We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baisakhi

Baisakhi
Ranked #108 of 2,087 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $54
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This small restaurant offers the delights of Bengali food. As its name suggests, Baishaki (which means new year in Bengali) is a treat for the senses. It offers a unique tasting menu as well as a vegetarian version that changes frequently. The owner himself takes responsibility for guiding diners through this explosion of flavours and exotic scents. The restaurant, which is located right on Palma?s sea front, is decorated with care and has an exclusive atmosphere. Its tapestries, sculptures and antiques create the perfect setting for diners to enjoy its authentic cuisine.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

My wife and I have visited this fabulous restaurant since we first vistied Majorca 20 years or more ago and we have never been disapointed its a fantasic experience and the foos is amazing. The best and most unusal indian restaurant you will ever go to im sure. We are coming back on 4th August for 4 days and will go at least twice. Fab
John and Lynne Griffin

  • Visited August 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyGandLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    53
    19
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Di1715
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Cockroach on my plate!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

My friend and I were staying at the Costa Azul next door, the Baisakhi restaurant had been highly recommended by the man I had sat next to on the plane. The starters were very nice, the main course dishes were just ok but lacked any real flavour. The main course dishes were being cleared away and as the lady lifted my plate I looked down onto the large base plate and saw a live cockroach. I couldnt believe my eyes! I dont know if it had fallen off a cloth she had over her forearm or if it had been under my dinner plate all the time I had been eating. We were practically frozen in shock. She quickly covered the plate and cockroach with the cloth and took it away. We refused any further food or drinks and left the premises. I felt physically sick at the thought of it for a couple of days afterwards. I was told by a man in our hotel that there is a cockroach problem on the island but I'm absolutely disgusted that an establishment whose primary business is food hasnt managed to control it.!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Di1715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“ONE NOT TO BE MISSED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2011

I visited The Baisakhi restaurant last night, what a treat! Deliciously, authentic food, lovely surroundings, excellent service...all in all a fantastic experience. The Maitre'd is a lovely man, makes everyone feel truely welcome. Will be top of the list on my next visit.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank stp1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“an unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

I have been going to this restaurant for many years and each time it is a wonderful experience. I am always made to feel very welcome by all the staff and the food is always first class. I have recommended it to many of my friends and they are all of the same opinion. A visit to Palma would not be the same without a visit to Baisakhi!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank flossy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great every time we come.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

We have been coming to Palma for eight years. Everytime we can't wait to come here for dinner. Just went again last night. Great as always. The service is fantastic and with a smile. The owner/chef is there to greet everyone. The food is always different with a huge variety. They even catered to our vegan friend. You can not beat the price with unlimted wine included with the 4 coarse meal. Outstanding.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank stacidusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baisakhi also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Baisakhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing