We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommendable to every traveler”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Mimosa Guesthouse
Eygelshoven, Limburg, Netherlands
1 review
“Recommendable to every traveler”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in the mixed dorm for 2 nights and had an awesome time over there! I arrived later as the regulative check in times because of a delayed flight and because I made use of public transport. I called the hostel and the guy on the phone was very helpful he gave me a perfect description about which busses I should get and how to find the hostel. The Hostel self was very cosy and the facilities where very good too! The staff is very friendly and spoke many languages!
When I visit the Island again I definitely gonna stay at this place!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    24
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
14
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

La Mimosa is great value for money! Lovely location with easy access to centre of Palma and near a few small beaches. The place is clean and the staff are all very friendly, helpful and charming, if a little eccentric! The service was faultless. The place felt very safe in the four nights I stayed there, the dorm was secure and clean. The area is safe. There is a quiet pool and garden area which is lovely to have breakfast in. It has old character and nice antique furnishings which suit the architecture. Breakfast could be improved by adding fresh fruit. For the price it exceeded expectations... charming and delightful.

Room Tip: The dorms are excellent value for money and above usual backpacking standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I've just come back from a three night stay at this fantastic place. I was slightly apprehensive because there hast been any recent reviews but had absolutely nothing to worry about at all. The owner was lovely and so helpful. I was unable to make my first night because my flight as cancelled and I wasn't charged for the first night which I thought was really sweet. The location is great and walking distance from the beach, bars and restaurants. I stayed on my own and everyone was really friendly. It was like home from home. Very clean and fantastically quirky. I would highly recommend people staying here and will be staying here again on my next trip to Majorca.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Danielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights Easter break(April 2013). On arrival, door was answered by a builder and an overwhelming smell of damp hit us on entering. The building was undergoing a major renovation, resulting in no bar facilities and breakfast area was out of bounds because of new ceiling being put up. we had hammer drill going during breakfast and also had to scramble under scaffolding as the main hall area was being replastered. Pool was filled with leaves and debris and did not look as if it had been cleaned out all season. staff were very helpful and accommodating and the building is beautiful with many original features and lots of potential. However, we feel that such renovation work should not be done while paying guests are present. For what we paid we could have gone to a 4star establishment just up the coast, but we prefer small and friendly to luxury. La Miimosa was a disappointment and not what is seen on the internet.

Room Tip: Room 104 for seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fixie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My stay was a longer pre-season stay. This place could be very cute and chanrming but is in need of major update/renovation (worn furniture, window would not close, balcony door lock was a bit of a joke, outdoor area was a bit messy). Plus: excelllent breakfast with outstanding coffee. Inexpensive accommodation in a very good location with bus service literally in front of the hotel and restaurants nearby. Owner lady is nice. Negative: sad looking room, worn furniture, booking mix-up, major plumbing issue during my stay (although was remediated the next day and owner was very apologetic). Parking can be a headache if you rent a car. My understanding is that this place has a lot of return business, so obviously others might like this place more than I do. Do not book this place for a "fancy," romantic vacation - but book it if you need a place to sleep only with good breakast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manocska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We have just returned from Palma and we stayed in Hostal La Mimosa for four nights.

We arrived late and Malte was waiting for us. He made us feel very welcome and even made us some nightcaps in the bar.

During our stay he went out of his way to provide us with information, was a wealth of local knowledge and was more than accommodating. We learned about taking the train to Soller and finding a lovely Assadoria in Genova (just a short ride in a taxi from Mimosa and well worth a visit).

The hostel itself is located out of Palma port and in a really nice, clean and quiet neighbourhood. There were a few beaches nearby and the bus stops were close by. The buses are regular and reasonable. Also, getting back to the airport was really easy by bus.

Our room was clean and comfortable and there was even a little balcony overlooking the pool area that we could sit on when waiting for the others' to finish showering etc.

The hostel has a lovely feel to it. It's welcoming and cosy and I could not recommend it enough to anyone wanting that personal touch added to the fact that it is located out of the main drag of Palma port (which, personally, was nice to visit, but would prefer not to stay there). Old town Palma is definitely worth an afternoon and is easily reached by bus from Hostal La Mimosa.

If/when we come back to Palma, we will DEFINITELY be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beryl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Likes: very close to great beaches, easy access to bus line that takes you anywhere, relaxed, laid back atmosphere, friendly staff, caring and attentive owners on premisis, refreshing pool, awesome views, great cafes all around, free breakfast, beer/wine/cocktail bar, really good coffee, free internet.
Not so much: No AC (understandable at the price) bed was quite uncomortable, also - consider the price.
Overall, a very good experience, if it is as hot, may consider spending a few extra bucks and getting a room with AC. The value for the money is outstanding and by far, still the best deal out there. Owners make a real effort to ensure guests are satisfied, that counts for a lot.

Room Tip: May consider asking for a room with newer beds and a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisefromCA_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
0.4 mi away
BQ Belvedere Hotel
BQ Belvedere Hotel
#27 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,113 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Amic Horizonte
Hotel Amic Horizonte
#57 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
861 reviews
1.5 mi away
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
Catalonia Majorica Hotel
#23 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
TRYP Palma Bellver Hotel
#26 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,102 reviews
2.0 mi away
Melia Palas Atenea
Melia Palas Atenea
#25 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,852 reviews
2.0 mi away
Innside Palma Bosque
Innside Palma Bosque
#39 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Mimosa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mimosa Guesthouse

Property: La Mimosa Guesthouse
Address: Calle Suecia 5, 07015 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Mimosa Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal La Mimosa an Old Spanish Manor House.A perfect choice for budget minded travellers. The Mimosa is close to the city centre of Palma and a few minutes walk to beaches, local bars and restaurants. La Mimosa, under new management, is run by a family team that endeavors to retain the original character and features whilst creating a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. All rooms en-suite bathrooms and some have sea view, balcony or a terrace. Built in 1885 and still going strong. The hostel has a pool and garden, where we have fig, mandarin, orange and palm trees. At the bar, meet the locals and other guests, perhaps try some of the local beers, and relax after a long warm and sunny day at the beach. All our rates include continental breakfast buffet. Bar service available throughout the day. We have satellite TV, free internet and Wi-Fi access in our bar and lobby. La Mimosa is ideal for young people, families, couples and single holidaymakers. We are only metres from a marina with sailing school, close to beaches on the main southern coastal road. Our aim is to offer a warm and friendly international atmosphere with a family feeling, 'a home away from home' to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your La Mimosa Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Mimosa Guesthouse Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing