We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb steaks and delightful service.”

Asador Bolixe Cocina Esencial
Ranked #14 of 2,234 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $41
Cuisines: Argentinean, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This small restaurant in the heart of Palma is known for its clever combination of Argentinean and Mediterranean flavours. The extensive menu is based on the freshest natural ingredients from the market. Perfectly roasted meat, which is some of the best on the island make this restaurant one of the most sought after in the capital. The wine list is highly recommended and includes many international wines. The modern and minimalist décor is functional and stylish. It offers excellent value for money and has good parking facilities.
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Superb steaks and delightful service.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Initially, we went solely on what we read on TA. Arrived around 9pm - on basis that locals eat late - and were provided each with a complimentary vermouth based aperitif and some crudites - including a pickle based 'something' - very good. Owner introduced himself and also gave us a lovely assiette of serrano ham and bread rolls. ham was 'melt in the mouth' epicure and bread dipped in local olive oil was excellent.
Ordered food and a glass of white whilst waiting - very good white rioja.
Shared a starter of 'more' serrano ham, salad and a few king prawns - not bad.
However, the star of the show were the steaks. I had the onglet cut and my wife had entrecote. Both were superb. Cooked to perfection - medium, no blood - and served with a selection of vegetables and a special request of french fries. Tip - Ask for the Argentinian mustard 'equivalent' which was earthy and complimented the steak nicely.
Seriously good beef and polished off with a bottle of 'house recommended' rioja - can't remember the name, but the owner suggested it and at 14.50E, excellent value for money.
Being complete gluttons, we shared an Argentinian pancake, drizzled in a lemon sauce - this was historic.
A really nice touch was the owner came back to the table with the remaining contents of the bottle of white rioja and presented it to us as a gift.
All in all a wonderful dinner in a lovely setting - just beside the Palma - Soller railway station (20 minute leisurely walk or 7E by taxi from the marina).
No hesitation in recommending this place. We went on 3 occasions during our 10 day visit to Palma. Pricewise, we spent 65E - 75E each time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    133
    34
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as good as expected - change in management or chef?”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Went to Bolixe with expectations based on good reviews and an interesting concept. After having been to Palma for 10 days with 18-20 restaurant experiences, we were all fairly disappointed. The food was not catastrophic, but not exceptional in any way.

Intro
We had a booking at 2030. When we arrived 2026, the lights were off, and it looked closed. A girl locked herself in, and when we returned 2035, we entered as the second table (what about the kitchen - were they also late?). After a slow start, we received the welcome drink and menus (not updated, as several courses was not available). The wine list was ok.

Starter
We had asked for the bread with olive oil, and received the industrial mini-baguettes with standard oil. Not good. Our starters were Iberico ham (ok) and fish croquettes (not very good, probably not home made).

Main
We ordered sirloin, entrecôte and cut loin 600 gr for two - all medium. The entrecôte was very good (7-8 out of 10), the sirloin was dry and tasteless (5-6 out of 10) and the cut loin was overcooked and variable (6 of 10). The sides were not more tha average.

Conclusion
After reading the reviews, we have either been very unlucky, or this place has changed management or chef/kitchen.

I doubt if this place exists in 6-12 months due to the quality, as well as there were no locals - only tourists.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank HosleNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For Meat Lovers”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We looked for a best steaks and really found those from Bolixe!
Absolutely top class meat which was extremely professionally cooked.
Starters, main courses and wines for two were totally about 80 euros.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nemssu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Who knew small could be this great !”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our group of 10 was looking for a nice options for our first night in Mallorca and came upon this place on TripAdvisor. It's a bit out of the way but very close to the central bus-train station in Mallorca so it's easy to get to. We walked about 15 minutes from Jaime III Hotel and it was worth every step! A small place that seemed to sit only about 20 people provided a nice atmosphere. The owner greeted us with a "special" on-the-house Brazilian martini that was awesome! He provided guidance to a menu that was lacking in its translation (not untypical from what we found in other restaurants on our trip). It was a bit tricky to find a few items for my wife who does not eat meat but the owner helped out and brought a special tomato salad that my wife said was out-of-this-world good. We started with appetizers and with guidance from the owner got just the right amount of great tasting appetizers. My sons wanted bread as well and a great supply of bread with olive oil appeared to their delight. The main courses options are numerous - including 2 fish options - and by all accounts they were all great. I got one of the steak which was fantastic. Lamb chops were well received as well. My wife got a fish plate that she loved. As it was my birthday on the day we went, dessert was in the making and the banana crepes (for 2) was incredible. The walk home was needed as the whole group was completely stuffed and OH so happy ! Off the beaten track but worth it. Try it if you can - I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family spent 2 days in Palma during a two week trip to Spain. We came here the first night for my dad's birthday on the basis of the TripAdvisor reviews.

It was utterly amazing. We were greeted by the owner with some complimentary drinks and food. The 10 of us ordered several appetizers; I particularly remember the broken egg salad and sausage as being wonderful. Steaks, meats, and lovely desserts, with great service. Best food we had during our 10 day trip to Catalonia, and that's saying something!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peteytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asador Bolixe Cocina Esencial also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Asador Bolixe Cocina Esencial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing