We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You want modern Spanish food?”
Review of Forn de Sant Joan

Forn de Sant Joan
Ranked #33 of 2,206 Restaurants in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $58 - $69
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: La Llotja-Born
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“You want modern Spanish food?”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Modern spanish food - all in all excellent - so much so that we had lunch and booked again for dinner the following day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Redtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,374
    500
    174
    50
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Will come again!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

A cosy little place in own Palma, where you can spend a few hours and add to your waste-line with gusto! Good food, nice service, pleasant ambiance - a place to come again to.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nik-Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallorca
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A special place for a celebration”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Forn de Sant Joan is consistently good and it was our choice of restaurant to celebrate my birthday this year. The building was once the neighbourhood bakery and you can spot signs of its past use on the ground floor, where there's a smart bar and tall stools/tables.We dined on the top floor - the Red Room - which lives up to its name, with dark red walls, giving it a romantic, intimate feel. There are other floors and each has a different decor and feel.

We were handed the cocktail menu once we were seated; there's a good choice of cocktails and an interesting list of gin and tonics. I've found the food here consistently good and it includes what I think are probably the best tapas in Palma. We opted for tapas to start our meal - the battered langoustines with parmesan cream are particularly yummy - then a delicious venison dish with nut polenta and fig compote. The wine list here is very good and I recommend trying a Mallorcan wine - we tried Mesquida Mora's biodynamically produced red wine,Trispol - luscious.

Despite some tempting desserts (their plump strawberries filled with creme brulee is the sweet that's been on the menu the longest), we declined, because I'd been told by my other half that there'd be something to mark my birthday. A plate carrying a small chocolate sponge, topped with ice cream, chocolate sauce, and a burning candle, was carried with some ceremony to our table and a group of the waiters sang happy birthday. A nice touch that made me feel special.

Service was efficient and friendly and although this is a very busy restaurant, we didn't feel rushed. If you want to eat here at night, I do recommend that you reserve a table in advance - at times I've seen people queuing for a table.

Forn de Sant Joan is a family-run restaurant and it shows. Carlos and Cristian are the brothers who run the place now, having taken over from their parents. The smart interiors and interesting art are the work of their mother.

This is a good location for group meals as well as couples and foursomes and there's a semi-private corner of the Red Room that looks perfect for a group of friends dining out.

Check out their lunchtime set menu del dia (three courses) if you're in the La Lonja area of Palma and looking for a midday meal of good quality.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MallorcaJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Interesting tapas style menu”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Interesting tapas style menu of fusion rather than Spanish food. All the rooms in the restaurant have very different ambiences so make sure you know where you wish to sit. Some of the staff are good but unfortunately on our visit some others just do not have a clue or are too busy chatting to serve customers. Good food let down by service. It was totally impossible to book a table on line. Had the service been better it would have rated as excellent.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IANandARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic innovative and modern spanish tapas & food!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

If you want to mingle among thousands of tourist and visit the Old Town and La Llonja in Palma, it is still possible to find extraordinary food and restaurant experiences. Forn San Joan is among the restaurants which despite a touristy location are able to deliver a extremely nice experience with top class food, nice & friendly service.

And if you start with a coctail or drink in the bar, you will have a fantastic beginning of an evening dinner!

We were 4 people who decided to share some tapas for starters and then share a few main courses after. For tapas, we had grilled iberian pork, small spicy saucages from Cantimpalo, battered langoustines and Tuna tartar. It was smashing! For mains, we had grilled sea bass, grilled venison and roasted suckling pig. Everything was fantastic, and in combination with a red wine from Ribera del Duero (Pago de Los Capellanes, Crianza 2009), the whole meal was from a different planet.

The Austrian waiter was relaxed and friendly, and gave us totally a very nice experience.

We have travelled a lot to Mallorca and Palma, and seen "some restaurants" druing our visits. Forn San Joan has been good every time and deliver above expectations, considered its location in the middle of the "tourist trap"...

Go there and try it out, and do as we did. Start with some tapas and continue with a few main courses from both the sea and land. You will probably not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forn de Sant Joan also viewed

 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Forn de Sant Joan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing