We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit.”
Review of Restaurante Toque

Restaurante Toque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $56
Cuisines: Belgian, Mediterranean, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent food in this father & son restaurant as reviews mostly state. Only negative comment would be the rather rushed service & lack of attention by the service staff during the meal. For example no wine or water top up. No enquiry at any time as to our satisfaction with the meal either during or when clearing. This aside the food is prepared expertly & the menu wonderfully explained by the proprietor. Prices are surprisingly low.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holidaybhoy186565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,312
    383
    80
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Best international treat in Majorca:-)”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Me and my husband Domingo went to Toque about a month ago and had an amazing experience with fantastic flavours and brilliant service. Not only the food was sensational and delicious, but served with passion and just on time. We hate waiting long for food, cause when you hungry you're angry... The chef and his son were very friendly and recommended the best meals we could even imagine and think off.
Thank you so much for your hospitality and hopefully see you soon, maybe in Australia.

Monika and Domingo
Sydney
Australia

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Monika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Toque of the town”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We had done some Tripadvisor research and put the restaurant on the list for our week in Palma. Walking around Palma on the way back to our hotel on our third day we sort of stumbled across the restaurant and tried the door. No reservations, a bit tired and not in our best dinner attire we were expecting to be thrown out.

It turned out to be a wonderful dinner experience with the food and friendly service in focus. For starters we tried one of the specials, cold beet root soup with apple sorbet. Main course being the last sea bream available for my wife and the sea bass for me. Lovely, my wife could have wanted some more potatoes with her fish and perhaps some ruccola or so - perhaps I got it all. A wonderful Pouilly Fume kept us company for a while. I just had to finish off with a Dame Blanche, since I left my native Holland I have not seen it on any menu that much.

The Belgian family running the restaurant is the explanation for the Dame Blanche I guess and also the vast selection of Belgian beers available. We were first in the restaurant, the place then filled up nicely with other first timers and a lot of return guests. The restaurant will not win any interior decoration awards or issue its own series of chill out music but as I wrote initially, food and friendly service come first. Well done!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kaaskop61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Basic mistakes spoiled the experience”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Didn't mind the location and the decor was fine. Older Belgian gentleman was very pleasant and obviously knowledgeable about the food.
Olives and bread were good as was the house white wine we chose as an aperitif.
I tried the lentil starter, served in a glass jar. This was tasty and well seasoned.
My wife ordered the stroganoff for main course and I ordered a steak with french fries, but changed this when I was told it came with sauted potatoes. I also ordered a green pepper sauce to accompany the steak.
My wife's stroganoff was tasty, however, I was bitterly disappointed when my steak came with boiled potatoes and was covered in a pinkish colour 'pepper' sauce.
To be fair, the steak was a nice cut and tasted fine, however, the pepper sauce was - in my opinion - inedible. Had the sauce been served in a separate vessel, I would have simply disregarded it and eaten the steak. The staff apologised and offerred to prepare me some sauted potatoes, however, the poor pepper sauce had spoiled my appetite. Also, sitting around watching my wife eat and then vice versa did not appeal. I asked for the steak to be taken away.
For pudding, my wife had fondant chocolate and I had creme brulee. Both were very good.
It's fair to say I was rather disappointed the way things turned out, however, it's also fair to say that I'd be happy to return to this restaurant, only next time I'll emphasise that what I order is what I expect to be delivered!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Ian057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToquePalmadeMallorca, Propietario at Restaurante Toque, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your revue. We are very sorry and and do apologies about the incident of the beef filet. It is why as well we did not charge it on your bill. But after your visit, as you suggest it to us, now we always serve the sauce in a separate boll. Thank you again for your positive advice.
We hope having the chance to see you again.
Christian, Claude Monti, and all the Restaurante Toque staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere coupled with passionate staff”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went along based on Trip Advisor reviews and this place really lives up to its reputation. Family run business which you could tell straight away, the owner is involved in everything from greeting you at the door, cooking and serving. His passion shone through and made for a great experience. Food is very good especially at the reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToquePalmadeMallorca, Propietario at Restaurante Toque, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your nice revue. It always make all the staff happy and help us to keep on this way.
Christian, Claude Monti and all the staff of Restaurant Toque
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Toque also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Restaurante Toque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing