We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lunch experience”
Review of Las Olas Bistro

Las Olas Bistro
Ranked #35 of 2,211 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: 3 Course lunch-menu, can be 1 course or Tapas. Sefardi/ Asian & Local influence. Not a fast food Restaurant!
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great lunch experience”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Our little group of two couples had a very nice lunch here in November. The food was superb, and the owner, an ex-pat from the British Isles, was friendly and nice to talk to. The restaurant is small but has a couple of outdoor tables. It is located in an interesting area, in the former Jewish ghetto area of Palma (Los Caminos de Sefarad), and the owner was able to give us some helpful advice about sights in the area. Highly recommended. I would go out of my way to find this one if I return to Palma.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    96
    22
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Superb !!!!!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Well what can I say. We have an apartment on the island and have been coming here for 40 years for my sins we buy the Mallorca Daily Bulletin and once a week they do restaurant reviews. So when we we here in September I read this review and then checked out Trip advisor got some good reviews so we decided when we were next here we would try it. So we went tester day for lunch. We had the menu del dia 14€ per head it was brilliant the quantities were perfect the quality and presentation was fantastic. I had to begin with a pâté which had a perfect balance not of strong but very tasty followed by a beef main course for me cooked to perfection as I love my meat rare and it could not have been better . Their were two people front of house the owner and a waitress the owner was very nice a chatty when I chatted to him and the waitress was very professional and polite. We will definitely return before we go back home for dinner in the evening. We felt very comfortable their the ambiance of the restaurant is very relaxing. What comes over when chatting to the owner is that it's not about how much money he can take but the experience the customer receives. So to sum up if you want to go to a lovely relaxed atmosphere restaurant with excellent food and great service and not pay a ridiculous amount of money for it This is a must.
Enjoy........

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trickydicky555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Discovered by accident”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Walking around Palma, we came across Las Olas and was very pleasantly surprised by the lunch we had.

Though we were originally going to just have tapas, Le Patron persuaded us to try the menu del dia,mwhich was three courses. He described it as the deal, with a choice of two starters, two mains and two desserts or coffee.
The food was excellent and the restaurant itself has a lovely ambience. The Asian influence on the dishes enhances the food and the choice.

The range of wine is good as well. It is a pity that we only discovered the restaurant on the last day of our holidays, as we would have definitely made several repeat visits there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RussellH39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First choice every time in Palma!”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Leaving Palma after 5 years, the food of Las Olas is what we miss most of all. Always tasty, balanced and "lagom", a Swedish word that is impossible to translate. Means not too much, not too little. The different gazpachos.... ....the Khmer salad.... the homemaid postres....the friendly atmosphere- Our best memories of Palma are all hours we have spent at Las Olas.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Unique every time”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

It is a refreshing fusion restaurant in the heart of the old town. The food is always fresh, tasty, and really something unique. Would suggest to anyone visiting Mallorca to try this place. Real value for money.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrisztaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Olas Bistro also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Las Olas Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing