We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”
Review of Sa Calobra

Ranked #42 of 527 things to do in Majorca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We reached this place after a strenuous trek through the Torrent de Pareis and were awestruck by the location and beauty. The beach we arrived at was a pebble beach and did not have sand.

Sa Calobra is nice snug place with some good beaches & restaurants and makes for a good picture to sum up Majorca. One can also drop by Soller on the way here. Don't miss this place in Majorca!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rahulajmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    495
    240
    102
    50
    33
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing and unique beach experience”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We rented a car to be able to see the island but ourselves. The first one day trip started from Palma de Mallorca with stops in Inca - Lluc - Sa Calobra - Fornatlux - Soller - Valdemosa and back to Palma.
The drive through the Tranmontana to Sa Calobra is not easy, there are narrow tracks with a lot of curves up and down but it is not a " hard drive" or "scary" as I read in some reviews, it is just spectacular and when you get in Sa Calobra, it is absolutely worth it. There is a large parking place and from here you take a walk around 800 m to the beach but the walk offers gorgeous views to the sea between the rocks. You also have to walk through some beautiful tunnels and then you reach a small beach between the mountains. It is not a sandy beach, there are white pebbles ( not easy to walk on them) and we took a short swim in the crystal-clear blue water. Don't expect the common comfort with snacks, sun loungers, toilets etc. It is everything about pure nature that offers an amazing and unique beach experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank atcorcodusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great drive, fab views, lovely cove !”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had a lot of fun driving to this place, we were staying in Puerto Pollensa and had a hire car, so decided to take a drive to this place. It took around 1hr to get there, as it is up up up up and bend after bend after bend. And if you get stuck behind a coach, tractor or other slow vehicle, its very hard to overtake ! Just enjoy the drive and pull over for pics as the drive climbs up and up. Great fun. The bay itself was lovely, very pictureesque. But I would take your own food and drink, as the restaurants there are just basic at best, it seems they were built in the 70's and still maintain 70's food, including "self service" approach.


Great drive, great scenery, but its not a place to spend a day, We stayed around 1 hour, took pics, got a drink and then headed off, just in time as around 11 coaches turned up and the place became very very very busy.

TIP : Go early, get there for 10 am ish, and enjoy the place in tranquility. The coaches seemed to arrive from 11am onwards which means the restaurants gets packed out and the pictures you take become full of people all taking pictures themselves. GO EARLY! Stay an hour or so, then move on.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Journey, scenery, beautiful nature...”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

I spent two days on the island of Mallorca and I specifically wanted to use one day to get to this exact place. It's all about the journey, the anticipation, the various transportation (I took the train from Palma, then the tram and then the boat), the change of scenery, aroma of Soller- the small town just before the coast, the mentality of the adjacent Port de Soller and then the beautiful, untouched nature of the Mallorca west coast.
I was born in a small town on the coast so I can say I'm used to really beautiful beaches, islands, cliffs etc., therefore I am not easily impressed by that same stuff. But during my journey on the boat from Port de Soller to Sa Calobra, I was stunned into silence by the mirage of different nature elements. There is no human touch there, it's just nature- vegetation, rocks half-eaten by salt, sea that is so bright and beautiful, it changes colors each step of the way, caves that are hidden somewhere underneath, somewhere visible, somewhere not... And then, the boat comes in the small bay near the one I wanted to visit. There is a footpath from there to the nearby bay, it's called Torrent de Pareis. You walk along the fence with beautiful views, there's no land in the distance, only sea, and then there's a lighted passage underneath the rocks, where it gets a bit windy and cold but nobody minds because there's the adventurous feeling of walking through those cliffs. When you come out the other side, there it is, finally. A place of dreams, a canyon between two high cliffs that make a shade for people to be in; with perfect little pebbles that, when you walk on them, make you dive in to your ankles; and the sea so clean and bright that you can't not go in.

Later on, when I looked at my pictures, while they were indeed beautiful, it can't adequately show what that place is all about. You have to see it. If you find yourself on Mallorca, go there.

Regarding the time I spent there, it's good to plan ahead, especially if you are coming all the way from Palma, because the journey takes time and the last boat from Sa Calobra back to Port de Soller goes at 16:40. So if you want to spend some more time in Sa Calobra, plan to go early so you can catch a boat at 13:30. It takes about 40 minutes to get there. This is a good web site with lots of info: http://www.soller1.com/en/cms.php/travel/timetables . However, if you don't want to go by train/tram, there is a regular bus line from Palma to Port de Soller (and it's way cheaper too!). I recommend going back by bus, and if you have the time and are up to it, maybe take the panoramic bus (because the roads on the islands are also a must see, if you're not scared easily, that is). There is another bus, it goes more often but it goes through the tunnel so not a lot of views, but it's faster and I think a euro cheaper.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank marinan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Focus on the journey not the destination!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Whichever route you choose (train+tram+boat or car) you will be highly rewarded! 2 beaches with a lot of restaurants (with awful food) and many ice cream shops. BEWARE that you will not be allowed to swim in one of the 2 beaches for an unknown reason...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikos T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sa Calobra also viewed

Sa Calobra, Majorca
 

Been to Sa Calobra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing