We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Good Service, Okay Value”
Review of Pinar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pinar
Thornhill
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Location, Good Service, Okay Value”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The owners/managers of the hotel were very nice and helpful.

The location was okay. It was about a 15-20 minute walk down to the boardwalk, but a little bit of time is shaved off if you find a shortcut. Theres a very cheap grocery store very close by, and a couple of good restaurants on the way down to the boardwalk.

The rooms were very small, as was the bathroom.

The hotel was pretty expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmssky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    59
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cork,ireland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here for four nights to see Palma at the beginning of our mallorcan holiday. It's the perfect base to sight see.
First things first though: don't be brave thinking you'll find it with no bother. Yes, it's practically on a bus route , sooooo close, but get your bearings first and get a taxi from airport or city centre to the hostal. We got quite lost. Unless of course you have a good deal with your phone company and can drop a pin cheaply ;) one you see where it is in relation to everything else , including the tourist bus- dead easy!
Next, get the tourist bus, the stop is around the corner and it's good value , although nothing like as good as the bus in Barcelona or Valencia , it feels like the commenters is a bit lazy , lots of musical interludes....
The castle is closed on Monday's and no one tells you til you get there by the way.

Anyway back to the hostal; it is a hostel, not a hotel , dont expect luxury. The pool is adequate and clean. The coffee from the vending machine is sweet and strong . They don't do breakfast. The air conditioning is fast and quiet. The beds are very comfy. The shower is great- which will be a surprise as while it is clean, it looks rather pathetic.
They give you extra soap and a hair dryer when you ask. Your bed is made for you and your towels changed.
There is a tiny cafe ten meters away which is not glam but they do great simple food and great wine at ludicrously cheap prices- try it. Lovely staff too, good fun:)

All in all I happily recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zogabong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Just returned and enjoyed our stay at this budget hotel. Large room with Spanish TV, and clean ensuite, and balcony over looking pool. Good having fridge in room. In good location and 15 minute walking distance to Palma and bus at the end of the road. Staff friendly and helpful. Would defiantly return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 256Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed for a week just visiting friends. It was good as a quick stop of place. Abit noisy at might and the twin beds pushed together were very annoying although we requested a double. Staff were friendly, rooms cleaned everyday. Can't complain for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slar-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed here for one night in a small private room located in the front building. The check-in process was easy and the staff was really helpful and kind. The room was very simple, but included a refrigerator, TV and a decent shower. No Internet or wifi access. The beds were a little uncomfortable, but we weren't expecting luxury at this price. The room was quiet and clean and we got a good night's rest. There is a common area on the main floor with couches, a book exchange, and a flat screen television. The pool deck is spacious and the rooms in the back building had really nice outdoor spaces overlooking the pool. If I stay again I'll ask about the availability of these rooms, as they seem much nicer. The location of the hotel is very central- five minutes walk from the busy waterfront, but located far enough outside the tourist buzz. We found quite a few restaurants around the hostel that were decently priced and felt more like local establishments than tourist businesses. Great stay for the price.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Breakfastonearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

On a short weekend break for a friend's wedding we decided upon Pinar principally because of it's central location and price.
It is a 15 minute walk into town and located right next to bus routes round to Illetas and Cala Mayor etc. There is also a handy taxi rank across the road.
The rooms were clean and basic. Air conditioned and with a bath/shower.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. They forgave our terrible Spanish and were keen to make sure that we were happy with our stay.
We didn't use the pool out back, but it looked very good and I can imagine it being good for a cooling dunk in the heat.
The main beach in Palma is along the seafront past the town centre and just over half an hour walk away, where I'm sure you can ride the bus around to the beach towns (and the superb Miro Museum and studios) in the other direction even quicker.
A great and cheap solution for beautiful Palma!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This little place is great for a quick getaway. Ideal for couples, single travellers or families with children. There is also a well kept pool for the summer months.

One of the main attractions in Mallorca, the Bellver Castle, is only 2 minutes away by car, and the Paseo Maritimo and the city centre are within walking distance (15-20 mins).

If you want a value for money hostal, with friendly staff and clean rooms... choose this place!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djmccreedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#13 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#25 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,497 reviews
0.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#29 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Innside by Melia Palma Bosque
Innside by Melia Palma Bosque
#24 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#26 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinar

Property: Pinar
Address: Calle Camilo Jose Cela 6, 07014 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinar 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pinar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinar Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing