We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A glimpse into the bronze age”

Museu Arqueologic de Son Fornes
Ranked #293 of 525 things to do in Majorca
Attraction details
Molde, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A glimpse into the bronze age”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I am writing this review after a year(was there may 2013)We stopped by this fine archaeological museum in Monturi for a few hours .We have always been interested how people lived during the ancient times.The collections of pottery ,depictions and animations showing how people constructed and lived in the taloyots or megaliths was fascinating.
We then drove to the actual site of location of the taloyots which is 4 km away i think.As we hade been to the museum before hand we could let our imaginations take over when we saw the actual site.The archeologists of son fornes have done hard work !.A well hidden gem of a museum with quite place and little tourists.(Best to have some reading material before hand because i think there are not many english speaking people to ask .one will receive a brochure in english though).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mistamojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    3
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Bit Out of the Way, But Good for Archaeology Buffs”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

A bit of a drive from Palma or Alcúia and Pallença, but if you enjoy archaeology or ancient history, this is worth the 90 minute drive from any of the above cities. The drive through the heart of the island is very beautiful. The Museu Arqueologic deals mostly with the pre-history and pre-Roman eras, but there is some Roman archaeology too. Non-flash photos are allowed. Guide book in several languages, but neither the French nor English books cover nearly as much as the actual Spanish displays. Leaving the museum for the actual archaeological site is also a beautiful 10 minute drive. The actual site is well preserved and seems well cared for, though signs on site are very limited. €3 entrance fee.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Son Fornes”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Son Fornes is a superb Taliotic site and the nearby archaeological museum in Montuiri is the essential starting point for anyone wanting to know more about Pre/Post and Taliotic culture. Great little museum in an old mill at edge of the town and a really knowledgeable and helpful curator . Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hospitalet de llobregat
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can not miss it if you go to mallorca”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

the visit is essential if you want to know the wonderful world of the talayots and Balearic prehistory.
Espectacular sIte and the restoration work is unique in Mallorca.
Museum extremely educational for children.
The Museum people are very polite and charming

A wonderful visit

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaG690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu Arqueologic de Son Fornes also viewed

 

Been to Museu Arqueologic de Son Fornes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing