We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant La Baranda it's a place where I want to come back.”
Review of La Baranda

La Baranda
Reserve with
La Baranda is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #388 of 2,234 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Restaurant La Baranda it's a place where I want to come back.”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very warm and calm atmosphere. Excellent service and kitchen. As I love Italian cousin l decide to order very specific dishes like Vitello Tonato and Stack Rossini and was very satisfied in the end. Recommended red wine idealy matched to my choice.
Next to my table was visitors from Russia ordering different pizzas and of course I heard some comments : well cooked, thin, delicious like in Italy.
And I got compliment from restaurant - shout of limonchello.
Love to come back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeigisDmitrijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    55
    17
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had already made a note of this restaurant before traveling to Palma (thanks to tripadvisor) and as it was just down the road from where we were staying it made the ideal place to have dinner one evening. On the whole it was a very pleasant evening the food was good, I had a special of the day, Fillet steak strips with pasta in a mushroom sauce and my wife had Spaghetti con gamberetti. The food was good the waitress was helpful and friendly. If you like Italian and you are in the Santa Catalina area then I suggest you pay them a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DerekPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great authentic and friendly Italian!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Now, why, you might say, would you want to eat at an Italian restaurant when you go to Spain? Because the food at La Baranda is just that GOOD! My mum and I went to La Baranda after having been turned down at nearby Ummo, and in fact ended up also coming back two days later.

On our first visit we had parma ham and bruschetta as starters, and then continued with caprese salad and spaghetti al arrabiata. The parma ham was of excellent quality, which in general goes for everything we have sampled at La Baranda. I had a particular craving for vegetables, I asked for a green salad, which was supplied despite not being on the actual menu, and which was also delicious. The pasta was truly delicious and the arrabiata sauce was perfectly balanced. As the restaurant has a wood-fired oven, we had to try the pizza on our second visit, and found it to be on par with the best pizza we have ever tried in Italy. I also had the spaghetti frutti di mare, which was served with an array of fresh and tasty seafood and plenty of garlic.

Our waiter deserves to be mentioned especially, as she made us feel particularly welcome and provided excellent recommendations regarding food and wine. She was originally Italian, but had come to Mallorca to work, and work she certainly did - managing the large number of guests with a genuine smile on her face :)

La Baranda is exactly as an Italian restaurant should be - a place with great food which feels like home!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very, very good restaurant!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Not often can you find a very good restaurant by accident in a large city. La Baranda proved to be a very good restaurant indeed for us. Food was very good and service was excellent and most attentive. Next time we go to Palma, we will certainly eat there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philrock7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santanyi, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A good find”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Decided to try this after reading the reviews on TA. It was a Monday lunchtime and we were the only people eating. We sat outside - not scenic but good for people watching. We ordered an onion focaccia topped with garlic and mozzarella - it was a pizza base not focaccia but it was tasty and some prawns with spinach in a sherry sauce - very nice.
For main courses we had veal escalopes in a mushroom sauce and a simple pasta dish of spaghetti with tomatoes, garlic and chilli - both very tasty.
We would go again, the food was good but the menu was limited.
I'd give it a 7.5/10

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welltravelled149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baranda also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to La Baranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing