We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 night City Break in Palma with friends.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Abelay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Abelay
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
NOTTINGHAM
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“3 night City Break in Palma with friends.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel, central to Palma city this could be the place for you. Just 15 mins walk from all the main tourist attractions along with the Railway Station and Buses. Hotel built in a residential area but on a fairly busy side road. Rooms basic but cleaned daily and housing all facilities required. Breakfast sufficient to start your day with cheese, ham, bread etc. All staff very helpful and informative. Recommend giving a day out of your holiday to book the little wooden train from the railway station to visit Soller and Port Soller 28.00 €uro but whilst on the train the scenery is amazing and there is plenty to see and do at your destination, this takes approx 1 hr each way.

Room Tip: Our room was 401 which housed a small balcony but did have lift straight outside door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JOSIE593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    46
    37
    13
    2
See reviews for
17
34
18
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and it was perfect. I was looking for a cheap hotel with bed and breakfast and that is exactly what this hotel offers. The room that I stayed in had air conditioning, bathroom, a small balcony and 2 beds. The breakfast is simple but good enough to start your day.
The location is ideal because it's only a 10 min to the centre and the bus station.
The staff are very friendly and your room is cleaned everyday.
I stayed in this hotel on my own and I felt very safe.
I payed 40 Euros per night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Juicy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moncuq
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

the hotel is just a bit far to walk to the city center, but the rooms are clean with excellent A/C, with decent continental breakfast, and I just asked the reception to get the password for an excellent Wifi access. the staff was very nice but yes, you can hear what goes on in the next room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Only stayed here for 3 nights but the staff are helpful and the rooms are small but clean. The hotel is 10 mins from the Main Bus staion for the Island and the city centre. It is well priced and would stay there again for a short break. Although it has no pool but the beach is 15mins walk.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

Hotel is very clean, recently refurbished and of good value for what you pay. Could be noisy if you have loud "neighbours" but it's worthy for who look for a place to stay overnight and do not want luxury. Recommended truly!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catalin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

The fair description of this hotel is that it´s VERY noisy (yes, the walls seem to be from paper), and you can hear everything from the neighbouring rooms. There´s no chance of sleep until all guests have gone to bed: you hear the doors banging, people talking, phones ringing ... and then your neighbour snoring....
The other issue is the lift. there´s only one in the hotel and if you happen to be on the upper floors with suitcase and your departure coincides with cleaning staff activity (peak morning times), you might end up waiting 10 minutes for the lift to arrive.
Staff is friendly though some of them seem to have issues with Spanish native accent over the phone.
Breakfast is basic (of adequate quality to the price and so are the room size and fittings).

Room Tip: Ask for the most quiet room they have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

The Hotel Abelay was very nice. It is off the touristic area, so it’s very quiet.

For us, its location was the very best, as we were in the island to visit some family, and they live just 10 minutes away from the hotel. For the common tourist, is not near the beach area, but it’s quite close to the Plaza de Toros, and Palma’s downtown. It is also within reasonable walking distance to the main station.

Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The free WiFi worked fine, you need to remember to ask for the login and password in the front desk. If you don’t have your own hardware, there is a PC in the lobby, but the service is quite expensive, 1 Euro/ 15 min. There is a cyber in the same block that is way cheaper.

The staff was kind… about the breakfast… to be honest, I can’t remember… This was our 3rd week travelling around, and I can’t tell if we missed it or if it was OK and didn’t leave a mark in my memory.

We would certainly go back to Abelay next time we visit Palma

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Bons Aires
Hotel Abelux
Hotel Abelux
#53 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Bons Aires
Hotel Colon Palma
Hotel Colon Palma
#56 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#54 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hesperia Ciutat Mallorca
#38 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Hotel Sercotel Zurbaran
#57 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
BQ Belvedere Hotel
#26 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abelay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abelay

Property: Hotel Abelay
Address: Calle Pablo Iglesias 49 | Illes Balears, 07004 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 73 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Abelay 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Abelay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Abelay Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing