked Can Cera after reading the recent tripadvisor reviews and was really pleased that it did not disappoint. When we arrived there was a tour group taking photos of the hotel - it is beautiful when you look through the huge gates into the courtyard.

We arrived at about midday and were met with a complimentary drink each (we chose a lovely glass of cava!) and were pleased that our room was ready even though it was well before check in time. We were shown around the hotel and advised by another guest that the food in the restaurant was excellent. The restaurant was fully booked on our first night (Friday) so worth booking ahead if you want to eat in - we did book for the Saturday evening which seemed quieter. We had the tasting menu - recommended. Stand out dishes were the ribs and the lemon meringue - superb.

We had room 4 - the room was large and cool with a lovely bathroom which had both a shower and a bath. The towels were only changed once a day which was ok for us. Turn down service with small fruit jellies left each evening and a weather report for the next day.

Our room overlooked the central courtyard but we had no trouble with noise as reported in other reviews.

We did not breakfast at the hotel but went to the nearby Capuccino restaurant and one of the smaller self service Cappucino cafes - both were lovely.

Hotel really well located - short walk to Cathedral, some lovely restaurants and amazing shops. Would recommend Abaco to go for a cocktail - we went at about 10pm after dinner on Friday and spent a good hour and a half looking round and having a cocktail in the courtyard at the rear - what a place - you just have to see it for yourself! Special Abaco cocktail 16 Euros but was extra large and so we only needed one each!!

On Saturday we did a day trip to Soller and Port de Soller via the old train and tram service which was great - a stunningly scenic journey with fantastic views and lovely beach at the end. As advised by another reviewer we got the bus back to Palma from Port de Soller - much quicker and only 3 Euros. (Bus stop just further up the road from the taxi rank - at the roundabout just at the start of the road on the left. Timetable and directions to bus stop at the information office - on a noticeboard at side of the building if the office closed).

On Sunday we hired a bike for a couple of hours (4 Euros per hour - need photo id and credit card) - we went along Palma's seafront and marina cycle path so felt very safe and away from traffic. Fantastic views along route of cathedral and the coast line - can go for miles!

Fitted lots in - felt like we had been there a week - great place for a fun weekend away. Can Cera Hotel made it very special - as per another review we had a late evening flight home and so the reception staff booked us the Spa to use before we got a taxi to the airport. They had filled the jacuzzi and we used the steam room and sauna before a shower and change - a lovely way to end our break. Thanks to all staff who were so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gle3120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
419 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
AH Art Hotel Palma
AH Art Hotel Palma
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
282 reviews
3.3 mi away
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Castillo Hotel Son Vida, a Luxur...
#8 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
#9 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Can Cera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Can Cera

Property: Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Address: Calle San Francisco de Sales 8, 07004 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Boutique Hotel Can Cera 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At over 700 years old, Can Cera has one of the longest histories in Palma. The building dates back to before 1232 when Jaume I conquered the island with Catalan and Aragonese troops. Located inside the ancient city walls close to the Cathedral, Can Cera is in the very heart of the Old City, between the Plaza de Santa Eulalia and the Plaza de San Francisco. Over the years, Can Cera’s many owners have made alterations to the original building. The most important of these were done in the 17th Century, when –as in many of the surrounding houses– Italian Renaissance architects inspired the creation of the celebrated patios, giving the houses their singularly attractive, yet austere, character. Inside, the house is significant and rich with well-proportioned rooms, high ceilings of sculptured plasterwork, balconies and above all, palatial adornments. Today, Can Cera, has been thoroughly renovated and equipped as a first class Hotel. The traditional Majorcan patio, with its majestic arches, exuberant Kentia and other lush plants, leads to the Reception area and the Can Cera Restaurant. A marble stairway leads up to a surprising space: a comfortable and welcoming Home with its original layout intact. Period furniture and contemporary paintings abound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel Can Cera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Can Cera Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing