We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good hotel, Nice location. Good rooms.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Certificate of Excellence
Vellinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel, Nice location. Good rooms.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is located in the center of Vitoria and was a positive surprise since the price was not very high. There is a parking garage under the hotel. The rooms are very nice and of a high standard. Breakfast was good, varied and with plenty of space. I can highly recommend this hotel. The only slight negative remark I have is that noice spread easily between the rooms but I slept very well anyhow.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    547
    153
    52
    28
See reviews for
193
498
29
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was one of 9 hotels in which I stayed while on a 14-day Globus "Spanish Fiesta tour, which I highly recommend. This was the worst of the hotels. All suffered from lack of adequate sound proofing between the rooms, but this hotel easily took the prize as the noisiest. The faux wood floors meant that every movement of a desk chair on up and down the hall was heard as a loud screech. I was on the floor above the reception and dining area and near the large open stairway that led downstairs. The noise from the various conversations and activities on the ground floor made going to sleep impossible until well after midnight. Also, the room was advertised as having a safe. I had to bring one of the men from the front desk to the room to convince him that it didn't.

On the plus side, the food was good at breakfast the next morning where everyone in our group was talking about the noise.

Room Tip: Make sure you are far away from the stairway to the ground floor reception/dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Retiredandlovingit06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
155 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were unfortunate to arrive in Vitoria-Gasteiz on the eve of festivities "La Blanca" so hotels were mostly full and expensive leaving us with not much choice. So we went for NH Canciller Ayalar as we know that NH usually has a standard that we like. We also used Vitoria as a base to explore the Basque country so it was important for us to have a decent hotel to stay in.

Overall this NH is quite average at best, in comparison to other NH. We were disappointed with the room allocation as we were staying for more than one night yet we were given a room chosen without consideration. Not only were the room size very small but our only windows were facing a discotheque. Throughout our entire stay the quality of the sleep was bad as noises refused to die down until 3-4 am in the morning (even later hours still for the actual festivities).

The hotel's parking price is certainly an issue. It's very expensive considering that Vitoria isn't a city which is very much visited as Barcelona, Madrid, Bilbao or Sevilla. However since we didn't like the other parking lots so we accepted it as it is. Moreover, the parking is limited and can not be reserved, meaning regardless of whether you are already a guest or not the hotel makes no attempt to differentiate you from other guests who happened to pop by for a wedding in the hotel. Also the hotel's reception is ready to tell you to go park somewhere else even if there's a parking space empty (we checked out of curiosity once we left our car elsewhere). It's a shame really for services to be this disinterested in clients who are staying for the long haul.
The elevators are also few and as guests started arriving for the weekend, waiting could take a long while.

The best thing about the hotel? well the view of the park in front. Rooms with views towards this lush green garden would be happy to wake up to it. The location is excellent as it is only a short pleasant (never creepy) 5-10 minutes stroll into city center. It is also very near to museums.

So the verdict is this: if you have a better option, you can bypass this. If you don't, it's tolerable. Just make sure you got the room facing the street Ramon y Cajal (better than to the side alley).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pimples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Recently I had dinner in this hotel restaurant and I have to say that especially the ENGLISH service from a waitress was very good and her service was impeccable.
That is for me a rare experience in Spain even in good restaurants.
The next time I go to Vitoria I am sure to visit that restaurant again to get another nice English meal description and a professional service from that waitress.
Just a pity she is the only one.............-

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jochen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma - Italia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is very clean, we had a room on the top floor with a small balcony and a great view. Modern furniture and bathroom with window. No carpet, real wooden floor(noisy but charming). The major downside was that the walls are very thin so you must bring earplugs or hope to have quiet neighbours. I didn't have any of them. Breakfast was too expensive for us, but the nearby bar opens only at 9, so for an early breakfast you have to walk towards plaza de la virgen blanca where a lot of bars open at around 8. We paid about 50 euros per night and that was good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abianco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We first stayed in this hotel in 1974 - yes, 37 years' ago when Spain was another country. NH Canciller Ayala was good all those years' ago but it is even better in 2011.

The location, just on the edge of the historic centre, is perfect, the rooms are really well appointed and the restaurant is excellent. The parking is on the premises.

I recommend this hotel unreservedly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GordoSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. Reasonable price for an okay sized room. Clean modern, standard NH decor.

I like the location of this hotel a lot. Across the road from a lovely park, which you walk through to get to the small compact city centre and all the attractions.

One negative: For the second year I was unable to park at the hotel and instead had to park a short five minute walk away from the hotel in the underground Cathedral carpark. The first year, I had a roof box on the car and was too tall to get into the garage, this year the car park was full.

Room Tip: Some rooms have baths, some just have a shower. We had two rooms next to each other - one with a lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoolePike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vitoria-Gasteiz hotels
0.2 mi away
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
Silken Hotel Ciudad de Vitoria
#3 of 27 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
4.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.6 mi away
AC Hotel General Alava
AC Hotel General Alava
#7 of 27 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
3.5 of 5 stars 293 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vitoria
Holiday Inn Express Vitoria
#5 of 27 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
4.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria
Sercotel Boulevard Vitoria
#4 of 27 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurante Araba
Hotel Restaurante Araba
#1 of 27 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jardines de Uleta
Jardines de Uleta
#6 of 27 in Vitoria-Gasteiz
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria

Property: NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria
Address: Ramon y Cajal, 5 | City Center, 01007 Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Province of Alava > Vitoria-Gasteiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Vitoria-Gasteiz
#3 Romantic Hotel in Vitoria-Gasteiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Vitoria and offering some of the best, one-of-a-kind views in Spain, the NH Canciller Ayala hotel in Vitoria overlooks the Catedral, the famous Virgen Blanca Square, Florida Park, the City Hall and the magnificent headquarters of the Basque Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, NHHotels, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your NH Canciller Ayala Vitoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Vitoria Gasteiz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing