We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“most expensive and worse hotel in formentera”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Insotel Club Maryland
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Formentera
Madrid
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“most expensive and worse hotel in formentera”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

really good location, (playa mitjorn is the best in formentera).

370€ 2 nights with bfast included, very bad value, but the only Hotel available

Receptionist very kind and helpful

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvaro1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    563
    228
    76
    70
See reviews for
614
352
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2008

This place is recommendable only for (Italian) families. If you go there as a single woman, you are a complete alien. The food is not very tasty and the restaurant has the atmosphere of a cheap self-service place with lots of children running around. The bungalows are old but nicely situated under pine trees. The beach is wonderful.

  • Liked — close to the beach
  • Disliked — atmosphere
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomadVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Formentera hotels

Walnut Creek, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2007

On our honeymoon, while visiting Barcelona, we decided to take an excursion to the highly recommended island of Formentera. We specifically requested a "muy Tranquilo" place where there weren't a lot of screaming kids - a romantic getaway...

When we arrived at our "All inclusive" Mar Y Land destination, and walked into our mildew smelling, bunk of a room, we were shocked to see two smaller than small twin beds with an ugly and old brown comforter. The room smelled like an old camp bunk.

Regardless, we ignored this awful fact- all we cared about was the beach. The one think that I will say - the water and the beach was beautiful - which was our only respite, because the rest was horrible.

1) Food - Let's Just say many of the buffet-style selections were unidentifiable. We are talking Camp mess hall stuff. Pure Crap. Gross, Gross, Gross. If you consider that you are in a vacation island off the coast of Spain, the least they could do would be to serve something other then raw french fries and fish sticks! There was no Jamon Iberica, more like old, brown cafeteria lunch meat.

2) Kids - This place should be called Camp Screaming Kiddie land. Bring all 7 kids that you have and let them run around the dining room and bother all the guests. They have these Counselors that group the kids together and march them through different areas, screaming in all different languages. This goes on until about 11 at night.

3) Beach - The Water is clear, the beach is beautiful. But beware- All inclusive does NOT include beach chairs on the actual beach. I belive they were 7 Euros each.

This is NOT, I repeat, NOT, a place for couples. Only people who are out to schlep their kids to a vacation. And most cared little about the privacy of other guests. Or about how loud their children were. I cannot believe how much we payed for this trip. Thank got for the Beautiful ocean and clear water which made our days worth it.....

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Everything Else - Food, Too Many Kids, Loud, Dirty, Smelly
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank avantgal74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2006

We had spent 3 days larging it in Ibiza town and staying in a not very nice budget hotel and the plan was to go to Formentera, get a bit of luxury and relax into the rest of the holiday before returning to the UK.

We arrived at Club Maryland and saw the lovely reception and thought to ourselves that it was going to be a great few days. We were given the key to our room and arranged to meet our friends by the pool immediately after dumping our bags. Walking through the hotel complex, we started to realise this wasn't going to be what we thought it was.

As we progressed along the path, we saw various signs for 'theatre', 'disco', 'kids club' and then saw an over enthusiastic lanky teenager in uniform and matching baseball cap leading a group of 20 kids with tennis rackets along the path. When he saw us and our suitcases, he immediately instructed the kids in Italian to greet us. The kids shouted 'Benvenuto!!' in unison and carried on along the path. Bemused, we thought this was probably a family resort and not one that a group of 8 twenty somethings were going to find a great deal of fun in.

We arrived at the apartment and were horrified to find that it was tiny, dark, cramped and stank of stale, fusty, mouldy air. There were ants running around all over the floor and the kitchen and bathroom were so 1970's throwback it was unbelievable (orange tiles, mouldy shower curtain, rusty fridge, get the picture?). Now, I don't mind if somewhere is a little bit old fashioned if you're not paying much for the privilege, but we had paid £678 for a 4 night stay and certainly didn't expect such an awful standard of accommodation. We immediately complained to the reception and they agreed to send someone down to clean the room. 20 mins later a maid knocked at the door with an industrial sized can of air freshener and a can of insect spray. My partner was showering at the time so I asked her to come back in 10 mins. She seemed a bit bothered but she left. 5 mins later she knocked again and I said we weren't ready yet - but she started shouting in Spanish so we let her in. She proceeded to spray the whole apartment (top to bottom) with both the air freshener and insect spray, sending us both running into the open air coughing fits and gulping for air.

We went to meet the others by the pool and everyone had the same feeling as us, annoyed that we'd been conned into paying almost £700 upfront for a hotel that was clearly not up to scratch let alone the 4* luxury experience they'd led us to believe on the website. We all agreed it didn't matter, as long as we could have some peace and quiet and relax by the pool. It even didn't matter that all of the sunbeds were broken in the middle. And then the club reps started their DJing slot over the PA system by the pool. So we couldn't even relax, we had to listen to the sounds of the Spanish version of a Butlins style redcoat encouraging everyone to the darts competition followed by the Limbo contest....

Awful. Simply awful.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — It was filthy and infested with ants
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go there. on any account. Unless you want to pay through the nose for something terrible.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank London56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2006

Stayed for three nights and four days. Formentera is a fantastic island with Caribbean style ocean – clear and blue. We have stayed before, but our old place was booked, so we decided to try something else.

Upon arrival, we went to the nicely air-conditioned main lobby to check in. It was only after we got to our ‘bungalow’ that we found out that nothing else has A/C. Never assume! So, we cramped into our tiny 1-bed bungalow, which is about as nice as a low end Motel-8 room off the I-95. At over 98 degrees with high humidity, this was going to be fun!

The property is big. Loads and loads of tiny bungalows with walkways in-between. It is in a bit of disrepair and terribly expensive for what you get. I would also not suggest the full board option, if the breakfast buffet is anything to go by … Luckily there are two decent places to eat on the main road leading to the hotel.

That was the bad. The good is that the beaches there are probably the best in Spain. Not a lot of nasty Medusa’s (jellyfish), which can really spoil your stay. Always wear goggles to look for them though in the summer! The water is crisp and blue. The pool is huge and very nice, although they don’t have to many sunbeds and they are the cheap white plastic K-Mart variety without anything on top. Not fun to sit on for more than an hour.

We has a nice visit, but I would not go back again. They charge top dollar for a place that shouldn’t even get half of what they did. There were no reviews on TripAdvisor, so I thought it may be worth it. Now other people don’t have to guess anymore.

I love this site and have found some awesome hotels!!!

Keep up the good work everyone!

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — Room
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't eat there ....
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
25 Thank JacobR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Formentera hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu La Mola
Hotel Riu La Mola
#1 of 4 in Migjorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,161 reviews
5.3 mi away
Blanco Hotel Formentera
Blanco Hotel Formentera
#2 of 29 in Formentera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Club Punta Prima
Hotel Club Punta Prima
#2 of 9 in Es Pujols
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Roca Bella
Hotel Roca Bella
#5 of 9 in Es Pujols
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Entre Pinos
Hotel Entre Pinos
#1 of 2 in Es Calo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hostal La Savina
Hostal La Savina
#1 of 3 in La Savina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insotel Club Maryland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insotel Club Maryland

Property: Insotel Club Maryland
Address: Playa de Migjorn, 07860, Formentera, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Formentera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Formentera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Insotel Club Maryland 3*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa de Migjorn Formentera, we offer you a splendid holiday club ideal to enjoy with family, friends or your partner.The Club has bungalows built in typical Mediterranean style, is in a wonderful pine forest of over 100,000 m2 and has comfortable facilities and great gastronomy. The bungalows are not renovated and like apartments with a seperate bedroom and a lounge with 2 sofa beds, fan, fridge and microwave, bathroom with shower in bathtub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Insotel Club Maryland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insotel Club Maryland Hotel Formentera
Insotel Hotel Formentera
Insotel Hotel Maryland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing