We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel in a great location.”
Review of Hotel Ciutat Jardi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ciutat Jardi
Ranked #52 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel in a great location.”
Reviewed April 9, 2009

Ciutat Jardi hotel manages to be grand, opulent and homely all at the same time. We stayed for a long weekend and were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked through the wrought iron gates. The quietly efficient service was of a consistently high standard and the staff treated us like ‘guests’ rather than ‘customers’. Our sea view room was well furnished with lots of wardrobe space. The shower was straightforward to use and there was a Jacuzzi bath. Toiletries, bath robes and slippers were provided. Patio doors led to a small sun terrace that was furnished with a table and two chairs. The hotel has a delightful garden from where we were able to see the beach and the sea while lying on sun loungers. Ciutat Jardi is about ten minutes from the airport by car. It is well located for a beach holiday and within walking distance (long but scenic walk) to the centre of Palma along the beach promenade. There were frequent buses going to the centre and the hotel offered us the use of bicycles at no extra charge. I really cannot find a fault with this charming hotel and would definitely stay there on my next visit to Palma.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 495pamelaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
52
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2008

My wife and I stayed here in October 2008 for a weekend. Everything from arriving to leaving was excellent. The staff are genuinely friendly and very helpful, the Gran Cupola room was a great surprise to us. The hotel is meticulous in it's appearance and the area where it is situated is a more residential area than the touristy parts of Palma. That said, there are some lovelt (mainly fish) restaurants within a couple of hundred metres. We enjoyed our meal at "Fusion" on our first night so much that we went there the following night! The club "Forvm" is another place we will be frequenting again, and has live music and musicians jamming in a very opulent environment. The hotel has a lovely beach right in front of it, where there is a promenade walkway into Palma town (about 4km). You can also hire bikes direct from the hotel. We will definitely be booking but it will be for a week rather than a weekend break!

  • Liked — Attentive staff
  • Disliked — Cannot fault it
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RoamerRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2008

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. friendly staff, beautiful rooms, great maid service, delicious breakfast, lovely gardens and perfect location. Michael helped us have the perfect honeymoon!

  • Liked — Luxury surroundings
  • Disliked — two twin beds had been made into a king
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tookiebird311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week and found the hotel delightful. We stayed in the duplex penthouse room over two floors with fantastic views over mountains, sea and Palma itself. Room 301.

We loved our quirky room. It isn't a flash, swanky, hotel. It is a superbly friendly, very comfortable, family run hotel. You can relax here and just do your own thing with no bother from anyone.

The hotel is small, only 20 rooms. We looked at the balcony rooms and the seaview terrace rooms whilst there and thought that the seaview terrace rooms were great value. They are really comfortable rooms with a jacuzzi bath with the advantage of a very large terrace overlooking the sea. Much recommended.

What is great about this hotel is its location. You are a 10 min ride in a taxi from the airport and a 5 min drive into Palma. You can take a beautiful beachfront stroll into Palma if you have 40 mins to spare or just hire a bike from the hotel.Cycling in this area is very popular. You can even catch the No15 bus 15 mins into Palma, every 8 mins and only just over 1 euro. Bus stops at end of the street.

Some of the best restaurants on the island are virtually on your doorstep if you cant be bothered to go into Palma all the time. And you can walk to the trendy area of Poritxol in 20 mins where lots more bars and restaurants abound.

I would say stay at this hotel if you want to be looked after by a family who have owned this hotel for many years (the oldest, continually open hotel on the island) and love it dearly.

Try it for yourself.

  • Liked — Peace & Quiet
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travellerjimConwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We stumbled across this little gem by accident but what a lucky find. If you want large, modern chain hotels with an olympic pool to share with dozens of others , then head west of Palma and leave the lucky few to enjoy this individualistic small hotel. Only 20 rooms, it feels like an exclusive hideaway with its secluded garden, elegant fittings and helpful staff. Our room was one of the superior ones, in the corner rooms with the small balcony - we were upgraded to one with a sea view at no extra cost as the manager perceived there was an element of damp in our original room. This is a Spanish residential area but right on the sea front with a wide pedestrian area running into Palma itself, only a short bike ride away. Breakfast was fine , continental but with a small hotplate on weekends and holidays. Plenty of excellent restaurants around, even at the close of the season and minutes from the airport by taxi. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pupsonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Most of my problems with this holiday were due to the travel agent not informing the hotel of my arrival. Hence not having the class of room I booked - we were in a seperate building not attached to the main hotel which was ground floor and dark. The breakfast was very average and the bar snacks expensive, the pool was very small. This said the area was lovely the staff friendly and the beach fantastic. If I was to return ever I would call the hotel to be sure I had a room in the main building.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephaniedawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

We were looking for a lovely, peaceful two week getaway, reading books and doing a little bit of sightseeing. Having booked through independent travel agents 'Castaways', we were assured that this hotel had everything we were looking for and more. How wrong they were....

Upon arrrival we were shown to our room, pool facing with a shared and exposed terrace. We asked to be moved as we had requested a room with a balcony and were taken to a tiny dark motel-style room. There were two single camp beds on wheels, pushed together. The bathroom was tiny, but we were pleased to see a jacuzzi, which unfortunately did not work. Despite reporting it several times, nothing was done to fix it. The balcony was a reasonable size, but not very private, divided from the adjacent balcony by plant pots.

Breakfast was equally disappointing. A tired selection of cold meats/cheese and stale pastries, which kept appearing every morning until they were eaten. The only decent thing was the coffee.

The beach is in front of the hotel, but, is dirty and littered, which was a shame as the pool, although in a lovely garden, was on the small side and cold. There was also building work going on next door with constant hamering to disturb our peace.

It's a long one hour walk from Palma, although there is a lovely promenade. It is primarily a residential area with very little to do.

In conclusion, the staff were pleasant and helpful but this hotel is not deserving of it's 4-stars.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank radio_lollipop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel UR Portofino
Hotel UR Portofino
#31 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
523 reviews
1.5 mi away
Melia Palma Bay
Melia Palma Bay
#43 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
72 reviews
1.3 mi away
Portixol Hotel and Restaurant
Portixol Hotel and Restaurant
#36 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
GPRO Valparaiso Palace & SPA
#19 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
574 reviews
3.5 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,574 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Saratoga
Hotel Saratoga
#30 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ciutat Jardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ciutat Jardi

Property: Hotel Ciutat Jardi
Address: Calle Illa de Malta 14, 07007 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#28 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#49 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ciutat Jardi 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Ciutat Jardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ciutat Jardi Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing