We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horizonte earned it's name!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Ranked #60 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Great hotel, great view on the horizon, the city and the seaside. Room was clean and big, with a big balcony, flat screen TV, big bed and a big bathroom with the jacuzzi tub. Staff was friendly and very helpful, the pool is great and having the bar next to it was really handy. It's not far from the city center and from the beautiful beaches, about 15 minutes by foot, so do yourself a favor and take a walk, because the city is beautiful and it's a pity to experience the streets just from the taxi or the bus. We hope we'll visit it again!

Room Tip: If you have a chance ask for the rooms at the top, because they have the best view. There are also s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZdravkoCvjetkovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (929)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

208 - 214 of 929 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

The Hotel was clean and the rooms minimally furnished but the overall effect was modern and stylish. The staff anticipated our needs and provided excellent service throughout our stay. We will definitely book again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweepey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We spent 10 days in Hotel Horizonte and we had a great time! The room was big and clean with a huge bathroom and a jacuzzi. We had the most beautiful view from our balcony, our room was at the top. We saw that they were renovating this part of the hotel so we took a sneak peek into one of the rooms, they were very modern and neat. The swimming pool is huge and right there is a very nice bar, all in white, looks very fancy. Good food and cocktails too! The staff was really nice and friendly, they always took their time to explain whatever we asked for, and they had really good recommendations for restaurants, trips, things to see.. The hotel is just 10 - 15 min walk away from the closest beach, you can walk or take the bus, the station is very close to the hotel. We had such a nice time, we would definitely go there again!!!

Room Tip: You should definitely ask for a room at the top, but since the hotel is a bit uphill, every room whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabinaPezo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had planned to spend 2 nights at Hotel Horizonte, but ended up extending it to 5 largely because of the amazing care we received from the front desk. As well, there was a great bartender and also great restaurant and cleaning staff. The people on the hotel staff make this hotel worth visiting. Awesome view, particularly from the corner rooms. We like walking, and it was an easy walk to Castel de Beliver overlooking the city (15 minutes) and an easy walk down along the marina to the Cathedral (30 minutes). If you walk the other way (away from the old town) there is an old fort (Castell de Sant Carles) about 15 minutes away with a terrifying collection of hand-weapons. If you stick to the shoreline still heading out of town and go just a tiny bit further, there is an awesome rocky beach. If you walk a bit further still, there's a great sandy beach in Sant Agusti. All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We chose the Hotel Horizonte [HH], based on Tripadvisor reports, primarily for its location, and we were not disappointed. Sitting high on a hill above the commercial port of Palma, our 6th floor room with a double aspect balcony, provided a 270 degree panoramic view across the bay to Palma’s splendid cathedral, as well as giving us a bird’s eye view of the cruise liners arriving and departing: sometimes as many as 5 a day.
On arrival, late at night, we received a very friendly welcome from Tao. The light switch inside the doorway of our room did not work but after reporting it to Tao, it was fixed by 10 am the following morning. Superb service. Our request that our TV be re-tuned (from German to English) was not so very promptly dealt with, but we were compensated for the 24 hour delay with complimentary drinks. In any establishment there will be faults but it is how they are dealt with that matters and here HH came up trumps, so a special thank you to Eduardo and Maria on reception.
We had tried to book a junior suite but the website did not offer that option for our dates, however we were able to switch to one the day after our arrival. A much bigger room (although the previous, sea-view room had not been small) with a vast (and more comfortable) bed and a more spacious bathroom, which had a bidet as well as a whirl pool bath, with overhead shower. The TV was now a flat screen one, although, oddly, the junior suite room did not have a trouser press, as our previous room had. We were fine without one.
Our room and bathroom were spotlessly clean and were serviced daily with towels and bed linen being changed more frequently than we would have asked for (on environmental grounds). There was hot water available at all times. Everywhere was very clean and the vast majority of the staff were friendly and very helpful. Twice in the dining room, one of the chefs who was cooking on the grill arranged for something different to be cooked for me since, as a non meat eater, my choice of main course on two of our nine nights was fairly minimal. In general however, there was a good choice of main dishes with a variety of vegetables and salads available every night. Likewise at breakfast, there was an excellent range of food to suit British and Continental tastes, although the “orange juice” had a very sweet, synthetic taste. The dining room has a variety of table sizes, some capable of seating up to 10 people. There was also an outdoor area which was very popular but contained only 9 tables. While the waiting staff were very friendly, sometimes they could have cleared away ‘dirty’ dishes and re-set tables more quickly.
Tony, the very friendly and knowledgeable ‘pool’ barman explained why the bar did not stock port (due mainly to the high temperature – it was over 30C in early October) but said he would order a bottle for us, which duly arrived the following day. How many non-luxury hotels would offer such a service? The pool itself is large, surrounded by about 40 sun loungers, but there were no parasols in sight. Without them, sunbathing in mid-summer would have to be brief.
We did not like the somehow tasteless, beer served in HH, but, If you turn left out of the hotel, walk 70 yards you come to a set of (100+) steps, at the bottom, turn right and follow the road till a left hand junction; take that road downhill and you will come to “Cafe Noray” on the right hand corner. It has tables outside (on the pavement) is very popular with locals (always a good sign) and serves delicious food and coffee, as well as really cold San Miguel beer. Do visit it, for an authentic ‘feel’ of Palma. The 100+ steps can be avoided by turning sharp right outside the hotel and following the road as it bends to the right at the bottom.
A minor inconvenience in the hotel was that one could not run a ‘tab’ by charging drinks to one’s room account. All drinks must be paid for at the time of consumption, rather than at the end of one’s stay, via a debit or credit card; so ensure that you have sufficient Euros. There is a very handy ATM immediately outside the hotel – to the right of the entrance.
Finally, if you are tempted to pay to go on the red Palma Sight-Seeing bus tour, think again, as frankly, the cathedral and Bellver castle apart ,there is precious little to see and, at 35 Euros for two, isn’t cheap. So little indeed that the bus makes a sizeable loop/ detour to go past Mallorca’s “biggest indoor shopping centre”, but since all of it is underground, there was no way to gauge the size of it and nothing to actually “see”. The audio commentary is provided by a man whose native language is not English (Why?) who pronounced “iron” as “eye-ron” and “exhibition” as “eggsibition” and whose diction generally made one wince. Passing a statue of someone, he referred to her as “devote” when he meant “devout”.
We are planning to return to HH (and to Cafe Noray) and will definitely stay in a junior suite again.

Room Tip: Junior suite well worth the additional supplement. The higher the floor, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LYNNAER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night prior to boarding a cruise in Palma. We booked a shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel but, as the journey was only 10 minutes, in future we would take a taxi.

On arrival we were dismayed to find that the hotel had no record of our reservation that had been made through a UK agency - as it was 9 o´clock at night this wqas somewhat disconcerting! Hopwever, the reception staff were great and managed to find us a room.

The room was on the third floor and had a side sea view from the balcony right down to the spot where our cruise ship docked - as we were up early the next morning we were able to watch the ship sail in. The room was very modern - obviously recently re.decorated - with a very attractive bathroom that had a double shower and ´hisnhers´ washing basins. The bed was very comfortable.

We had booked half board but, after the delay of getting a room, dinner was nearly over so what food remained was somewhat cold. Breakfast was fine with a good selection of English and Continental dishes. The bar terraces are lovely and views stunning.

The hotel is away from the city centre but there is a bus stop immediately outside plus a taxi rank that seemed to be manned 24 hours a day. Not perhaps the best location for anyone with mobility problems but otherwise a good location for a city centre stay.

After checking out the hotel called us a taxi - took 30 seconds to arrive - that took us down to the cruise terminal for a fare of just 7€.

All in all, we would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for well priced accommodation - especially for anyone wanting a pre-cruise stay. In our opinion the hotel warrants a mugh highter star rating.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We arrived to HOTEL HORIZONTE on october 2013 for an unforgettable week in mallorca!! We came in a group of 4 friends and we ordered 2 adjoining twin rooms with sea view. The first thing that we saw when we got in the hotel was the huge smiles of Sofia, Maria and Miki , three of the receptionists, who welcomed us amazingly and immediately treated us and gave us a lot of passes to the best clubs and many others benefits and discounts. The rooms were nice and clean with an incredible view to the port of Palma. One of the rooms even included a jacuzzi in it!! Every night there is a different activity in the hotel, such as Salsa night, Mexican night, Ladies night, Paella night (Lorenzo the chef is making the best paella in all mallorca, I checked it) and more. The food is great, everyone in the staff are so pleasant, helpful and giving from the heart! I've been in many hotels in Europe, but I never felt so in home like I felt in HOTEL HORIZONTE. If you are looking for a good hotel in a fair price, that it's close to everything and located in the center of Palma- This hotel is your answer! Gracias por todo!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InbarK_AmberK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#28 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,628 reviews
Hotel Armadams
#46 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
411 reviews
Palma Bellver By Melia
#29 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innside By Melia Palma Bosque
#16 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
214 reviews
Bons Aires
Hotel Colon Palma
Hotel Colon Palma
#59 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
214 reviews
UR Palacio Avenida
#47 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Amic Horizonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amic Horizonte

Address: Calle Vista Alegre 1 | La Bonanova, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $54 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Amic Horizonte 2*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Horizonte Free Wi-Fi *** . is a family run Hotel up a hill in Palma managed by brothers Marga and Andreu . We are not the best Hotel in Palma but we work always to improve things day by day . let,s meet ! We offer stunning views of Palma Bay as you can read in TA thats why we always recomend to book our superior rooms with sea view in stead of cheaper ones standard No sea view ( it is really worthy ) Close to the Puerto de Palma Harbour. It features an outdoor pool and rooms with balconies, 2,5 km from central Palma cathedral .All air-conditioned accommodation at the Horizonte has simple, bright décor. Each room comes with satellite TV and private bathroom.The hotel has a buffet restaurant which serves a selection of Mediterranean cuisine and features a terrace, offering Mediterranean Sea views. . The nearest beach is Playa Cala Mayor Beach,2,5 km from the hotel and Palma’s old town can be reached in 20 minutes, by bus. You can find the Porto Pí Shopping Center and Mallorca Casino in a short walk , Pacha Dico . The city’s airport is just 9 km away and the port is a 10-minute walk from the Horizonte. We recomend to use the public bus 46 at 40 mts of the door or use the taxi because of the If any doubts we always recomend you to contact us before you buy your holidays so no surprises will appear in future . We will be glad to answer you all doubts . Be happy Amic ! Marga and Andreu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Amic Horizonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizonte Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Amic Horizonte Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing