We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable”

Bellver Castle (Castell de Bellver)
Book In Advance
More Info
$112.96*
and up
Lambretta Bike Tours in Mallorca
More Info
$24.71*
and up
Palma de Mallorca Half Day Sightseeing Tour with Transfers
More Info
$21.78*
and up
Palma de Mallorca Sightseeing Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This large, 14th century castle overlooking the town of Palma now houses a museum.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We happened across this attraction by chance really, sat in a bar the night before we left we asked what the waitresses favourite attraction in the city was... to all our surprise she came up with something we not only were yet to see, but hadn't even realised was an attraction worth seeing.

I dread the thought that we might have left the city without taking in what I would easily rate to be the best tourist attraction, Views alone are worth the minimal entrance fee, you won't see this side of the city from anywhere else, but in addition to this the rooms leading up to the top of the castle are packed with information.

You get a journey through time, leading from the earliest settlement right through to the booming tourist industry, a fascinating experience which I'm slightly shamed to admit contained little information which I already knew. Perhaps not great for extremely little children, but as soon as you have any interest in history you will find something here for you.

Don't miss this, you would regret it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,388
    1,367
    369
    40
    18
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Worth the visit for the views over Palma”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Belver castle is a beautiful circlar castle. The circular structure is interesting, and very attractive. The whole of the interior is a beauritiful circular space, open to the sky, This is surrounded by covered arcading, which contains interesting statues, and this has doors leading to the rooms. These rooms have been well presented, and house interesting exhibits illlustrating the history and times of the castle.
The castle has two floors, and then a open roof, with crenellatons. This area offers beautiful views over Palma, and the ports. Well worth the visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeBoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The Bellver Castle is a must see especially for history buffs! It is a beautifully built castle with spectacular panoramic views of Palma.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a good choice.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The castle was hard to find by car and when you park there is a ticket office by the car park. This was closed so we walked to the castle entrance where we were asked for the tickets which we didn't have as the office was closed. We were told to go back and pay for the tickets and when we got there, some two or three hundred meters from the entrance, there was a queue and the office was still closed. The attendant was talking to someone and wouldn't open the door until she was finished. We left without even seeing the inside of the castle. Disgusted!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic views”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I asked at the tourist information in the Centre of Palma how to get there. I was told to get the tourist bus but I overheard him telling another three different people (all going to different places) to use the bus which is 17.50 euros. I walked - it took about 25 mins from the centre of Palma. The 700 steps were forgotten when you saw the views. You could get the number 3 bus from the centreo of Palma and get off near the Gran Melia Victoria.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellver Castle (Castell de Bellver) also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Bellver Castle (Castell de Bellver)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing