We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colon Palma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Colon Palma
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just spent a couple of days in palma, Bed was memory foam, very comfy, room was spacious and the entire hotel was the cleanest i have ever experienced. not far off placa espanja, which had buses and trains going to the rest of the island. We had to wait a little bit to check in because we arrived very early and check in is at 12 but we were offered a place to put our luggage. Walls seemed to be a little thin as we could hear anyone that were near us, but wasn't much of a problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lukester789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    81
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
20
79
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Very pleasant small hotel, convenient to all tourist attractions. We found it hard to find as it has a very small sign outside, it is on a corner opposite a restaurant (which serves a very nice breakfast) but they could really do with a proper sign. Rooms are small but spotless and quiet, staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyawayjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in May 2013. Central location - easy walk to old town, railway station and cathedral. Clean and recently refurbished. Rooms are quite small and the safes didn't work in either of our rooms. Staff friendly and helpful. A little noisy on the lower floors on the front of the building from the road but not enough to disturb sleep.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Hotel Colon in March, choosing it based on TripAdvisor reviews. While initially worried about it being a 1-star hotel, I was pleasantly surprised. The location is particularly good if one is coming into the city, or exploring Mallorca by bus/train, as the station is about a 10 minute walk. The hotel itself is very basic, but clean and well kept. The rooms are small, and have tiny bathrooms, but I even had a small terrace in mine. There are no amenities to speak of in the hotel, hence its 1-star rating. But the staff are friendly and very accommodating. There are some restauarnts nearby, but there are all fairly basic, and seem to be frequented by locals. The heart of Palma is about a 20-minute walk, so not too far for most people. What was great for me, is the number of small bakeries in the immediate neighbourhood, with great pies and pastries. Overall, I was extremely happy with my choice, and would gladly return the next time I am in Palma.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therichpeasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Pro: perfect location, nice staff, very clean, good beds. Location is near a busy street but I slept on a side that I didn't hear anything.
Contra: no breakfast but nice places near by, a little bit noisy but only from people at the hall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We found this hotel on the internet and decided to stay here because it is relatively cheap and the location seemed to be right for us. When holidaying we don't need somewhere with a swimming pool or other recreation facilities because we just don't use them -- all we want is somewhere comfortable to base ourselves.

Our room was on the first floor, right above the reception area. The traffic noise might upset some people, but we've lived on a main road for years and tend not to notice it. Keep the windows closed and the glazing, along with good blackout curtains keeps the noise out. The room was small, but not so small that it was uncomfortable (no smaller than many other places that we have stayed). The bathroom facilities were compact, but adequate for our needs (shower, washbasin and toilet). Gel dispensers were provided by the basin and in the shower.

Reception gave us the WiFi access details and this worked well (this was free to use). There was an air-conditioning/heating unit, but we didn't need to use it.

It was just a ten minute walk down the road to get to the train and bus station situated opposite the Placa D'Espanya (you can only see the old station buildings from ground level because all the new station facilities have been moved underground).

The number 1 local bus that gets one to and from the airport also stops in the Placa D'Espanya, so transport to and from the airport is really easy -- a bus every 15 minutes during the daytime. It's about a 15 minute trip to the airport and the bus fare is just €2.50 each.

Walk through the centre of the city and it will take about 25 minutes to arrive at the cathedral and harbour front.

Cafe's and bars abound in the area, so finding somewhere to eat doesn't pose a problem. We don't normally make recommendations, but we ate mostly at the Cafe 1916 in the Placa D'Espanya.

Staff at the hotel were friendly and very helpful. The room was kept clean, as were the public areas of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wessex-andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
277 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

for some reason it took us a while to locate this hotel although it is signposted and all the locals seemed to know it. It is very clean although small. I would like to put 3 and a half stars really and felt it was better than 3 stars. With a little help from reception we got wifi in the room. Considering the rooms appeared to be close together and were small it was quiet. the location is good (20 mins walk from the historical part of Palma and 10 mins from bus and train stations and tourist information)and there are plenty of food options. The bar across from the hotel was fine for dinner one night-again good value. It seemed to have most things e.g free wifi, hairdryer, space in the bathroom to put toiletries, good shower and a bath. I chose it because of the price which was one of the cheaper options for central Palma. It wasn't too noisy either since it is near to a main road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newgallowaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Bons Aires
Hotel Abelux
Hotel Abelux
#53 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#54 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Hotel Abelay
#58 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UR Palacio Avenida
#44 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Hotel Armadams
#46 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Hesperia Ciutat Mallorca
#39 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colon Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colon Palma

Property: Hotel Colon Palma
Address: Calle Treinta y Uno de Diciembre 31, 07003 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Amic Hotel Colon)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca > Bons Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Colon Palma 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in Palma de Mallorca center near the Plaza de España Hotel Colon Palma is very well connected to everywhere in the island. Ideal for independent travellers that wishes to discover the city and book directly to the Hotel. English speaking Staff and very helpful. Totally refurbished in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Colon Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Palma Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing