We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a weekend break”
Review of UR Palacio Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
UR Palacio Avenida
Ranked #45 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location for a weekend break”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend and had no problems at all. Really easy hotel to find, we took the bus from the airport which was very cheap and stoppped right outside the hotel.
The staff were helpful and polite. Our room was on the 4th floor and was a good size with a big bathroom. We didn't have a view but this meant the room was very quiet. There were no drink making facilities in the room but we emptied the mini bar and put our own drinks in there to chill.
The bed was really comfy and big and the room had a contemporary décor.
The hotel is situated so that it is a lovely walk down to the cathedral through pedestrianized streets. We walked to 2 amazing restaurants for our evening meals, Simply Fosh and Bri. Both were excellent.
The tram to Soller is a 2 minute walk away and so is the train station so it is easy to travel around the island if you have a longer stay.
We would definitely recommend this hotel for location and price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_pocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, General Manager at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel and for your praising comments. It is a pleasure for us to read how much you have enjoyed your stay with us.
We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you on your next visit to Mallorca.
Yours sincerely,
Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    219
    107
    25
    23
See reviews for
27
293
36
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location as we were travelling without a car. Close to the railways station for Soller

Great welcome & a fabulous dry martini in the bar

We didn't take breakfast. The room was large, clean, bathroom had everything we wanted, including the fabulous power shower.

Will not look for another Palma hotel, this is just perfect & a great deal too

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_organised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you all your positive comments about your experience in UR Palacio Avenida, which encourages and stimulates us to continue with the pursuit of the improvement and surmounting in the service for our clients.

We would like to welcome you at our hotel again in the future, having the opportunity to serve you again.

Expressing again our gratitude to you, yours faithfully

Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good location as previous reviews have said . Staff very helpful quick check in , we arrived fairly late quickly dropped off our luggage and went straight out. On return noticed that there was a very strong smell of air freshener in the bedroom then opened the bathroom door and found out why - a most unpleasant smell coming from there! This was in actual fact so bad that it was difficult to sleep. As it was so late we decided that it would have to wait until morning to speak to the receptionist , who was very sympathetic and told us that a few people had complained about the unpleasant smell but could not do anything more for us as the manager was not available.
The restaurant staff were great and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grandmamags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the UR Hotels for your vacation, as well as for taking the time to tell us through the booking web site about your recent experience.
We are very sorry that you experienced some inconveniences with the electricity in the room; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. At UR Hotels, we continuously strive to meet your needs and desires; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.
We hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.
Kindest regards,
Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay here for 1night before heading north of the island. Fab location, bus from airport terminates right outside hotel. Check in was fast and room was lovely. A superior double on the 6th floor with a bizarre but nice side balcony from the bathroom. Room very comfortable and quiet. Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaye577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,
We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.
We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you on your next visit to Mallorca.
Kindest regards,
Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived in Palma late at night, so decided to stay here for one night, ready for the bus to soller the next morning. Perfectly clean, and large rooms. Great location, just next to the bus station & the train station

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline12349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, Director General at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mrs. Caroline,

We would like to thank you very much for your encouraging comments on our Hotel and Staff. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We were very appreciative of the efforts which the staff made to amend our booking by one week.
They were prompt and accommodating. We arrived early to check in and they made arrangements without fuss. The location is great being on the Placa d'Espanya. Fantastic location for buses and trains which provide a great way of travelling in Palma and Majorca. Very clean and modern hotel. All types of amenities are nearby. Will definitely return to this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMH0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, General Manager at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor member,

We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your stay. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are extremely happy to have been able to do so on this occasion.

We would be absolutely delighted to accommodate you on your next visit to Mallorca.

Kindest regards,

Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in Palma as a treat for my birthday.

Hotel is in a fabulous location and great for good restaurants and shops. Plenty of buses can take you to the Marina or beach for not too much money. The City tour bus stops right across the road so really ideal for everything.

The hotel is very stylish and the staff helpful but the rooms we had were starting to show wear. The first thing that surprised us when we git there was how hot our room was that the aircon would not go lower than 24C and it was a sweltering 37C outside a call to the desk and an maintenance man visited to tell us he needed to reduce it on the main computer downstairs.

That done my husband went to take a shower to find a tap broken and when he got it to work the shower sprayed the whole bathroom and shorted the electrics on the bathroom mirror. The lovely receptionist tried to dry it out with a hair dryer and after we insisted on a room move we were placed in another room on the floor below the 4th floor. This room was also a little 'tired' the light in the mirror didn't work and the shower head was not very clean but we were so tired we didn't say anything. We just called down again to get the air con lowered. The air con system is not great, i guess it circulates the air around a number of rooms including where people smoke so at sometimes it was pretty un- bearable the smell if cigarettes and we had to leave. Not sure the hotel could do anything about it.

The pillows are of a pretty poor standard and the hotel does offer a 'pillow menu' but I don't believe in paying for a better pillow - you should get them anyway. The beds are pretty hard but I find that a lot in Europe so not surprised. Also be aware the small bottles of water left in your room, normally complimentary in this standard a hotel are not, we were charged €12 for 6 tiny bottles.

The breakfast in the morning is very good with a help yourself buffet and has a good selection of cooked to order items. The staff were always very helpful and nice. Although for some their understanding of English was not great, but we got by with sign language!

On the whole this is a lovely hotel which I would say is in need of some TLC! For the money we paid to stay there it just felt a little disappointing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pilar M, General Manager at UR Palacio Avenida, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mrs Christine,

We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting the UR Palacio Avenida for your vacation, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience.

We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express our sincerest apologies. At UR Hotels, we continuously strive to meet your needs and desires; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the items you mentioned about the maintenance and facilities and prevent any future occurrences.

We hope to take the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Pilar Molina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma de Mallorca
6.3 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#22 of 77 in Playa de Palma
132 reviews
4.0 mi away
AluaSoul Palma
AluaSoul Palma
#7 of 24 in Can Pastilla
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
UR Mision de San Miguel
UR Mision de San Miguel
#46 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Port Adriano
3.1 mi away
Be Live Adults Only La Cala Boutique
34.4 mi away
Hotel JS Cape Colom
Hotel JS Cape Colom
#2 of 7 in Porto Colom
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UR Palacio Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UR Palacio Avenida

Property: UR Palacio Avenida
Address: Calle Marques de La Fontsanta 2, 07005 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — UR Palacio Avenida 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel UR Palacio Avenida is a modern establishment, which opened its doors in 2009 after being carefully refurbished by the well-known architect Bruno Borrione, member of the Philippe Starck team. The result of his hard work was a perfect balance between comfort and design. The materials used and the great details that went into the conversion of this emblematic building, which originally and since 1942 had been the Cinema Avenida, to the current day UR Palacio Avenida, have led to the hotel being a highly considered boutique hotel in the city.The hotel remains open all year round and offers a personalised service to both businessmen and those who simply wish to enjoy their holidays.Its central location, with direct access to public transport makes it easy to reach any part of the island.A few meters away from the hotel is located the largest public parking of the city and only 300 meters away, is located the Hotel UR Mision de San Miguel where a private parking is available for hotel guests of both hotels (costs apply).The Hotel UR Palacio Avenida has 68 rooms, with extraordinary natural light, views of the centre of Palma de Mallorca and modern furnishing, which cares for the smallest detail.The hotel also offers a coffee shop. Wireless Internet access in all areas of the building and a safety deposit box in the room are both free of charge.The modular conference rooms cover a total of 200m2 and have been perfectly designed to meet the needs of any event meeting, banquet, conference or presentation. The modern and comfortably furnished rooms can be divided by mobile panels and are also equipped with internet access, air conditioning, a projector and large screen, and direct access to an exterior terrace which is ideal for coffee breaks.Due to the unique location of the hotel, guests can enjoy the main shopping areas and cultural activities, excursions, golf, restaurants, etc.Also from the hotel reception can be arranged any special request of the guest, boat trips, rent a car, excursions around the island, winery tours, visit to the Caves of Drach, etc.For guests who wish a more personalized service Private Concierge is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your UR Palacio Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ur Palacio Avenida Hotel Palma De Mallorca
UR Palacio Avenida Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing