We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa
Ranked #9 of 74 Hotels in Palma de Mallorca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Had a 3 night stay in october 2013 for my birthday weekend with my husband , we read some reviews on hotel and we were happy with our choice once we arrived , great location 15 mins from palma airport by taxi. check in was quick , our room had no view but as we were only staying for a few nights we wernt to bothered, but we new the hotel do have rooms with court yard views and rooms with views on the front street ,the room was boutique style minimalist .the one item i did want in my room was a full length mirror but they only had a small mirror above the sink in the bathroom , the bed was firm but comfortable , tea and coffee making facilities, small fridge which are stoked with water and juice as a charge is added to your bill . we never ate in the hotel as we wanted to sample all the local restaurants etc, we will love to visit palma again in the near future and even though we did enjoy our stay at the santa clara , would hesitate to stay here again on the principle that we felt it was overpriced and on reflection will look around for a cheaper option .but could not fault hotel otherwise

Room Tip: ask for a room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beau11111111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 533 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

we choose this hotel for the location, in the centre of Palma. It is everything we hope for.
You will need to rent a car to explore the island and visit all the "calas", but you have the benefit of sharing the city with the locals.5 min from the cathedral and their busy shopping avenues.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The beauty of the Santa Clara is that it is so centrally located near all the major attractions.Yet it is a haven of tranquility and calmness nestled in the old town.
The interior blends new and old and the views from the rooftop terrace are sublimer.
The best thing of all though is the lovely helpful staff who made our brief stay so memorable. Barbara in the dining room and the lovely staff at reception.You could not have been more helpful.
Cant wait for return visit

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ballymac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights early on in August. Booked a double superior but was lucky enough to have a free upgrade to a junior suite. Amazing room, hotel photo shows it well, it was very spacious. Great communication from Trixie prior to arrival, lovely and warm welcome from Lisa. As mentioned, amazing room at the back of the hotel looking out towards the convent - very quiet. Breakfast lovely. Young lady who served breakfast (forgive me forgetting your name) was also lovely and very helpful with shopping tips for my wife. Hotel in great location in the old town, walk to all major sites and very quiet. We hope to go back one day. Thank you so much for our stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you think noise could be an issue. It seemed a very quiet road outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrishnaandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have stayed here for 2 nights. Really well located for seeing all the sights and so glad we did not book a hotel nearer the marina. The roof terrace is lovely and the rooms are exceptional and beautifully furnished.Staff are excellent, particularly Lisa who gave us great advice on where to dine and park. Don't miss the chance to visit the great wine bar about 3 doors down. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brooncake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel from which to explore the delights of Palma, then I can recommend no better place than this. It is a fifteen minute taxi ride from the airport and yet when you arrive, however arduous the journey, you feel as though you are in another world. The welcome, from the multi-lingual reception staff, can only be described as outstanding. Everything that this hotel offers was described in full detail - the spa, the rooftop bar, the breakfast room etc. - we were also immediately given a map of the local area, on which the receptionist was only too eager to show us where the best bars, restaurants, shops and sights were to be found.

The Santa Clara is in a very quiet and narrow street, but only 5 minutes walk from the cathedral and 10 minutes walk from the best cocktail bars and restaurants. The completely charming owner of the hotel, who works on site, took the time to meet us and give us his recommendations - not to be ignored, especially as he has lived there all his life, apart from a brief spell in Switzerland and a University degree in England. His suggestions both for lunches / dinners and the best cocktail bars in Palma were absolutely spot on, and not to be found in guide books. Invaluable local knowledge.

The hotel itself is outstanding, if you are looking for a spotlessly clean, beautifully designed, customer led, utterly comfortable place to stay. The rooms are huge with big beds, big showers and big TVs. Ours also had a big sofa and a balcony overlooking the street. With only 16 or so rooms, it is quiet and you almost feel as though you are the only people there, especially as there is a 3 hour window for breakfast - a joy in itself, for so many reasons.

The Spa is wonderfully private - so much so that you have to give the staff 15 minutes notice to fire up the sauna and steam room for your private use.... Just enough time to go upstairs and get into your bathrobe and slippers. There are also a huge range of massages and treatments on offer, should you so wish.

In conclusion, there may be other hotels that offer an experience perhaps similar to the one offered by the Santa Clara hotel, but this is run by a family who have owned hotels in Mallorca for many, many years and they understand exactly what is required by their customers, not only for the first time visitors, like us, but also by those who come and stay here, time after time. For so many reasons, I cannot recommend this hotel and its staff more highly.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front of the hotel. Beautiful balcony overlooking a very quiet and narrow street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Situated in the heart of old Palma, the Santa Clara was a great spot for our 4 night stay. Located in a quiet street but only 5 mins walk from the hustle and bustle of the Cathedral and shops, and 10 mins from some seriously cool bars and hang outs. Very charming, English speaking staff. We had a Junior Suite which was beautifully spacious. Large double bed, large sofa and big shower. Traditional stone walls give real character, funky art work around the place and the most fantastic roof top bar, overlooking the sea and cathedral. Only problem was it was raining the first night we got there - unheard of! Delicious breakfast with a great choice of both continental and cooked. Scrambled eggs are notoriously difficult to do well in large quantities, but they have succeeded here, accompanied by yummy little sausages, Spanish bacon, peppers and fresh tomato pulp. Palma beach only 10 mins walk away, great for a quick dip but even better to come back to the underground spa. Steam, jacuzzi and hot beds to relax before cocktail hour up on the roof! Even met the owner of the hotel, who if I do say so myself, is a dashing young Mallorcan chap with a great sense of English wit!

Room Tip: Our Junior Suite faced the front and onto the street and had a little balcony. However there is also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racoonchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palma de Mallorca hotels
1.4 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#13 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,750 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
HM Balanguera
HM Balanguera
#11 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
964 reviews
0.7 mi away
HM Jaime III
HM Jaime III
#12 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
2,031 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa

Address: Calle Sant Alonso 16, 07001 Palma de Mallorca, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Palma de Mallorca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
#15 Business Hotel in Palma de Mallorca
Price Range: $136 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests fall in love with Palma, with our hotel, the charm of the old town and the beautiful views from our upper terrace. Come stay at Santa Clara Hotel to enjoy the proximity of the 10th century Arab baths, the Gothic Cathedral and the other host of attraction around the old town. Our hotel offers 4 star luxury rooms and suites with high ceilings, rustic stone walls and views to the surrounding sights of the old town. Relax in our urban spa featuring a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam bath or try one of the massage and beauty treatments. We also provide a conference room equipped with audio-visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splitty, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Urban Hotel And Spa
Santa Clara Urban Hotel Palma De Mallorca
Hotel Santa Clara Urban
Santa Clara Urban Hotel & Spa Palma De Mallorca, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing