We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic if a little expensive”

Basmati Indian Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 2,159 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $34 - $48
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Shahin Awal, the owner and chef of Basmati restaurant, is an excellent ambassador for Indian food in Palma de Mallorca. For almost 20 years, diners in Palma de Mallorca, diners have enjoyed the flavours of India through Shahin?s cooking, whose success lies in dishes made from authentic family recipes. One of his specialities is Peshawar Nan, a bread made with dried fruits, honey, coconut and almonds. The restaurant is beautifully decorated, playing music that instantly transports you to India. The menu offers a wide variety of options both at lunchtime and in the evening.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
235 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Authentic if a little expensive”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really enjoyed my visit to basmati. They had a set menu with free wine for a set price. The food was beautifully cooked and for each dish they explained the region of India it came from. Well worth a visit. The food was tasty but not spicy. My only complaints are that the wine was not good and the food could have been warmer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahin A, Propietario at Basmati Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for your evaluation. We make the best natural products of the land and put them to the best price in the market. We hope to see you soon.

A greating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    132
    49
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

From the initial welcome by the owner/head chef to the farewell from the same guy, Basmati exceeded my expectations. I had read that the food was great and good value, the service attentive but discrete, but, I left feeling that it was more than that. It was a place to come with a loved one or friends and really feel like you had had a dining experience. Thanks Basmati, we shall return!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoad045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahin A, Propietario at Basmati Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your words. I'm looking forward to see you here again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Very dissappointing - if you like Indian food, go elsewhere”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The good news - nice decor and ambience; but that's where it stops.
The starters were minimal, and overcooked - one onion ring each - alleged to be a bhaji, but with no flavour at all. The other item was indertiminate, and so overcooked that it cracked.
Second course was supposedly chicken tandoori - again overcooked and without flavour.
Apparently the main course featured venison, chicken and - surprisingly for an Indian restaurant - beef. However, it was impossible to distinguish any from the taste.
All the way through no hint of spice - possibly because the chef is from Bangladesh not India?
We left underfed and financially abused.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahin A, Gerente at Basmati Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Google Translation
Hola Stephen,

Me sorprende mucho tu comentario y de hecho te recuerdo bien. Llevo 22 años cocinando alta cocina india con los mejores ingredientes de la tierra. Recuerdo que te apetecía comer picante pero la comida india no tiene porque ser muy picante. Tal vez por eso dices que la comida no tenía sabor.

Respecto a lo de dar carne de vacuno debo decirte que lo que hacemos en Basmati es comida y no religión. En la India hay múltiples religiones y no en todas está prohibido comer vacuno.

Referente a tu comentario sobre mi procedencia (Bangladesh) debo decirte algunas cosas: Lo primero es que noto cierto tono despectivo y racista en tu comentario. Después, me gustaría mencionarte que Bangladesh fue parte de la India y por ello, mi padre y mis antepasados son de la india. Y por último, sabiendo tu procedencia, te diré que los mejores restaurantes de Inglaterra (donde también he trabajado) son de propietarios bangladesís.

Para finalizar, te animo a que vuelvas a Basmati con otra intención y perspectiva y puedas disfrutar de nuestra alta cocina india.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaró, Spanien
Level Contributor
160 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Indian Food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

For many years the chef Shahin Awal prepared autentic indian dishes as "Indian Nouvelle Couisine". Value for money and
try the very delicious "Degustations-Menue"...

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shipcrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahin A, Propietario at Basmati Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Google Translation
Hola,

gracias por tus palabras y por tu valoración. Un saludo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“taste and culture of india”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

BASMATI is amazing! The food, service and atmosphere including decor are top class and high quality. I never tasted Indian food so good. Very attentive waiters,and owner. great choice on menus, food excellent quality and a very classy restaurant. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone wanting top quality service and food.also you can injoy a romantic and autentic indian cultural atmosphere.
This is a restaurant that provides an exceptional experience to remember. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jihan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahin A, Propietario at Basmati Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your words. Very well defined the characteristics of our restaurant, your House.

A warm greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basmati Indian Restaurant also viewed

Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Basmati Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing