We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Colon Palma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Colon Palma
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at the Colon for a night before flying home the next day.The hotel is pretty central on a lovely street surrounded by great Tapas bars. The reception staff were excellent, very friendly & professional. Our room was clean, modern and adequate. Great price too, would definitely recommend & visit again.

Room Tip: The hotel doesn't have a breakfast area, but the tapas bar next door opens early & serves gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baildon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    81
    43
    10
    8
See reviews for
20
79
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed here for just 1 night.
We wanted to see Palma de Mallorca by day and by night, sleep over and go to the airport. This hotel served this purpose very well. Especially for the price we paid!
The room and bathroom is very tiny – however very clean. This is very important to me. There is free internet connection in the room – which was nice.
Personnel was very helpful, helped with getting around, directions and taxi to the airport.
One full day is enough to see all Palma.
I would suggest to anyone for short stays as ours.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natiki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in the Colon for two nights - on the first and last nights of our holiday in Mallorca. My partner and I were really impressed with it.

Location is very good. It is only approx 10 min walk to the main bus/train station, and approx 15-20 min walk to the main shopping area / cathedral / marina, along nice streets. There are a few cafes and restaurants nearby - definitely go to "Tasca" (owned by Mark Fosh) only 3 streets away - lovely food - and stop for a drink and snack in the 31 Decembre bar / cafe 2 blocks away - great staff and resonable drinks.

Staff at the hotel were really nice, very helpful and friendly.

On the day of our checkout, we didn't need to be at the airport until about 6.30pm. I was delighted that the hotel offers late check out of up to 6pm for a mere €15. This gave us the chance to do some more exploring / shopping before coming back to our room, packing, and showering.

Room was clean, rather small perhaps, with a free fridge and safe in the room. The air conditioning worked well and was quiet. Wide range of channels on the flatscreen TV in Spanish / English / German.

The free wi-fi was good too. Signal was low in the bedroom, but we easiy accessed it in the lobby.

Bathroom was very clean, and furnishings looked relatively new. Very good power from the shower, which is a huge plus for me!

The one minor downside was the elevator - tiny, especially when you're bringing up big bags - but then again, we managed to squeeze in 2 adults and 2 pieces of luggage in one go, so it's only a minor complaint.

Sure it's lacking some of the extras of a resort-like hotel - there is no pool, gym, restaurant or bar/lounge - but it does exactly what it says on the tin and is excellent value for a base to explore the lovely city of Palma. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wosheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Good location if you are looking for a city stop.
Young girls on reception provide excellent service
Rooms very clean
Good value for money
Unfortunately hotel needs a balcony, recreation rooms, bigger beds and a bit more space.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

The room appeared to have been recently renovated. The staff were excellent and friendly. The hotel itself was very clean and the wireless internet was fine. They also sell bottled water in reception for a reasonable price.

We found the location very convenient. An easy 10 minute walk from the train/main bus station from the airport. A nice side strip of nice restaurants within 5 minutes and a main street with a few coffee shops/average looking restaurants. It's an easy walk towards the Old Town and the Cathederal and more shopping. The popular Tren De Soller departs from right near the Hotel aswell.

The staff could have been slightly more knowledgeable about the area and things to do. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

A well run, clean, reasonably priced hotel with good wifi connection, room safe for laptops etc. air conditioning, TV and a small fridge. Could have done with tea making facility in room (we went prepared with our own travel kettle). Numerous cafes and bars along the road as well as a supermarket, all within 200 meters. The staff were friendly and helpful and all understood my language (English)
The hotel is about 10 minute walk from Palma's main rail and bus station. The public transport here is cheap and very efficient a far cry from the UK where they want to rip you off at every move.
We were on a hill walking holiday so the central location was essential. The hotel is about 45 minute ride, by bus, from the nearest beach.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albir Alicante
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Hotel recently reformed. Clean and well managed. Staff friendly and helpful. Rather noisy and the first night we stayed there the hotel had accepted a booking from a group of young men who held a party in the rooms and roof terrace above our room. This went on into the early hours and made sleeping difficult.
The walls of the hotel are thin and we could hear talking and the television in the next room.
The room we were allocated was very small but adequate.
The absence of a bar or restaurant meant that there were few facilities for meeting up in the hotel although plenty of bars and cafes nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid weekends and twin rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albirian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Bons Aires
Hotel Abelux
Hotel Abelux
#53 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#54 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
Hotel Abelay
#58 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UR Palacio Avenida
#44 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Hotel Armadams
#46 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Hesperia Ciutat Mallorca
#40 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colon Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colon Palma

Property: Hotel Colon Palma
Address: Calle Treinta y Uno de Diciembre 31, 07003 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Amic Hotel Colon)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca > Bons Aires
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Colon Palma 1*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New in Palma de Mallorca center near the Plaza de España Hotel Colon Palma is very well connected to everywhere in the island. Ideal for independent travellers that wishes to discover the city and book directly to the Hotel. English speaking Staff and very helpful. Totally refurbished in 2010. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Colon Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Colon Palma Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing