We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Colon Palma
Nearby Hotels
HM Jaime III(Palma de Mallorca)
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Can Cera(Palma de Mallorca)
$352
$321
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel UR Portofino(Palma de Mallorca)
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Gran Melia Victoria(Palma de Mallorca)
$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Palma Suites(Palma de Mallorca)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Palma Bellver Managed By Melia(Palma de Mallorca)
$219
$183
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Palma Marina(Palma de Mallorca)
$317
$208
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque(Palma de Mallorca)
$175
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Posada Terra Santa(Palma de Mallorca)
$382
$269
SmithHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Boutique Hotel Calatrava(Palma de Mallorca)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveler rating
43
103
59
14
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
103
59
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo double bedsheating systemsmall fridgecafes and barstrain stationrooms were spotlessfree wifitravel kettlegreat city hotelwithin walking distanceold towndecent hotelnice bathroomlight sleepercouple of nightsweekend breakthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 229 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very pleasant small hotel, convenient to all tourist attractions. We found it hard to find as it has a very small sign outside, it is on a corner opposite a restaurant (which serves a very nice breakfast) but they could really do with a proper sign. Rooms are small but spotless and quiet, staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flyawayjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in May 2013. Central location - easy walk to old town, railway station and cathedral. Clean and recently refurbished. Rooms are quite small and the safes didn't work in either of our rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. A little noisy on the lower floors on the front of the building from the road but not enough to disturb sleep.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Hotel Colon in March, choosing it based on TripAdvisor reviews. While initially worried about it being a 1-star hotel, I was pleasantly surprised. The location is particularly good if one is coming into the city, or exploring Mallorca by bus/train, as the station is about a 10 minute walk. The hotel itself is very basic, but clean and well kept. The rooms are small, and have tiny bathrooms, but I even had a small terrace in mine. There are no amenities to speak of in the hotel, hence its 1-star rating. But the staff are friendly and very accommodating. There are some restauarnts nearby, but there are all fairly basic, and seem to be frequented by locals. The heart of Palma is about a 20-minute walk, so not too far for most people. What was great for me, is the number of small bakeries in the immediate neighbourhood, with great pies and pastries. Overall, I was extremely happy with my choice, and would gladly return the next time I am in Palma.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Pro: perfect location, nice staff, very clean, good beds. Location is near a busy street but I slept on a side that I didn't hear anything.
Contra: no breakfast but nice places near by, a little bit noisy but only from people at the hall.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We found this hotel on the internet and decided to stay here because it is relatively cheap and the location seemed to be right for us. When holidaying we don't need somewhere with a swimming pool or other recreation facilities because we just don't use them -- all we want is somewhere comfortable to base ourselves.

Our room was on the first floor, right above the reception area. The traffic noise might upset some people, but we've lived on a main road for years and tend not to notice it. Keep the windows closed and the glazing, along with good blackout curtains keeps the noise out. The room was small, but not so small that it was uncomfortable (no smaller than many other places that we have stayed). The bathroom facilities were compact, but adequate for our needs (shower, washbasin and toilet). Gel dispensers were provided by the basin and in the shower.

Reception gave us the WiFi access details and this worked well (this was free to use). There was an air-conditioning/heating unit, but we didn't need to use it.

It was just a ten minute walk down the road to get to the train and bus station situated opposite the Placa D'Espanya (you can only see the old station buildings from ground level because all the new station facilities have been moved underground).

The number 1 local bus that gets one to and from the airport also stops in the Placa D'Espanya, so transport to and from the airport is really easy -- a bus every 15 minutes during the daytime. It's about a 15 minute trip to the airport and the bus fare is just €2.50 each.

Walk through the centre of the city and it will take about 25 minutes to arrive at the cathedral and harbour front.

Cafe's and bars abound in the area, so finding somewhere to eat doesn't pose a problem. We don't normally make recommendations, but we ate mostly at the Cafe 1916 in the Placa D'Espanya.

Staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful. The room was kept clean, as were the public areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wessex-andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews