We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”
Review of Calvario

Calvario
Ranked #171 of 514 things to do in Majorca
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A medieval hermitage holding a mysterious crucifix, rumored to have appeared at the site by a miracle.
Manchester,
Level Contributor
114 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Each time we come to the area we always have to walk to the top at least once - great views. Lovely houses and flowers on the way up. We were disappointed not to see the "Guitar man" this year - he has been there every time we have walked the steps.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rach64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    32
    12
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you are in the area don't miss a visit to the old town of Pollenca. Sunday is market day and the narrow streets and large squares are bustling with visitors. The walk up the 365? Cavario steps is lovely. Quaint houses, picturesque flowers and vegetation, great views and a man playing a guitar near the top (The same tune for years). Visit the little church at the summit and cool down in it's quiet interior. Views from the top are spectacular and you would regret not making the effort.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank thomas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great views, not the easiest place to find though!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We hired some and cycles form the port to the old town. As a result, we went up to the monastery via the road rather than the steps. It wasn't the easiest place to find but that might.have been because of the route we took! They were doing some building works at the time so a little noisy/dusty but that's short term. Lovely views, nice little cafe at top. Would have been good to go into monastery but was closed at time. will walk the steps next time!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teenypeeps1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely walk up and wonderful views”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Calvario is the place to visit in Pollenca, lovely walk up past old houses and great views on the way up. It is several hundred steps but the view at the top is worth it panoramic and a lovely old chapel to boot. Definetly worth the walk.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 235BenMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"Spiritual"”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

You have to climb 365 steps to reach this small chapel. Not only are you rewarded with this very calm & spiritual atmosphere of the chapel but you have a magnificant view down the steps. Therre are plenty of places to stop and rest on the way up. I have bee to this chapel several times and each time feels different.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calvario also viewed

 
Pollenca, Majorca
 

Been to Calvario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing