We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Island Escape Cruise Ship”
Review of Platja de Palma

Platja de Palma
Ranked #77 of 534 things to do in Majorca
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful stretch of beach framed by posh five star hotels.
London, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Island Escape Cruise Ship”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

You get what you pay for!

Booked this as a cheap last minute deal. Thinking it would be as good as the other Thompson and P&O cruises I had been on, but I was rather disappointed.

The ship is small (it's a converted ferry) limiting the choice of entertainment. I found the entertainment in each of the bars very samey (each was a live singer/band with mediocre acoustics).

Had trouble getting sun loungers as the crew do not seem to enforce the "45 min unattended" rule. So people put their towels on them and then leave them for hours on end.

The biggest let down for me was the food and drink quality. I have been on small to medium ships before and been bowled over by the quality of the food. However, here it is all buffet and of mediocre buffet standards. We ended up paying to upgrade to the waiter service restaurant 3 of the 7 nights (at £15 per person per meal). The all inclusive drinks do not appear to have any alcohol content in them whatsoever. So was forced to pay the extra to upgrade to the premium drinks.

All in all, by the time I had paid to upgrade my food and my drinks I may as well have booked a more expensive cruise on a nicer ship.

You do get to see some lovely ports though, but Barcelona and Rome are so big and you are there for such a short time I would advise you pick just one or two things you want to see, otherwise you will rush around and feel stressed that you are going to miss the ship leave... (Rome is an hour away by train, plus walking and shuttle bus....it's a LONG way, be warned)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Dr_DanLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    156
    55
    25
    25
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“cruise not on this ship again”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

island escape, lets start with the good points of ship staff and, well that's it, food very plain, entertainment ok, as for the ship itself time for decommission , very noisy . This was the 4th ship we,ve sailed with and by far the worst can easily say never again on this ship , and have told others already to stay clear. Ports of call great and made even better to get of ship. What I will say to fellow disappointed esp first time cruisers not to be put off cruising, they ,re not all like Island Escape.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh Dear!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Having enjoyed a few cruises, including Thomson who we have always found to be extremely good, we booked this last minute, all inclusive, on The Island Escape..."its' cheap so we will take it for what it is" we agreed, after all Thomson cruise have never let us down. Sadly "taking it for what it is" was so very difficult!
Firstly having registered my card at reception, I have been charged for items that were not ours, albeit corrected and refunded, now they have just taken payment for a second time for on board services, which I have spent an hour on the phone to try and get rectified. One lift out of service (and has been for some time apparently) made life difficult when most of the port departures were from the lowest deck (3) Our level too which, although it was very basic and old, was clean and tidy. Sadly not quiet though, no problem with engines noises, but the sound of a steam press and I assume bedding being hung, woke us late at night and very early in the morning.
Food: stands out as being cheap compared to other ships, the two restaurants always served the same menu, so no point looking for a variation, unless you want to pay extra to sit behind some pinned up net curtaining in the main thoroughfare to and from the Beachcomber restaurant( saw one lady trip up over these)
The usual photography on boarding and around the shop happens, but the photoshopping of the background on many of the pictures seemed to lack professional touch, many of them the background ran over the subject?
Entertainment: Feel a little sorry for some of the acts having to work through an antiquated sound system. the classical lady singer in particular had people leaving whilst she was performing, the high notes were just too much for the system.
Afternoon tea is a pleasure we enjoy...not here though. Same sandwiches everyday, just no imagination from the chef or perhaps his boss and the cream? what was that? it certainly wasn't real cream. If you like your fruit, only the cheap fruits here, don't expect to see a grape anywhere on board.
Excursions are good although a lot of emphasis is put on you not going anywhere on your own in case you don't make it back to the ship in time. "Use our excursions we will not leave without you", how then did the coach leave behind a poor lady and her disabled son in Rome???? thank goodness they were squeezed onto another coach after having the fright of their lives...not good Thomson!
All in all I suppose it is what it is, but we now do wonder if the whole Thomson fleet have cut corners.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
9 Thank Loveabreak158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Barry - best cruise so far”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently went on the Island Escape Med Cruise 13/05/14 and thoroughly enjoyed it. Having read reviews two weeks before we set sail we were very optimistic however having embarked at Palma all our worries were put to rest. This was our third cruise and I must say it was the best. Although more relaxed (there is no Captains night so no Black Tie attire needed) we were treated with much respect. The Captain was very informative and kept us informed twice a day of out status. All staff were very polite and most helpful. Okay the cabins may have been a little tired but the weren't asleep and cleaned at least twice a day with fresh towels each time. The food was perfect and there was such a selection. The drinks however were only the local brands and if you wanted named brands it would cost just under £12.00 pppd extra, equating to nearly £84 per person per week. This wasn't expected but it certainly didn't ruin our holiday. The entertainment was very good and the two compares Tony Mac and Ross were very good and ad-libed throughout. We did hit a gale force 10 (well that's what we were told) on our day at sea and most people spent the day in their cabins but you could buy a sea sickness injection for £25.00 which apparently worked very quickly. All told we would definitely go with them again and would certainly recommend this cruise to anyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Barmax44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
249 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Friendy, informal, good value.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I was on the ship 13-20 May 2014. I can understand the good and bad reviews, and every cruise has them. But if you want good value for money, and you like a friendly informal ship, then this is the one to go for. Staff were excellent, entertainment good and lots of it, and the food was fantastic, It was all-inclusive, and the price included all the service charges and tips (though we gave extra tips as the staff were so good). But there is a 2% credit card charge. The ship is very old and subject to breakdowns. Eg only one small lift was working between floors 4 and 10, one engine broke down so the ship delayed getting into port, and the morning trips were moved to the afternoon - but the places we visited were only open in the morning. Also, it does not ride storms as well as modern ships so expect some sea-sickness. Also, it is very full, so if you want to go to a show you have to get there 30mins early to get a seat. Cabins were small but adequate, and surprisingly sound-proofed to noises in adjacent cabins, though the engine noise was there all the time. The main restaurant was open 24/7, food was okay but it was often crowded, noisy, and impossible to find a seat. The waiter restaurant was best, it was only open certain times, but the meals were self service while the waiters got you drinks and took used plates away. Everything was "informal" but most people were "smart casual" for the evenings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Freddyminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Platja de Palma also viewed

Can Pastilla, Majorca
 
Palma de Mallorca, Majorca
 

Been to Platja de Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing