We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food cooked with passion lives here!”

Basmati Indian Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 2,206 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Shahin Awal, the owner and chef of Basmati restaurant, is an excellent ambassador for Indian food in Palma de Mallorca. For almost 20 years, diners in Palma de Mallorca, diners have enjoyed the flavours of India through Shahin?s cooking, whose success lies in dishes made from authentic family recipes. One of his specialities is Peshawar Nan, a bread made with dried fruits, honey, coconut and almonds. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, playing music that instantly transports you to India. The menu offers a wide variety of options both at lunchtime and in the evening.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Food cooked with passion lives here!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went to the Basmati restaurant for the first time last weekend with my wife and 5 yr old boy. Top quality authentic Indian food served here - not a chicken tika masala in sight! The set menu, which we were told changes frequently, was good value for money. Wine was included in the fixed price menu, which we thought complemented most of the dishes well. However, if my memory serves me correct, I dont think we were given the opportunity to choose our own wine??? (If so, wine list next time please).

We were the first guests that evening, so the restaurant was quiet and lacked atmosphere for the first half an hour or so. However, the Owner more than made up for the quietness with his evident love and knowledge and passion of the dishes that were on the menu that night. The owner (and the 2 other wait staff) took great delight in explaining what region of India each plate had come from and how each dish had been cooked. I'm no foodie, but the owner's passion for his native food just made me want to take a night class in Indian food when I got back home! He must be great to work with.

Don't be put off that there is no korma, vindaloo or tika-masala sauces on the menu. This restaurant serves great authentic Indian food, cooked with care. Try it. There are not many quality Indian restaurants around, but this is certainly one of them. I fail to see how anyone could be disappointed in the food. Even my fussy 5 yr old loved it and wants to go back.

See you there...

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahin A, Propietario at Basmati Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Hi Phil, obviously yes we have a wine list, we always offer it if you ask. However, being outside the menu not we usually do it because our wine is quite good.

Concerning the environment, I can only say that in Mallorca it is accustomed to dinner later and for this reason can be that you won't find many people. I hope to see you soon with more atmosphere.

A cordial greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    597
    137
    49
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A unique experience!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My third visit to this lovely restaurant in as many weeks and it further reinforced my opinion that this is a novel, friendly and exceptionally well delivered experience. No normal menu but 4 courses, the second 2 of which you do get a choice. So the element of surprise coupled with a little bit of certainty makes this a fun place to eat. The level of service is superb and the ambience is very special. From the rose petals liberally sprinkled everywhere, the exotic decor and complimentary water and wine, Basmati delivers a nice, welcoming and special occasion. Oh, and the food? Excellent is all I can say. Wonderful flavours and the ability to enhance the "spiciness" with the various sauces and garnishes, means you can determine your own personal flavour. Finally, a word on the owner and head chef, Shahim. His personal welcome, description of the food and friendly treatment certainly put this restaurant a step ahead and after 3 visits I feel like one of the family! Go and try it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank algarvesunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahin A, Propietario at Basmati Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por tus palabras. Realmente, no es que te sientas como en tu casa, Basmati ES tu casa. Esperamos volver a veros pronto, disfrutando de vuestra compañía.

Un abrazo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

went here last night, it was a set meal but included wine, the waiters made a real effort in explaining everything although we had two waiters taking the same order so it was slightly confusing and we were not sure what we would get. the food was tasty and very enjoyable but wasn't very warm so lost marks, if you want a decent Indian in Palma then I would recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank spendleb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahin A, Propietario at Basmati Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for using a bit of your time to write a good review of our restaurant.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Authentic if a little expensive”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really enjoyed my visit to basmati. They had a set menu with free wine for a set price. The food was beautifully cooked and for each dish they explained the region of India it came from. Well worth a visit. The food was tasty but not spicy. My only complaints are that the wine was not good and the food could have been warmer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahin A, Propietario at Basmati Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for your evaluation. We make the best natural products of the land and put them to the best price in the market. We hope to see you soon.

A greating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

From the initial welcome by the owner/head chef to the farewell from the same guy, Basmati exceeded my expectations. I had read that the food was great and good value, the service attentive but discrete, but, I left feeling that it was more than that. It was a place to come with a loved one or friends and really feel like you had had a dining experience. Thanks Basmati, we shall return!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoad045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahin A, Propietario at Basmati Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your words. I'm looking forward to see you here again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basmati Indian Restaurant also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Basmati Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing