We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern spacious room, large patio, good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Colon Palma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Colon Palma
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Modern spacious room, large patio, good location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for five days. The room was on the fifth floor, two double beds, very spacious with coffee table and two easy chairs. Modern tv, fridge, laminate floors, double glazing. Lots of natural light but also window shutters and good blackout curtains. Large patio with two sun beds and table and chairs for eating/drinking.
Large modern bathroom with jacuzzi bath, great to relax after lots of sight seeing.
24 hour reception, friendly staff even though limited English spoken.
15 minute walk to bus and train links.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANGIEB60187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    81
    46
    10
    8
See reviews for
21
79
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is a perfect hotel for travelling around Majorca, a pleasant ten minutes walk to the excellent underground bus/train station and the next door train station for Soller. The facilities were basic but adequate, some have mentioned the thin walls, this was very true on the third floor, every sound was amplified, take ear plugs!

Palma is worth a stay for its wonderful architecture and arts scene and the many tapas bars kept us well fuelled. A particular bar definitely not to miss is the fabulous and friendly Café L'Antiquari,Carrer d'Arabi 5 near Plaça Major, a quirky arty place with many seating areas inside and out on the steps, great food too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birminghamguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

reviews are very important and definitely helped me choosing this hotel instead of even cheapest ones in the area.

I would say that quality/price is very good, staff is efficient and the hotel is located in a very central and comfortable area close to Plaza Espana.

The hotel is very clean and well kept even if there some improvement to be done, but minor things

I would definitely suggest this hotel and of course use it again when going to Palma

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wv83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

An absolute gem in the heart of Palma.The hotel is in a great location, a 10/15minute walk from the central bus, metro and train station, so a great base if you want to explore the island. The room was perfectly nice, simply but tastefully decorated. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. The shower head in our room had a tendency to droop, but otherwise very pleasant. We were provided with a remote control for the air-con (which was very effective) by reception. Comfortable bed, only slight negative is that the springs were quite noisy on our bed. My partner is diabetic so we requested a fridge for his medication, which was kindly provided to us. Staff were generally pleasant, we encountered two female receptionists during our stay, one of whom was extremely friendly and helpful, the other was a bit miserable looking at times or would frequently be talking to a friend in the next room, but still perfectly helpful when approached. We arrived early on our day of check-in and departed late and were able to leave our bags in a secure room. The reception area is very nicely decorated. There is a decent computer in reception from which one can access the internet for free. I've read other reviews describing problems with there being thin walls, but we never experienced any problems. This hotel is not suitable for someone wanting easy access to a beach, Palma's beaches (30/40 minutes walk) are not very nice. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. Great value. I can also recommend D'Tapas, a restaurant on the same road as the hotel which offers excellent at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MelMul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was great for our two nights in Mallorca. Modern room with aircon. The bathroom had large windows which opened up. The room also had a fridge. The room was a little on the small side but this was a stop over in Palma for a couple of days so did the job.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niculees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roy898
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This small hotel is great for a short break in Palma,15 mins walk from the centre.
Its clean,tidy and for a one star hotel very well appointed,the staff are pleasant,helpfull with local information.There are bars just across the road also the bakery for fresh bread ect.
5min walk you can eat well try Muskan for very good pizzas kabab fresh fish dishes all good value,the waiter Duyer is a perfect host.

Room Tip: go for the suites onthe top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roy898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

This newly renovated hotel is in an ideal location an easy 10 min walk from airport bus. As you walk to the hotel you will pass the station for the train to soller on your right. As you look for your street you will see a sign for the hotel. The two bars beside it are perfect for a drink and a meal, pleasant staff and cheap. The check in was easy and efficient. The room has plenty space to hang clothes and there are plenty shelves. Not the smallest room by far that I have stayed in in a central location. The bed was comfy (hard) and I was not disturbed by any noise, The safe did not work so after asking twice the very pleasant girl on reception, who was working herself, locked up temporarily, saw for herself it did not work, apologised and gave us the room next door. We had booked in for 4 nights so I don't know if this was why we got the top floor but on opening the door I found myself on the roof complete with 2 sun loungers, a table and 4 chairs! The room and bathroom were spotless. There is liquid soap in a dispenser next to the sink and the shower and also a hair dryer. Another nice touch was that you could draw curtains plus there was also a blackout curtain which I made use of. The air con is perfect with different settings. The room was kept clean and new towels supplied if you left used ones on floor. Check out is 11am but there is a locked cupboard to store luggage. I would stay there again and have already recommended it to friends. It is near the bus station and the main tourist attractions are a mere stroll away. Remember to take water back with you as there is no vending machine.

Room Tip: If you like sitting outside your room I guess one of the rooms on the top floor. I do not know i if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank edinburghjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Bons Aires
Hotel Abelux
Hotel Abelux
#53 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#54 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Hotel Abelay
#59 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UR Palacio Avenida
#42 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Hesperia Ciutat Mallorca
#39 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Hotel Armadams
#47 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colon Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colon Palma

Property: Hotel Colon Palma
Address: Calle Treinta y Uno de Diciembre 31, 07003 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Amic Hotel Colon)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca > Bons Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Colon Palma 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in Palma de Mallorca center near the Plaza de España Hotel Colon Palma is very well connected to everywhere in the island. Ideal for independent travellers that wishes to discover the city and book directly to the Hotel. English speaking Staff and very helpful. Totally refurbished in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Colon Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Palma Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing