We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location ok accommodation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Apuntadores

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Apuntadores
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location ok accommodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed two nights with my husband and two children aged 8 and 11 on Nov 3/4th 2012. Location is perfect close to the cathedral, and great tapas bars restaurants on the doorstep .
The accommodation is very basic but also very clean and adequate for a short break where you are out all day and really just need somewhere to shower and sleep which is what we were looking for.
The rooms do vary. We had two twin rooms with ensuite on the second floor (there weren't any private quad rooms here so we had to get two rooms to accommodate the four of us). One room was much bigger and nicer than the other and had a little balcony street side which meant it was quite noisy but we liked that as you feel you are in the middle of the city and nightlife (not for you if you want peace and quiet!) The other room was smaller and a bit musty smelling (still very clean though) and no balcony.
I have seen other reviews on here where people said that they didn't feel safe here ?? We thought it was perfectly secure yes the doors are thin but they do lock and my husband mistakenly left an ipad charging in the room and it was still there on our return and our room had been cleaned during that time-very honest of whoever cleaned the room :-)
Reception is manned 24 hours so I don't see what there is to feel unsafe about.Our children were happy to stay here but I wouldn't recommend it in general for young families unless like ours they have travelled a bit (ours have bacpacked in India and Asia so are used to far more basic accomodation than this !)
In summary good basic accommodation, in a fab location, can be a bit noisy (but you are in a city!!), a little bit pricey for what it was but seems on par with other similar budget places in the area.

Room Tip: room 22 was a good size with street side balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrj_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Fair review. We may not be the best place for families with young children. We had noted the musty smell in room 23 and this winter we replaced all the windows and damp proofed the exterior. Thanks for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    72
    33
    23
    18
See reviews for
10
85
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed 4 nights in October 2012. Very basic accommodation (no TV in rooms), super location in Old Town, close to Cathedral. Great view over Cathedral from rooftop terrace 7th floor. Friendly staff. Wifi working in reception at street level. No great place for breakfast, but you can get a cup of coffee. Plenty of breakfast alternatives in neighbourhood. If you want reasonable price and central location in Palma, this is the place.

Room Tip: try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lejon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thanks for the review. WIFI now working throughout the building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just returned from 4 fab days here, rooms basic but clean and superb location. Right in the old town with a roof terrace you 'd never tire of. Tapas bars, restaurants, shops right outside and only 10 minutes walk to a great beach. Despite being so central we weren't disturbed by noise at all; the rooms are good value for money and we were quite comfortable. Not sure reading other reviews what people expect for thweir money but htis was our second stay here and we'll be back!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and are quieter, definitely worth paying a bit extra for en suite as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katenles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed here for only one night. The location is great but the rooms are very basic and extremely noisy. It's like the Walls were made from paper. You could here everything in other rooms. We haven't slept at all because of all the noise.
The next night we stayed at a hotel. We payed just a little extra but it was well worth it. I recommend to do so, because hostal apuntadores was à disaster.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dapri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Noise can be an issue.
We are in a pedestrian street full of restaurants and bars. In season and until midnight you will hear noise if you have room on the street. The noise is of people enjoying themselves not traffic or industry. After midnight it´s generally peaceful. We have plenty of rooms that do not face the street and they have no street noise. I urge guests to request these rooms if they are noise sensitive.
Our walls are not paper thin but I know other guests can be inconsiderate at times. We have a 24 hour reception and if the night porters are alerted to late night noise on the terrace or in the rooms they will stop it.
However if you want guaranteed 24 hour tranquility a hostal in the center of a Spanish city is not the place for you.
Sorry your experience with us was so poor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palma de Mallorca hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

This hostal is situated a stone's throw from the majectic cathedral, which can also be viewed from the roof terrace. The pubs, tapas bars and restaurants of the old town are literally on the doorstep, about 30 places within 50 metres. Palma marina is 50 metres away, and the main shopping area starts at the end of the road.

The rooms are compact and basic, but clean and tidy. Our twin room had a bathroom with toilet and shower, air conditioning, a closet with hanging space and a small fridge (which worked and was cold) and a small balcony overlloking the Carrer del Puntadores.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the deal from the internet was very good value indeed.

Not luxury, but cheap, cheerful, clean, friendly, great views from the terrace and perfectly located.

Room Tip: Ask for an ensuite room, they are on the front and have a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desert-Johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you. This sums us up perfectly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed for four nights and asked for a quiet room before we arrived. We got a room next to the public toilet so we heard everything when somebody used the bathroom. So much for quiet. The view was a wall, no wind, no sunshine and so the room was smelly, there was mold in the bathroom, the towels were dirty (or looked dirty) we weren't sure if somebody cleaned the room (but they did make the bed every day which wasn't necessary, the bathroom needed the attention more. Or the floor) The beds are a disaster. It wasn't a real bed, more like a camping bed, the mattress was old and when we had the chance to check other rooms on our floor, we found out, all beds look like this.
The only good thing about this hostel are the stuff. They were helpful and gave us a very good tip for the best pizza ever!
The location is great, you're right in the middle of Palma, can see the cathedral from the roof and have a lot of bars and restaurants around the hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eat-a-roo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
I am sorry you were so unhappy but I have to correct a couple of things.
There are no public toilets in the hostal and the public is certainly not able to access the floors with guest rooms.
We do not use camp beds. All of our beds are industry standard and all mattresses clean and serviceable.
Our cleaning log shows no complaint about the bathroom and had there been we would have offered another room.
Please can I appeal to all guests to make any complaints during your stay so we can deal with problems. Please don´t suffer for four days then moan on Tripadvisor, as the reviewer points out we are friendly and helpful!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Hostal Apuntadores has both pros and cons. Pros are: Location is right in the middle of downtown, 2 mins walk from the Cathedral so couldn't be any better if you want to be in the center of Palma. The terrace has amazing views to the cathedral so is the perfect place to enjoy breakfast or even a beer. Service was OK. However, the room quality is very poor. We got room 33 and it was very dark, bulky tiny beds and the fridge didn't work. Besides, there was water leaking from the ceiling and falling into my bed so it got all wet. Fortunately I didn't spend too much time sleeping because a wet bed is unacceptable. I reported the problem to the reception and they promised to take a look, but the next night it was again wet. Pretty bad.

Room Tip: Avoid room 33. It has a leak in the ceiling and beds get wet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diego_travelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apuntadores, Owner at Hostal Apuntadores, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Oh dear, we did let you down. The leak in 33 was fixed very quickly but of course that didn´t help you. Many apologies
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#53 of 72 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#32 of 72 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Hotel Costa Azul
#17 of 72 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bons Aires
Hotel Colon Palma
Hotel Colon Palma
#54 of 72 in Palma de Mallorca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Tryp Palma Bosque Hotel
#41 of 72 in Palma de Mallorca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Gran Melia Victoria
#16 of 72 in Palma de Mallorca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Apuntadores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Apuntadores

Property: Hostal Apuntadores
Address: Calle Apuntadors 8, 07012 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Apuntadores 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great value accommodation in the heart of the old town. We offer basic rooms with heating /air conditioning, friendly, helpful staff with lots of local knowledge and the most fabulous roof terrace in town. Check in and check us out! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Apuntadores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Apuntadores Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing